We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the center of the Lights District” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Avenida 12 28 Zona 10 | Zona Viva, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the center of the Lights District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very large and well appointed room and quiet considering it's location on a major road. We were welcomed with a rum punch! I don't know if this only applies to tour groups, but it was most welcome after the long bus ride. Two large beds, free wifi, even a fridge.

Room Tip: Room 234 was relatively quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    51
    44
    18
    8
See reviews for
19
31
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with a tour group so can't comment on the price of the room. My room had two double beds with a throw rug between them, a 6-drawer dresser, large mirror, desk and two chairs, mini fridge, flat screen TV, closet with a safe, ironing board and iron, very nice linens, good lighting, a very comfortable bed and pillows, and complimentary bottled water. The hardwood floors appeared to be very clean. The bathroom had a tub/shower and enough space around the sink to put all my things. The lobby was very nice and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights recently while visiting friends in the capital. Good location, nice breakfast which was different each day. Stunning parquet floors throughout older part of hotel. Room was clean and good sized (I understand that some of them were a bit small though). Business centre with free internet use and printing. Close to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Stofella has very nice rooms for the price - a good value but i give it minus points for rude front desk staff, inattentive restaurant staff and a general attitude of malaise.
We showed up and were given the third degree by the front desk even though we had called our reservation in the night before. She claimed we had no reservation and made us feel very unwelcome. We were asked to sit down while she consulted on whether there might be a room available. This is a large hotel and not even close to being full. We did not run into one other person on our floor after coming and going numerous times so I fail to see what the front desk fuss was about.
We were tired and dined in that night at the restaurant. The food was very mediocre and the staff took forever with everything.
The final insult came after I got home. When I received my credit card bill I had been charged twice for the room at two different rates.
I think this hotel needs a shake-up by management. The property is modern and clean with a good location. The doormen and housekeeping were very professional and courteous but the rest of the staff, not so much. In the future I'd stay at the Intercontinental Camino Real nearby.

Room Tip: The hallways are long so get a room closer to the elevators if you don't want to make the long w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was concerned about this hotel because of some of the reviews but I was very please with the hotel. The hotel is well maintained with lovely dark wood floors. The rooms are clean and of a good size. The location is very good for restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast are OK. The breakfast on our first day was terrible (it was a Sunday so might have been the weekend staff) but the next day was better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

At this hotel, you are in walking distance of very good restaurants. Hotel itself is quite basic but clean. Beds are comfy, decent cable TV, adequate complementary breakfasts. I go for work and enjoy the variety of restaurants, including a Greek place only a block away. I liked the chicken gyro sandwich and the Greek salad so much I returned the next day. I also found the taxi driver outside the hotel very helpful and reasonably priced. Used him for several hours 2 days in a row.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

in the heart of "zona viva" several good restaurants, bars etc within walking distance of the hotel. good customer service. Some noise from flushing toilets next rooms I guess thin walls, rooms are okay small TV's nothing extraordinary, one restaurant in the hotel, (I did not use it). breakfast was include type buffet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
#14 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala City
Clarion Suites Guatemala City
#8 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
#22 of 48 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biltmore
Hotel Biltmore
#21 of 48 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#16 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella

Address: 2 Avenida 12 28 Zona 10 | Zona Viva, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Stofella is located in the heart of the zone Viva and ten minutes from the airport. We are surrounded by exclusive stores, office buildings, residential areas and an abundance of restaurants and nightclubs. The Best Western Stofella has luxury rooms fully equipped with automatic locks, cable television, analog dial up dataports, electronic safes and hairdryers. The Trattoria Veneziana Restaurant offer mediterranean and international food you can also ask for room service or have delicious snacks at our Caffee Venezia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stofella Hotel Guatemala City
Best Western Hotel Stofella
Best Western Guatemala City
Guatemala City Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.