We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Grande

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guatemala City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa Grande
Save
You added La Casa Grande to your Saves list
Av. La Reforma 7-67 | Zona 10, Guatemala City, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

We were looking for a hotel with some character, not your typical chain. La Casa Grande was it. We loved the colonial architecture, gardens, terraces and sunny rooms. It was clean and spacious. And for Zone 10, the price was very reasonable.

Restaurant is handy (right in the midst of the courtyard), but mediocre. Rooms on the courtyard are noisy, so ask for one not on the courtyard if noise bothers you. If the airplanes flying overhead are a problem for you, you may not want to stay there either.

One more caution -- if you ask the folks at the front desk for a cab, tell them you want a metered cab. They called a cab for us that ripped us off. So we won't be doing that again.

I'd like to come back and stay in the suite #28. You get your own frig, microwave and separate living room with a private terrace and it feels like it is almost a separate apartment to yourself . Not bad for $100 per night.

  • Liked — Charm, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Bad taxi advice
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

I've stayed at this very pleasant, small hotel many times over the past 13 years, by myself, with my wife, with our children, and with business associates. I love the place and the people who work there, and I would recommend it to anyone not interested in a large, upscale hotel. Most of the same kind and friendly staff of people I met on our first visit in 1995 are still there. They take pride in their personal care of their guests, and I trust them without reservation. They know who is coming and going and keep a close eye on things. The property changed management a couple of years ago, underwent thorough renovation, and now offers more amenities. They now have a business suite with several computers and internet connections, plus hot and cold beverages 24/7 and at no cost. The restaurant is clean, has a very pleasant atmosphere, offers a reasonable variety of good food and will cook off-menu meals when asked. They have a small, quiet bar off one side of the beautiful sitting rooms, a couple of second-floor patios, and a gated entry to the grounds. If you stay there, tell Fredy and Gloria hello for me!

  • Liked — Friendly, caring staff
  • Disliked — Occasional traffic noise
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

Casa Grande Guatemala City
Excellent hotel. Safe and friendely.

Stayed August 2003
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

We have stayed in a few different hotels while visiting Guate over the
year 2007. Our most pleasant visit was at this hotel - it was clean and bright and very family friendly. There is no pool for older kids and the restaurant is just so-so but that didn't matter compared to the great price and customer service. There is a mini-market within walking distance plus a couple very good local restaurants. The computer room is great and they provide a great complimentary coffee
"bar" machine. We stayed in the suite, had a small working a/c, and liked watching some of the busy city activity from our window. We were
there as a final pick up trip for two older children we were adopting and found it highly suitable. We really liked it for our purposes.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

After a series of unfortunate events, my husband and I lucked into finding this place. Our previous hotel was booked, our passports were stolen and we were booked (by the Marriott) into a horrid, slum hotel. Upon leaving the US Embassy, we walked by this place, walked in, asked if they had rooms and booked on the spot. The hotel arranged for a taxi back to the other hotel where we felt confident our belongings would no longer be. We were pleasantly surprised when they were! At any rate, we recieved excellent service here. It is very safe and clean. Lots of adoptive parents here and our only complaint would be crying babies through the night. A very small complaint considering what we went through! Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Have a great trip! ~Emily

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

While in Guatemala on our 1st visit trip we stayed at La Casa Grande. The staff is wonderful. Clean Hotel. Good Zone. Right beside the US Embassy. Great view. Roomy. Lots of living room sitting space. Free bottled water. Friendly atmosphere. Has a restaurant inside. Always willing to send someone for stuff you need outside the hotel premises at no extra charge. Family type atmosphere. Would definately request anyone to stay at this motel.

  • Liked — Friendly
  • Disliked — Thre water!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalamazoo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

Our two children, my husband and I returned to La Casa Grande after staying there twice 10 years ago. Many of the same staff are still there, including Gloria and Freddy, the husband and wife team who work at the front desk most of the time. It's a very comfortable, clean, and lovely hotel next to the U.S. Embassy with very reasonable prices and a central location. We would recommend it highly!!!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
2.0 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#6 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#26 of 48 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#4 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#9 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
#24 of 48 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Grande

Address: Av. La Reforma 7-67 | Zona 10, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
La Casa Grande Guatemala City
La Casa Grande Hotel
La Casa Grande Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.