We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel in Guatemala City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Carlos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Carlos
Av. La Reforma 7-89, Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 47 hotels in Guatemala City
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel in Guatemala City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This unique, small hotel is staffed by lovely people dedicated to excellent service. The complimentary breakfast offerings are authentically Guatemalan and delicious. Good internet service and good value. Very close to the high-priced hotel district but a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
3
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We received such a warm welcome, excellent friendly service, and some extras included in the room price. The complimentary breakfast off the menu offered many choices. We enjoyed a complimentary rum cocktail in a quaint little bar. The grounds, sitting rooms, and breakfast room are elegant. Will stay here again next trip to Guatemala City.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Good value boutique hotel near to main centres. Good english spoken by friendly staff. Free breakfast and cocktail for first nights stay. On a busy road so maybe avoid rooms at the front although noise is not bad for a busy city. Charming very green garden with WIFI to sit and work or relax in peace with free coffee running all day.
There was nothing that a reasonable person would complain about. Small restaurant with limited but quite edible local menu with very friendly service at a moderate price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San C, General Manager at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for you review. It´s great to know you had a nice experience on your visit. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This is is really nice hotel, really warm welcome from Roberto the manager...Wished my sister and I were staying there for more than one night.... We received a welcome cocktail when we arrived, and voucher for an alcoholic drink for later on in the day (turns it's only for a rhum and coke only)...
Airport transfer is included, so before my trip, I emailed the hotel to arrange my transport, and our chauffeur was punctual and waiting for us when we cleared customs...
Breakfast is also included, but my sister and I were leaving really early the next morning to catch a flight for tikal, so Roberto arranged for a box breakfast be waiting for us at the front desk upon check out! And yes, it was! So thoughtful.

Room was clean, nice bar area and pool area....

Would definetely go back there!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Our extended family of eleven stayed in three rooms at this hotel during Spring break, March 2010. It was a treat. Rooms were clean and interesting looking with kitchenettes which we were able to prepare basic food in. The pool was fun for the kids (5 total), and the complimentary breakfast was good. Also, gated and guarded parking is provided for guests (one car per room I think). The location turned out to be exceptional given that it is located off of the main avenue that during the week leading up to Easter (the week we visited) the avenue is closed to traffic on Sunday and opened up for pedestrians (the route is heavily guarded by Guatemalan police). We had a great stroll, the kids even got to enjoy a pony ride in the park farther down the avenue. I would absolutely recommend this hotel. Nice, helpful staff. Also, the last couple of days of our week-long stay and travels in Guatemala I came down with a bad stomach bug. On the morning my immediate family was to depart for the airport I asked the kitchen staff if they could give me some seeds from a papaya (which I learned about years ago while traveling in Mexico) they were able to give me about a tablespoons worth which I swallowed and by the time we reached the airport I was able to function and get on the flight home. Also, if you are renting a car in Guatemala which I would only recommend if you know someone who lives there and only if you are traveling in a caravan of at least two cars - stop by a U.S. automotive supply shop before you go and buy a two-pack of "blind spot mirrors" (they are about 2 to 3 inches in diamiter) and attach them to the side-view mirror of your rentals - it will make driving in Guatemala *much* easier for you. Have a great trip!

Room Tip: Top floor and in the back so that you get the least amount of night time traffic noise from the aven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I stayed in hotel San Carlos last month. I loved the experience of my stay. It has beautiful suites, garden & pool view. The service was great. I never had an experience like in hotel San Carlos because the service was extremely personalized. During my stay I had the opportunity meet many executives from important international businesses and embassies. It has a lot of security and it is less than 100 meters form the US embassy which I felt more comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for suites, apartment and room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ale_sotocr, Director of Sales at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Than you for you review. It´s great to know you had a nice experience on your visit. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Lovely hotel. Good WiFi.
Restaurant fair-good.
Room #5 has charming fountain and pool RIGHT outside your window.
This time of year the sun rises on the horizon, and shines right onto the king size bed.
Room rate included comp shuttle to airport.
Little pricey, but well worth it.
On main street but very buffered from sound.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ale_sotocr, Director of Sales at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you very much for your review, hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlos

Address: Av. La Reforma 7-89, Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the small and luxurious hotel in Guatemala. Hotel San Carlos is an elegant hotel that offers a personalized service that will make you feel at home. Hotel San Carlos is located in "Avenida La Reforma", one of the main and most beautiful avenue of Guatemala City. About 200 meters from the commercial area, financial centers, embassies and tourist attractions. Ten minutes from "La Aurora" International Airport and five minutes from downtown Historical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlos Hotel
Hotel San Carlos Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.