We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located but needs refurb” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pan American Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pan American Hotel to your Saves list
Pan American Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9A Calle 5-63 | Zona 1, Guatemala City, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Happy Hour 2x1
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Tralee, Ireland
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 216 cities Reviews in 216 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Well located but needs refurb”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago
Well located in old town
Old rooms with not much mod cons but functional
Fairly cheap
Not much to do in Guatemala City itself
Also stayed in newer embassy area
Stay for a couple of days then maybe head to Antigua

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
16
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for five nights. Its located in zona 1, the historic distric. So the hotel is greatly located. Right outside the hotel you will find coffee shops, restaurants, boutiques, cultural centers, galleries, sightseeing.

The problem is that the hotel itself is really old. Once you walk in you will notice the old furniture, the old decor. I like vintage everything, but this is not vintage, this is old un-updated sort of hotel. Even the keys! they will give you a physical key with a long wood for keychain. Then, the rooms theyselves are very old looking. Dark and the televisions do not even have remote controls. The bed are extremely unconfortable, easier to sleep on the floor that in bed. Also, the rooms do not have air conditioning but they do have a fan. I cannot even describe the look of the rooms, they are very uncomfortable, the lamps take a good 3 minutes to turn all the way on. There are barely plugs to charge a cellphone or anything. Also, do not leave the windows open at night. You will not be able to sleep at all, since there are plenty of bars around and people will stay up ´till 3am. The rooms do not have internet, you will have to be in the common areas to get a wifi signal. If you are luckier than us, it will work. It actually worked until the last day and no one was able to help out and fix the problem.

I really wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone. For that same price you will find something so much better that will accomodate you and the wifi will work in your rooms and you wont need to leave the doors open in the bathroom for the air to flow... terrible hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Located in Zone 1 beside Calle Real (pedestrian only) with street theatre and musicians. Apprehensive the first night with guards with shot guns at the door of most shops. I only saw a handfull of tourists and was I treated more like a novelty. (not harassed) The hotel is dated (nostalgic?) with antique elevators. I stayed in a corner room which was huge (with 4 beds) that was clean and quiet but dated. The pleasant suprise was the dining room with great breakfasts with quality service. Great location 2 blocks from Constitution Plaza and its affordable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I loved 3 things about this hotel:
a) Fantastic location. I was a bit nervous about staying there in zone 1. But I felt safe the whole time when I was there! As long as you don't venture out of the pedestrian street (avenida 6) which is just around the corner, you will be just fine. All the major attractions are within walking distance. Don't miss the artisan market behind the church! It's the best place for souvenir shopping in the entire country. In fact, you don't need to buy anything anywhere else. Go there at the end of your trip and you can find anything and everything at the best prices.
b) Great restaurant. I had 3 meals there and every single one was delicious. You can't go wrong with anything that's marked "our specialty" on the menu. I noticed that a lot of the locals went there for dinner and brunch. You can't go wrong with that. Got to eat there!
c) The retro feel. This is an old hotel and the rooms can use some TLC. But the decor is in a "old school chic" kind of way. Probably not everybody's cup of tea. But I really liked it.
You could stay at the Holiday Inn, Marcelo or Hard Rock in the hotel zone. Or, you could stay here and see the real Guatemala City. For me, the choice was pretty obvious. :=)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the volcano. You can see Antigua on a clear day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I found this to be all in all a very good place to stay in Zona 1, the old, historic part of Guatemala City, which is going through a renaissance of sorts with many older buildings being restored and a number of new and interesting cafes and restaurants. The hotel is really right at the heart of the old city, and as soon as you walk out the door you are immersed in a vibrant and colorful street scene. Then when you return and walk inside the hotel you are struck by what a quiet, calm, oasis it is. Our room was simple but adequate. This is certainly not a luxury establishment, but it's clean and well run, and for less than $50 a night in a central location I think it's great value.

The hotel also features an excellent restaurant, with a very nice buffet lunch of traditional Guatemalan dishes.

I know that many tourists choose the big chain hotels in Zona 10, but after we took a cab to that area to have dinner, we were happy to return to the Pan American, where you really feel like you are staying in a foreign city, and not what could be a little piece of Miami Beach. You will hear lots of warning about Guatemala City being dangerous, but in the area around the Pan American the streets are always full of people, so I never felt unsafe.

Room Tip: We asked for a room in the back for purposes of sleeping. I imagine that rooms facing the pedestrian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed 4 nights and enjoyed it. A 60 year old hotel in style unchanged located in the historical center of town. If you look for the real old fashioned large bed rooms with charming original decor from the late 40ies,this is it. Over the last 20 years I have stayed here several times, nothing has changed, even the same people working there. Food is excellent, serving both traditional and international cousine. The waiters are dressed in traditional colorful robes.
Sunday special breakfast buffet, a must! and it is open to anyone.
Service is good, rooms are clean. Make sure you get rooms on second level, not on the top floor.
We enjoyed a large triplet room on second level with balcony facing the 6.Ave, now a pedestrian street.
A safe hospitable and economic place to stay. Good value.
Check their web site for more info.
www.hotelpanamerican.com.gt

Room Tip: Rooms on second level have balconies, can be a bit busy in day time, but quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Creek, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

After arriving in the late afternoon on Christmas Eve in Guatemala City, our Taxi driver recommend the Pan American Hotel to us.
It's a lovely older hotel, less than 2 blocks from the main square in The old historical area of Guatemala City.
We stayed here 3 nights over Christmas.

Our room was a nice size with 3 twin beds. A lovely large balcony that overlooked a busy walking only street of shopping.
We so enjoyed the views. As it was Christmas Eve when we arrived, the streets were packed with people. The fireworks at midnight went on and on. A real treat.

The room did not have wi-Fi, but it was available just outside our room in the lovely seating area in the hall.

A great breakfast was included in the price. It was served in the lobby. This hotel has lots of old
charm.
The price was very reasonable - around $40US

We left our heavy luggage here for a few days and travelled to Copan, Honduras for the New Year.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We will defiantly use this hotel as our stop in Guatemala City. We use to always head strait to Antigua upon arrival in Guatemala, but now that we've found such a good spot in Guatemala City, we can now visit the Capital and experience some of the things a large city has to offer.

Room Tip: Even though there is street noise, the outside rooms with large balconies are the best. There are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pan American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan American Hotel

Address: 9A Calle 5-63 | Zona 1, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pan American Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pan American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan American Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pan American Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.