We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever, great for networking & high quality personalized service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Carlos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Carlos
Av. La Reforma 7-89, Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 47 hotels in Guatemala City
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Best hotel ever, great for networking & high quality personalized service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I stayed in hotel San Carlos last month. I loved the experience of my stay. It has beautiful suites, garden & pool view. The service was great. I never had an experience like in hotel San Carlos because the service was extremely personalized. During my stay I had the opportunity meet many executives from important international businesses and embassies. It has a lot of security and it is less than 100 meters form the US embassy which I felt more comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for suites, apartment and room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ale_sotocr, Director of Sales at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Than you for you review. It´s great to know you had a nice experience on your visit. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
3
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Lovely hotel. Good WiFi.
Restaurant fair-good.
Room #5 has charming fountain and pool RIGHT outside your window.
This time of year the sun rises on the horizon, and shines right onto the king size bed.
Room rate included comp shuttle to airport.
Little pricey, but well worth it.
On main street but very buffered from sound.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ale_sotocr, Director of Sales at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you very much for your review, hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

The horrible service makes this a hotel I would never stay at again. We had 2 rooms reserved for a group of 6 people. Several of us checked in at 2 pm, were given a 2-bedroom apt. and told that room XX was reserved for the rest of our group. When they showed up at 3 that room had somehow disappeared and they asked us to all stay in the same room because all the other rooms were taken. They promised us a certain rate including tax and breakfast. The next day they charged us $50 more than we had been promised and wouldn't budge no matter what we said. No concessions for the messed-up reservation and not honoring a quoted price make this a hotel I would never recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

Overall we liked the hotel a lot. Breakfasts were tasty and were included in our rate. There was a choice of 6 different breakfasts. The staff was friendly to us and our children. The room we had was huge! It was like renting an apartment, and the rates were comparable to regular much smaller hotel rooms elsewhere in Guatemala City. We had a kitchen, living room, 2 bedrooms and 2 baths.

The only complaint we had was that the shuttle was not there to meet us at the airport when we arrived--as the hotel staff had promised and confirmed in emails. We had to call a couple times to have them come and pick us up. Also, some of the staff don't speak English well.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, OR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

If you want to be downtown but don't care for "tourist" hotels this is the one. Very quaint older hotel, but in great shape, has a "colonial" feel. Rooms are all a little different, but very well furnished, very clean and comfortable. No pool (its really an oversized hot tub with cool water!), no workout room and no flashy bar, but if you want a very clean comfortable hotel downtown this is a great one. The staff was also great and always very helpful. I would definelty go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

I chose this hotel for its low price and since they are close to the embassy they are accustomed to adoptive parents. The only slightly negative things I have to say is that there is not much of an area to walk with your child (if you are visiting you can not leave the hotel) and one of the woman at the front desk was not very fluent in English and not too nice.
I was there for a week and all of the other people at the front desk were extremely accomidating. The cleaning people and other help were very nice and will assist with anything needed. I plan on staying here again!

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta ga
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

Upon driving up to the San Carlos your first impression is that you're visitiing a wealthy friend living in a grand home in Paris. The hotel is the perfect size--it's like a cross between a bed and breakfast and a hotel, it's quiet etc. but still big enough to have a small bar and restaurant and you can sit on the front porch. The place is 200 feet from the US Embassy on a wide boulevard with sidewalks and trees down the middle, so it is in a cosmopolitan area,
8-10 blocks from the nightlife, restauarant, big hotels area---which is a lot of fun to visit and it is also 8-10 blocks the other way to the downtown area---which offers a lot to see---like cathedrals, historic government buildings, parks etc. We were adopting our son and we also traveled around the country to see sites as well and loved Guatemala. the staff at the San Carlos are great---they provided us with a crib, a wash basin--whatever they could do to make your stay enjoyable---they were even nice about me discovering my room key was in my pocket at the airport--and i called them --they handled that too.--I'll be back

  • Liked — The historic beauty of the building and grounds, the room was like an apartment, good location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlos

Address: Av. La Reforma 7-89, Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the small and luxurious hotel in Guatemala. Hotel San Carlos is an elegant hotel that offers a personalized service that will make you feel at home. Hotel San Carlos is located in "Avenida La Reforma", one of the main and most beautiful avenue of Guatemala City. About 200 meters from the commercial area, financial centers, embassies and tourist attractions. Ten minutes from "La Aurora" International Airport and five minutes from downtown Historical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlos Hotel
Hotel San Carlos Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.