We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic 20th Century hotel in historic district” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pan American Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pan American Hotel to your Saves list
Pan American Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9A Calle 5-63 | Zona 1, Guatemala City, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Classic 20th Century hotel in historic district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Hotel Pan American is a clean, bright hotel in the heart of the historic district of Guatemala City.

My room was a good value. Small, but comfortable, as was the bed. The bathroom was clean and stocked with good soap and shampoo. The bathroom had a vent window that opened to the lobby. No one could see you but, potentially, someone could hear you. The room I stayed in faced the back of the hotel and it was a bit noisy. If you are a light sleeper, you might have a problem.

The best thing about the hotel was the affordable and excellent restaurant in the lobby. The food was exceptionally good. There is wifi in all the public areas and it was fast. I was able to FaceTime chat with my kids back in the States.

The staff was very friendly. The people at the front desk speak English pretty well. For other staff, you need to be able to speak some Spanish (or have a translation app handy). But, they are patient while you try to figure out the right thing to say.

I would definitely stay at the Pan American if I was in Guatemala City again.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room facing the front of the hotel or the inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia C, Gerente at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Mr. Steven
I would like to thank you for your opinion about us. Your comments are very important because they encourage us to improve our service.
Hoping to see you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    33
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
10
19
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, KS
Level Contributor
141 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel needs serious renovation. The rooms are ancient, the beds and bedding are definitely decades old. We found the beds rather comfortable. There is no decor in the rooms. The elevator doesn't work. We were not given the TV remote and had to look for filtered water (it is located in the hallway, but nobody told us about it). Internet did not work. It was surprising, however, that a very tasty breakfast was served and the staff was very friendly and elegant. The staff at the reception was unprofessional when we were checking in and very nice at check-out. The price for this hotel is comparatively rather high, but the location is indeed very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2014
Dear Witoldzio
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate that shows us our weaknesses so we can work on them and turn them into strengths. Maybe you could give us another chance to serve you better in the near future. Cordially,
Silvia Cruz / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pirkkala, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We, a family of four, stayed here for one night. The hotel was very clean and the room was nice. The noise of the other guests spending time in the lobby downstairs was pretty loud but it didn't disturb us as we were really tired. Nice place, thank you for the stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia C, Gerente at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Mr Jari
I would like to thank you for your opinion about us. Your comments are very important because they encourage us to improve our service.

Hoping to see you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

After a great stay in Antigua, we decided to spend one night in Guatemala City close to the airport because we had to be at the airport at 5am the next day. Reading the info on tripadvisor, we booked (through hotelclub) largely because of price and the advertised 24 hour airport shuttle.

On arriving late in the afternoon we were told we still had to pay, even though the hotelclub charge had already gone through my card. With my wife and kids there I had nowhere else to go and had to stump up (hopefully hotelclub will sort this out). Moreover when we went to book the shuttle they said there wasn't one.

I don't suppose the place was bad for what it was ... but what it was (twice the price and no shuttle) was not what it was sold as.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2014
Dear Trevor K,
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate that shows us our weaknesses so we can work on them and turn them into strengths. We are also working in the descriptions at some web pages that offer things just to catch travellers and cause serious problems. Maybe you could give us another chance to serve you better. Cordially,
Silvia Cruz / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The service was very good, the hotel is very well situated (in the center, right in the middle of a spot of restaurant and main street).

The room itself is OK for one night of two, nothing exceptional tough. Hot water, clean room, good bed for 60$/night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajep65, Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2014
Dear S G,
Thanks a lot for your comments! they encourage us to strive in attenging our guests and make them fell better than at home. Our rates are changing according to season and now you could find real offers. We hope to serve you in your next visit to our country. Cordially,
Silvia Cruz / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Pan American compares well to other tourist hotels where I have stayed in Central American capitals, but I was here on business.

For me, the lack of in-room wifi and business services was a slight annoyance, but on the plus side, the staff was extremely gracious. They went out of their way to make my stay as wonderful as possible.

As others have said, the location is brilliant for anyone interested in the historic section of the city. On Sundays, the main plaza fills with local vendors and musicians, and the streets around the hotel are quite busy and safe (before dark - after dark, they empty quickly). The main market is just a couple blocks from the front door. And there were numerous police officers and armed guards around nearby shops and restaurants. (I was able to buy a prepaid cell at a Tigo store across the street for ~$11 that I used, even to call internationally, during my four-day trip.)

Guatemala is a unique city in its blend of modern and traditional, something you see everywhere on the streets, from the architecture to how people dress. And the Pan American is right in the heart of it.

Another giant plus for the Pan American is the restaurant where they offer delicious typical Guatemalan cuisine (and sometimes live music) -- I would eat breakfast here over the more-business-oriented hotels any day.

The rooms didn't bother me at all. They might not be sleek and super-modern, but they are very clean and well-maintained. I slept well in the bed and the bathroom was larger than expected with good pressure and ample hot water in the shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia C, General Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Google Translation
Buen día:

Reciba un cordial saludo de Hotel Pan American en el Centro Histórico de Guatemala.

Nos alegra mucho el que tenga muy buenos recuerdos de su estadía en el hotel.

Para nosotros será un verdadero gusto el recibirle nuevamente en un próximo viaje a Guatemala, y poder atenderle como usted se merece.

Gracias por permitirnos ser parte de esos momentos especiales en su vida.

Estamos para servirle. Cordialmente,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
455 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago
Well located in old town
Old rooms with not much mod cons but functional
Fairly cheap
Not much to do in Guatemala City itself
Also stayed in newer embassy area
Stay for a couple of days then maybe head to Antigua

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.5 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#6 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#26 of 48 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#4 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#31 of 48 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan American Hotel

Address: 9A Calle 5-63 | Zona 1, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pan American Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pan American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan American Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pan American Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.