We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST MID-RANGE HOTEL IN GUATEMALA CITY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Belen Museo Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Belen Museo Inn to your Saves list
Posada Belen Museo Inn
13 Calle a 10-30 Zona 1 | Historic Center, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“THE BEST MID-RANGE HOTEL IN GUATEMALA CITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have traveled to Guagemala many times over the past eighteen years. My party and I always stay at Posado Belen on the evening of our arrival and on the evening before we depart the country. The hotel has an old world charm because of the many artifacts. Staff is both friendly and helpful.There is a great sense of security and the streets are generally quiet making for a good nights sleep, Meals are reasonable in price and are very tasty All in all, it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    53
    15
    8
    8
See reviews for
31
50
59
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

There are so many good things to recommend about this hotel, I don't know where to start! The rooms are large, well-kept, comfortable and cozy. Both the courtyard and the dining room provide gathering spaces where you can meet and talk with people from many different parts of the world. MOST IMPORTANTLY, the staff members are courteous, helpful, and friendly. If you have a question about the city, travel, banking, medical issues, they can and will help you. Need coffee first thing in the morning? Tell them what time and they'll gently knock on your door to wake you with a steaming cup. The delicious home-cooked meals are a welcome change from restaurant fare and the service is a perfect combination of attentiveness and friendliness. The next time I travel to Guatemala City, I will certainly return to the Posada Belen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We needed a place for two nights and weren't sure where to stay. This posada is close to parque central, the intriguing market and historical buildings. The service was great. My only real complaints are the very dark room (only a tiny skylight), the very expensive breakfast ($15 for two which is somewhat outrageous in Guatemala), and the room itself was also a bit more than I'd have expected to pay for what we got. We need to go back in three weeks to catch our flight but will try another place and see what we get.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just can't say enough about this hotel. Respectful travelers will fall in love as did I. Don't let the hype fool you, downtown Guate City has a lot going on and absolutely is safe if you simply follow a few common sense precautions. Daytime is lovely, night time, simply take taxis. It is that easy. This hotel is full of history and a sense of wonder. Takes you to another place and time. I highly recommend to anyone seeking an authentic experience. Good value to boot.
Cheers! Raw Travel TV

Room Tip: Don't use the google address. It is wrong. Get the address directly from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Friendly and courteous, the team here genuinely wants your stay to be a pleasant experience. A unique kind of place where you feel safe amidst the chaos of the city... while eating a home-cooked meal (gluten-free - not a problem). Excellent value; we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio Palopo, Solola
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have been a very contented client of the Posada Belén since the year 2000. Since then I have stayed there more than 15 times and the service and hospitality have ALWAYS been exemplary. As I am retired and on a tiny pension, I am delighted to say that the Posada gives me the "bang for my buck". I know the Posada is clean, quiet, and always interesting due to the museum included in their business. I highly recommend the Posada Belén to anyone travelling to Guatemala or simply travelling to the city for an over-night stay.

Room Tip: Any room is clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

i've been busy since my trip to guatemala in january, but i feel i have to share the great experience i had staying at the posada belen.
it was a last minute decision to go to guatemala and i had just a couple of nights before my trip to look for a place and make my reservations.
this place had everything i wanted and needed. it may not be in a nice area but it was quiet and safe. it was an old building in the historical center of guatemala city...exactly what i wanted. i prefer staying in small places, and needed a place that offered airport pickup/drop off, has wifi, and served breakfast and this place had all these.
from the moment i arrived until the day i left i never had a problem. the staff at the inn was very warm in welcoming me. i felt at home right away. i am not sure if it was because it wasn't full but i had the whole room with 3 beds to myself...and the room was huge. i also had the chance to check the other rooms and no two rooms looked the same...they were all decorated beautifully, the whole place was just amazing. they have a huge collection of antique pieces of furniture, displays and paintings.
i didn't have time to read and find out what i wanted to see and just made sure i spend some time with francesca, the owner of the inn, when i got there. she made the calls and also gave me suggestions of what i can do and see in 3 days. aside from that we had a really good conversation which lasted for hours. it seemed like we've known each other forever!
if you need someone to drive you to a restaurant or anywhere in the city, a tour guide, or if you want to go on a day trip to antigua or a few days to visit the mayans you just need to let her know. she knows who to contact. she's such a nice lady...you will love her!
the staff - very nice, friendly, and accommodating. they made sure you're enjoying your stay. breakfast was good. i always had the tipico, although there were other choices. there was so much food it lasted me till dinner. i went on a day trip to antigua and didn't get back to the hotel until 9pm. when they found out i didn't have dinner yet they made sure i didn't go to bed hungry.
although the staff spoke very little english, and my spanish was 'un poquito' i enjoyed my small talks with them when i was either in the dining hall or the courtyard. you don't even have to look or call them if you need anything...they're always there waiting for you.
if this is going to be your first trip to guatemala city make sure to also ask francesca about the city walking tour. francisco, the tour guide she contacted was very knowledgeable and interesting. it's worth it!
i was able to do and see a lot in 3 days and still had a relaxing trip. thanks to francesca and her wonderful staff. i will never forget my stay at the posada belen. i went with no clue what to expect and came home with lots of memories. i will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Belen Museo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Belen Museo Inn

Address: 13 Calle a 10-30 Zona 1 | Historic Center, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Belen is located in a fine colonial style home built in 1873 converted into an intimate Museum Inn, centrally located in a quiet street of the historical center of Guatemala City about 3 miles north from the airport (10-15 Minutes), run by the same family since opened in 1972 to international tourism. Posada Belen was slowly transformed from a colonial style home into a very special inn. Highly recommended in most important travel guides and by former guests/friends, with over 300 authentic registered Mayan artifacts on display as well as unique antique handicrafts plus many primitive paintings makes Posada Belen a true Museum, but most of all we are a clean, safe, centrally located, quiet, moderately priced, with good beds, great food, friendly relaxed atmosphere, and authentic HOME to start, end or organize your journey in Guatemala. We are conveniently located to visit any of the museums in Guatemala city, walk to the relief map, national palace, central market (lowest prices in the country for handcrafts), visit the pre classic Mayan ruins and museum of Kaminal Juyu, dozens of monumental churches , We are blocks away from the bus stations to Tikal, Xela, Antigua, Coban, Chiquimula, Rio Dulce. Etc. Shuttles are also available from the inn door. Guided walking City tour is available, Guatemala city is important if you really want to understand our culture and its history. We will be happy to help you with your itinerary and up to date travel and safety information. The Posada Belen is especially safe for women traveling alone. We have a pick up service available at any hour of day or night to all persons who will like to have a friendly and safe welcome into Guatemala's airport for about the same price as a taxi (depending on the arrival time from $10 to $15), we know we are not for everybody, our clients are usually smart people with lots of travel experience, who are looking for comfortably way to enjoy true Guatemalan culture and also likes to stay in a place with character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Posada Belen Museo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Belen Museo Hotel
Hotel Posada Belen Museo
Posada Belen Museo Inn Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Belen Museo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.