We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pan American Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pan American Hotel to your Saves list
Pan American Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9A Calle 5-63 | Zona 1, Guatemala City, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Panama
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I think a lot of people are hesitant because it is in what many consider a dangerous location. No there are not a ton of tourists staying here, but it is in the centro and historic zone.

There is a lot to do and see around the hotel, just get back in before midnight and you will be ok.

If you want to drink where Che Guevera did while living here, it is only a block away. It is called El Portal and the hotel staff can direct you there.

I was lucky enough to stumble upon the Dia de la Mujer parade right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2014
Dear K_Mennem,
Thanks for your comments; they encourage us to strive everyday in serving our guests and make them feel better that at home. Cordially,
Silvia Cruz / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    31
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
18
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

While traveling with grand circle travel, we were taken to this hotel on 5/4/14 departing the next afternoon. Was told my our travel guide not to go out after dark..it wasn't safe.
My room 201, looked out onto a broken down building. Blankets were frayed and questionable of cleanliness.
Grand circle travel made a Hugh mistake in placing a group of people in this unsafe neighborhood and in this hotel that was not up to standards for the price of the tour.

Room Tip: That I can't do because I wouldn't recommend staying there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2014
Dear Molly C,
Thanks for your comments; it is importat for us to know our weakness and work hard to turn them into strengths. Unfortunately we cannot do to much directly with insecurity in the streets, however the Government has been working hard to improve this aspect in the Historical Center and we believe that the situation is much better in the area. We would like to serve you better next time. Cordially,
Silvia Cruz / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Flew in from San Jose Costa Rica in March and selected this hotel based on it's past history.
I had prepaid at the hotel web-site a cab to pick me up for $20.00 (US). Landed and no cab.
An hour went by before the cab finally came. Livid? Yes. But... The explanation that I got was that the hotel had communicated via e-mail about my flight number and when I would arrive. To communicate with the hotel I had to eventually go on to Facebook to get a response. about my request for a certain type of room.
I overlooked the delay in cab but talking to other cab drivers at the airport they said they would take me to the hotel for $11.00.
Eventually made it, voiced my opinion and moved on.
I was shown to my room which was a simple room with bed, (balcony as I requested) overlooking the street Independcia. A simple room with ceiling fan and an old school television.
For the price I didn't complain and the room suited my needs. Right in Zona 1.
I did have a taste for something to eat so I went below to get a bite to eat.
The women that worked the worked the tables were great but it took forever to get something to eat.
There were two other man who worked for the hotel that were overseeing the restaurant staff.
My question was and still is why didn't you pitch in to assist them?
After an 1 hour and 1/2 I got my check.
Definitely felt empathy for the wait staff.
Thoughts on the room:
A basic room no more no less.
Could the hotel improve? Most certainly. I wonder if the family that owns the hotel realizes the significance and history of the hotel.
I can't say enough about the staff that attended to this frustrated traveler.
Would I recommend the hotel?
No not really.
There was a hotel down the street from this hotel that appeared to be quite nicer but...
For a budget minded traveler this hotel though is near everything in Zona 1.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd floor but to really watch people choose the street adjacent to Independence...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2014
Dear FortWorthJeffie,
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate that shows us our weaknesses so we can work on them and turn them into strengths. Maybe you could give us another chance to serve you better. Cordially,
Silvia Cruz / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Hotel Pan American is a clean, bright hotel in the heart of the historic district of Guatemala City.

My room was a good value. Small, but comfortable, as was the bed. The bathroom was clean and stocked with good soap and shampoo. The bathroom had a vent window that opened to the lobby. No one could see you but, potentially, someone could hear you. The room I stayed in faced the back of the hotel and it was a bit noisy. If you are a light sleeper, you might have a problem.

The best thing about the hotel was the affordable and excellent restaurant in the lobby. The food was exceptionally good. There is wifi in all the public areas and it was fast. I was able to FaceTime chat with my kids back in the States.

The staff was very friendly. The people at the front desk speak English pretty well. For other staff, you need to be able to speak some Spanish (or have a translation app handy). But, they are patient while you try to figure out the right thing to say.

I would definitely stay at the Pan American if I was in Guatemala City again.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room facing the front of the hotel or the inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia C, Gerente at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Mr. Steven
I would like to thank you for your opinion about us. Your comments are very important because they encourage us to improve our service.
Hoping to see you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, KS
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel needs serious renovation. The rooms are ancient, the beds and bedding are definitely decades old. We found the beds rather comfortable. There is no decor in the rooms. The elevator doesn't work. We were not given the TV remote and had to look for filtered water (it is located in the hallway, but nobody told us about it). Internet did not work. It was surprising, however, that a very tasty breakfast was served and the staff was very friendly and elegant. The staff at the reception was unprofessional when we were checking in and very nice at check-out. The price for this hotel is comparatively rather high, but the location is indeed very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2014
Dear Witoldzio
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate that shows us our weaknesses so we can work on them and turn them into strengths. Maybe you could give us another chance to serve you better in the near future. Cordially,
Silvia Cruz / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pirkkala, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We, a family of four, stayed here for one night. The hotel was very clean and the room was nice. The noise of the other guests spending time in the lobby downstairs was pretty loud but it didn't disturb us as we were really tired. Nice place, thank you for the stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia C, Gerente at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Mr Jari
I would like to thank you for your opinion about us. Your comments are very important because they encourage us to improve our service.

Hoping to see you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

After a great stay in Antigua, we decided to spend one night in Guatemala City close to the airport because we had to be at the airport at 5am the next day. Reading the info on tripadvisor, we booked (through hotelclub) largely because of price and the advertised 24 hour airport shuttle.

On arriving late in the afternoon we were told we still had to pay, even though the hotelclub charge had already gone through my card. With my wife and kids there I had nowhere else to go and had to stump up (hopefully hotelclub will sort this out). Moreover when we went to book the shuttle they said there wasn't one.

I don't suppose the place was bad for what it was ... but what it was (twice the price and no shuttle) was not what it was sold as.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2014
Dear Trevor K,
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate that shows us our weaknesses so we can work on them and turn them into strengths. We are also working in the descriptions at some web pages that offer things just to catch travellers and cause serious problems. Maybe you could give us another chance to serve you better. Cordially,
Silvia Cruz / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pan American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan American Hotel

Address: 9A Calle 5-63 | Zona 1, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pan American Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pan American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan American Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pan American Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.