We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice welcome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Carlos to your Saves list
Hotel San Carlos
Av. La Reforma 7-89, Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice welcome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This is is really nice hotel, really warm welcome from Roberto the manager...Wished my sister and I were staying there for more than one night.... We received a welcome cocktail when we arrived, and voucher for an alcoholic drink for later on in the day (turns it's only for a rhum and coke only)...
Airport transfer is included, so before my trip, I emailed the hotel to arrange my transport, and our chauffeur was punctual and waiting for us when we cleared customs...
Breakfast is also included, but my sister and I were leaving really early the next morning to catch a flight for tikal, so Roberto arranged for a box breakfast be waiting for us at the front desk upon check out! And yes, it was! So thoughtful.

Room was clean, nice bar area and pool area....

Would definetely go back there!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
3
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Our extended family of eleven stayed in three rooms at this hotel during Spring break, March 2010. It was a treat. Rooms were clean and interesting looking with kitchenettes which we were able to prepare basic food in. The pool was fun for the kids (5 total), and the complimentary breakfast was good. Also, gated and guarded parking is provided for guests (one car per room I think). The location turned out to be exceptional given that it is located off of the main avenue that during the week leading up to Easter (the week we visited) the avenue is closed to traffic on Sunday and opened up for pedestrians (the route is heavily guarded by Guatemalan police). We had a great stroll, the kids even got to enjoy a pony ride in the park farther down the avenue. I would absolutely recommend this hotel. Nice, helpful staff. Also, the last couple of days of our week-long stay and travels in Guatemala I came down with a bad stomach bug. On the morning my immediate family was to depart for the airport I asked the kitchen staff if they could give me some seeds from a papaya (which I learned about years ago while traveling in Mexico) they were able to give me about a tablespoons worth which I swallowed and by the time we reached the airport I was able to function and get on the flight home. Also, if you are renting a car in Guatemala which I would only recommend if you know someone who lives there and only if you are traveling in a caravan of at least two cars - stop by a U.S. automotive supply shop before you go and buy a two-pack of "blind spot mirrors" (they are about 2 to 3 inches in diamiter) and attach them to the side-view mirror of your rentals - it will make driving in Guatemala *much* easier for you. Have a great trip!

Room Tip: Top floor and in the back so that you get the least amount of night time traffic noise from the aven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I stayed in hotel San Carlos last month. I loved the experience of my stay. It has beautiful suites, garden & pool view. The service was great. I never had an experience like in hotel San Carlos because the service was extremely personalized. During my stay I had the opportunity meet many executives from important international businesses and embassies. It has a lot of security and it is less than 100 meters form the US embassy which I felt more comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for suites, apartment and room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ale_sotocr, Director of Sales at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Than you for you review. It´s great to know you had a nice experience on your visit. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Lovely hotel. Good WiFi.
Restaurant fair-good.
Room #5 has charming fountain and pool RIGHT outside your window.
This time of year the sun rises on the horizon, and shines right onto the king size bed.
Room rate included comp shuttle to airport.
Little pricey, but well worth it.
On main street but very buffered from sound.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ale_sotocr, Director of Sales at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you very much for your review, hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

The horrible service makes this a hotel I would never stay at again. We had 2 rooms reserved for a group of 6 people. Several of us checked in at 2 pm, were given a 2-bedroom apt. and told that room XX was reserved for the rest of our group. When they showed up at 3 that room had somehow disappeared and they asked us to all stay in the same room because all the other rooms were taken. They promised us a certain rate including tax and breakfast. The next day they charged us $50 more than we had been promised and wouldn't budge no matter what we said. No concessions for the messed-up reservation and not honoring a quoted price make this a hotel I would never recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

Overall we liked the hotel a lot. Breakfasts were tasty and were included in our rate. There was a choice of 6 different breakfasts. The staff was friendly to us and our children. The room we had was huge! It was like renting an apartment, and the rates were comparable to regular much smaller hotel rooms elsewhere in Guatemala City. We had a kitchen, living room, 2 bedrooms and 2 baths.

The only complaint we had was that the shuttle was not there to meet us at the airport when we arrived--as the hotel staff had promised and confirmed in emails. We had to call a couple times to have them come and pick us up. Also, some of the staff don't speak English well.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, OR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

If you want to be downtown but don't care for "tourist" hotels this is the one. Very quaint older hotel, but in great shape, has a "colonial" feel. Rooms are all a little different, but very well furnished, very clean and comfortable. No pool (its really an oversized hot tub with cool water!), no workout room and no flashy bar, but if you want a very clean comfortable hotel downtown this is a great one. The staff was also great and always very helpful. I would definelty go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlos

Address: Av. La Reforma 7-89, Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the small and luxurious hotel in Guatemala. Hotel San Carlos is an elegant hotel that offers a personalized service that will make you feel at home. Hotel San Carlos is located in "Avenida La Reforma", one of the main and most beautiful avenue of Guatemala City. About 200 meters from the commercial area, financial centers, embassies and tourist attractions. Ten minutes from "La Aurora" International Airport and five minutes from downtown Historical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlos Hotel
Hotel San Carlos Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.