We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it here !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Grande

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guatemala City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa Grande
Save
You added La Casa Grande to your Saves list
Av. La Reforma 7-67 | Zona 10, Guatemala City, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Guatemala City
Candor, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it here !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed here in May of 2012 for 4 nights while visiting my friend that lives in the city. I came during low season so there were not a lot of people in the hotel and i felt i had the whole place to myself. The rooms were large and clean and i had a/c in my room which is standard in the U.S. but not so much in Guatemala. The beds are very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I loved the architecture and feel of the building. It felt like you were a guest in a mansion. The U.S. Embassy is only a block away which was comforting to know and it is very easy to hail a taxi at the entrance to the hotel. They provide free computers for your use and serve the best breakfast. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I had Room 28 upstairs and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Marin County, Calif
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We just stayed two nights at the Casa Grande Hotel which is about a block from the US Embassy. The service was great. Easy, safe parking in gated courtyard with the front desk staffed all hours. The breakfast was very tasty with a delicious fresh fruit plate, warm, delicious bread rolls and I love getting our own pot of coffee on the table. Breakfast is not included in the room price as it is with many hotels. They were very accommodating and made me some little breakfast sandwiches to go one day. It is an interesting building with authentic historic interest. The room was comfortable and very spacious, but felt a little musty like staying at an elderly relative's house. It was fairly empty, although when some other guests were checking out in the wee hours of the morning, we could hear their every word of those big, booming southern accents! Before our trip, I emailed several times with questions and got quick responses in English which made planning easy. They didn't take a deposit upon reservation or even upon arrival which was a little weird, but rates were all just as we had been quoted when it came time to check out. We had a room on the second floor in the rear wanting to get away from the traffic noise. That particular room had windows to the interior courtyard and to the back, so was still a bit noisy due to the older construction, single pane windows. For the price, service and convenience of location, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccerfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

The Casa Grande is a nice, large, distinctive hotel. When we stayed there, however, we appeared to be just about the only guests. The hotel felt empty rather than filled with lively activity.

Facilities are fine. Rooms are cozy. Staff are helpful. Rooms have TVs and telephones. The hotel is very secure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LynnGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We have stayed at the Casa Grande twice (in 2008 and 2009), last time for 2 and half weeks. Freddie and Gloria who run the hotel are wonderfully helpful and friendly. They speak English and will help you out with anything. They arrange short and long distance taxi service (with fluent, English speaking driver). Rest of staff are lovely. Hotel itself is beautiful old building with gorgeous terraces and courtyard. Is near to restaurants and bars, book shops, shopping malls and cafes. Breakfasts are great! Children are doted upon!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShineW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

La Casa Grande is a lovely place to stay in Guatemala City. It is a welcome change from big chain hotels. It is a beautiful old mansion with rooms arranged around a center, covered courtyard. The people who work there are a delight! They are helpful, friendly, and welcoming. I have stayed there on 4 different trips, and each time has been equally lovely.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllisonDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coal Valley, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed 2 nights upon arriving in Guatemala City and 1 night upon returning to Guatemala City from Tikal, Antigua and Panajachel. Each time we were so impressed by the staff. The front desk people are so helpful (and the taxis they call are driven by very prompt, friendly people!) and always greeted us with a smile...early in the morning (4:00am for flights) or any other time of day. We would definitely return to this warm hotel full of character with patio areas throughout the hotel for relaxing, reading or playing cards with the grandchildren. As beautiful as the hotel is (my understanding is that it was once the home of a vice president and then a home for nuns), I think it's the staff that makes it special. Thanks for a great visit! (PS Our daughter has stayed at this hotel 3 times as she adopted 3 boys from Guatemala and it's right next door to the American Embassy!)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnydays1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

We were looking for a hotel with some character, not your typical chain. La Casa Grande was it. We loved the colonial architecture, gardens, terraces and sunny rooms. It was clean and spacious. And for Zone 10, the price was very reasonable.

Restaurant is handy (right in the midst of the courtyard), but mediocre. Rooms on the courtyard are noisy, so ask for one not on the courtyard if noise bothers you. If the airplanes flying overhead are a problem for you, you may not want to stay there either.

One more caution -- if you ask the folks at the front desk for a cab, tell them you want a metered cab. They called a cab for us that ripped us off. So we won't be doing that again.

I'd like to come back and stay in the suite #28. You get your own frig, microwave and separate living room with a private terrace and it feels like it is almost a separate apartment to yourself . Not bad for $100 per night.

  • Liked — Charm, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Bad taxi advice
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank southernexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
1.1 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#9 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#26 of 46 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#7 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#24 of 46 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
2.0 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#5 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#10 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Grande

Address: Av. La Reforma 7-67 | Zona 10, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Guatemala City
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
La Casa Grande Guatemala City
La Casa Grande Hotel
La Casa Grande Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing