We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the center of the Lights District” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Avenida 12 28 Zona 10 | Zona Viva, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the center of the Lights District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very large and well appointed room and quiet considering it's location on a major road. We were welcomed with a rum punch! I don't know if this only applies to tour groups, but it was most welcome after the long bus ride. Two large beds, free wifi, even a fridge.

Room Tip: Room 234 was relatively quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    48
    41
    18
    7
See reviews for
18
30
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with a tour group so can't comment on the price of the room. My room had two double beds with a throw rug between them, a 6-drawer dresser, large mirror, desk and two chairs, mini fridge, flat screen TV, closet with a safe, ironing board and iron, very nice linens, good lighting, a very comfortable bed and pillows, and complimentary bottled water. The hardwood floors appeared to be very clean. The bathroom had a tub/shower and enough space around the sink to put all my things. The lobby was very nice and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights recently while visiting friends in the capital. Good location, nice breakfast which was different each day. Stunning parquet floors throughout older part of hotel. Room was clean and good sized (I understand that some of them were a bit small though). Business centre with free internet use and printing. Close to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Stofella has very nice rooms for the price - a good value but i give it minus points for rude front desk staff, inattentive restaurant staff and a general attitude of malaise.
We showed up and were given the third degree by the front desk even though we had called our reservation in the night before. She claimed we had no reservation and made us feel very unwelcome. We were asked to sit down while she consulted on whether there might be a room available. This is a large hotel and not even close to being full. We did not run into one other person on our floor after coming and going numerous times so I fail to see what the front desk fuss was about.
We were tired and dined in that night at the restaurant. The food was very mediocre and the staff took forever with everything.
The final insult came after I got home. When I received my credit card bill I had been charged twice for the room at two different rates.
I think this hotel needs a shake-up by management. The property is modern and clean with a good location. The doormen and housekeeping were very professional and courteous but the rest of the staff, not so much. In the future I'd stay at the Intercontinental Camino Real nearby.

Room Tip: The hallways are long so get a room closer to the elevators if you don't want to make the long w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was concerned about this hotel because of some of the reviews but I was very please with the hotel. The hotel is well maintained with lovely dark wood floors. The rooms are clean and of a good size. The location is very good for restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast are OK. The breakfast on our first day was terrible (it was a Sunday so might have been the weekend staff) but the next day was better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

At this hotel, you are in walking distance of very good restaurants. Hotel itself is quite basic but clean. Beds are comfy, decent cable TV, adequate complementary breakfasts. I go for work and enjoy the variety of restaurants, including a Greek place only a block away. I liked the chicken gyro sandwich and the Greek salad so much I returned the next day. I also found the taxi driver outside the hotel very helpful and reasonably priced. Used him for several hours 2 days in a row.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

in the heart of "zona viva" several good restaurants, bars etc within walking distance of the hotel. good customer service. Some noise from flushing toilets next rooms I guess thin walls, rooms are okay small TV's nothing extraordinary, one restaurant in the hotel, (I did not use it). breakfast was include type buffet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella

Address: 2 Avenida 12 28 Zona 10 | Zona Viva, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Stofella is located in the heart of the zone Viva and ten minutes from the airport. We are surrounded by exclusive stores, office buildings, residential areas and an abundance of restaurants and nightclubs. The Best Western Stofella has luxury rooms fully equipped with automatic locks, cable television, analog dial up dataports, electronic safes and hairdryers. The Trattoria Veneziana Restaurant offer mediterranean and international food you can also ask for room service or have delicious snacks at our Caffee Venezia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stofella Hotel Guatemala City
Best Western Hotel Stofella
Best Western Guatemala City
Guatemala City Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.