We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Food and Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Belen Museo Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Posada Belen Museo Inn to your Saves list
Posada Belen Museo Inn
13 Calle a 10-30 Zona 1 | Historic Center, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed five nights. Each meal was delicious and unique. Small and cozy but staff accommodated gluten free and vegetarian diets in our group. We felt very safe whole time, great arrangements for taxi service and side trip to Antigua.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    53
    14
    8
    8
See reviews for
31
49
57
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at Posada Belen for about a week, and even just coming back after a day out and about in Guatemala, the highlight of the days were how loving and welcoming all of the staff members were. It was like a giant family! The food was amazing, freshly cooked each day and never disappointing. They were reasonable and considerate about special diets, and a delicious home made meal is always wonderful to wake up and go to sleep to! It was a very amazing experience, a home away from home. I felt safe and welcomed from the minute I stepped in the door and all the way through the trip, which is rare for a hotel. You dont often get the luxery of feeling you arent just at a hotel, but a relative’s house in a foreign country. I cant imagine that my amazing experience in Guatemala would have been as great if I had not been at the Posada Belen.

Room Tip: Each room was unique and special and beautiful in its own way, they were all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying in Posada Belen during a group mission trip to Guatemala with Patch Adams. Patch explained to us that this was hands down his favorite hotel to stay at ever (and he stays at hotels 300 days a year).

The staff is friendly, the rooms are so reasonable, and the hotel will cook homestyle meals at a reasonable price that are traveler friendly and cultural staples of Guatemala.

If you want a sheltered Guatemala experience there is always the Holiday Inn, but for a genuine Guatemala experience in a place that feels like a home stay at Posada Belen!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Realistically, Guatemala City does not offer up much in the way of charm and ambience. It is a noisy and dirty place and apparently you need to watch yourself, though I've never had any problems there. Anyway, I have been to Guatemala City many times (maybe 12 times, can't recall) and I've stayed in various hotels. I now stay at the Posada Belen every time. It is safe, quiet and they have turtles in one of the little courtyards. This is an oasis of calm and tranquility in an otherwise noisy and frantic place, and it's local and a family business (as opposed to a large franchise chain operation run by automatons).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle< WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I found this hotel in a guide book and it said "short on luxury but long on charm". It was a bargain at $55.00 but it was more like a back packers hotel. We would not recommend this hotel to a discriminating traveler.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Posada Belen is a homey break from the rest of Guatemala City. The staff was exceptionally friendly and attentive. The food was excellent. Make sure you dine in at least once while you stay there. The big breakfast table is a great place to connect with other travelers. Spend your down time browsing hundreds of archeological relics throughout the place, or while away your afternoon on the lush patio journaling, spotting orchids, and maybe finding the ellusive turtle that also lives there. Our room had two double beds and one single. It was clean and comfortable. As a bonus, they provide you with water you can actually drink!

Room Tip: Some rooms have 3 beds if you're traveling in groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portales, New Mexico
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in Guatemala City. I liked to feel safe and welcome at Posada Belen, the experience was different. I could sit and watch the blue sky or go out and walk to do some shopping. Everywhere is so close! I highly recommend everybody to try this neat hotel that I am sure you will like too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Belen Museo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Belen Museo Inn

Address: 13 Calle a 10-30 Zona 1 | Historic Center, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a cultural tourism oriented hotel in Guatemala City, a character full historical and authentic Guatemala experience, Posada Belen Museo Inn, is located in GUATEMALA CITY, this Historic Hotel is full of caracter and centrally located ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Posada Belen Museo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Belen Museo Hotel
Hotel Posada Belen Museo
Posada Belen Museo Inn Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Belen Museo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.