We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella
2 Avenida 12 28 Zona 10 | Zona Viva, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Considering the safe, nice neighborhood and all of the other hotels in this area, we have always found the Best Western Stofella to be the best choice and the greatest value. We have stayed here numerous times and have not yet been disappointed.
I've read some of the other views about poor staff customer service, but again, we have experienced differently. The staff was very friendly and helpful during our recent stay. They went out of their way to secure taxis, make sure we got a crib for our baby (we didn't make prior arrangements), and had packed lunches ready to go when we checked out at 5am. The room was clean and we had no problems with water temperature or pressure (read in another review). They do offer a nice breakfast buffet as well. There is an Italian restaurant on the premises, but we never ate there - there are too many great restaurants to choose from in the neighborhood!
The hotel is located in a safe zone in Guatemala City and there are plenty of restaurants, hotels, nightclubs, and a mall within safe walking distance. We felt perfectly safe walking around with our two young children (ages 1 & 4) during the day.
If/when we are back in Guatemala we will have no hesitations in staying here again.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room on the main floor as the elevators can be slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    33
    33
    16
    6
See reviews for
14
23
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed on our first night in Guatemala It is in the business district-large room,good breakfast buffet. not much character but fine for a couple of nights.water was only lukewarm but this is normal for Guatemala apparently

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed in this Best Western Stofella for one night on an OAT tour of Mayan Ruins. The hotel is located in the Zona Viva, a relatively safe tourist section of the city surrounded by many other upscale hotels and a good choice of restaurants within walking distance.

The lobby and rooms were nicely furnished and decorated. The beds were comfortable. The included buffet breakfast was good. I have no complaints about this hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on 20 Dec 2012 with OAT tour. Unfortunately , I had a retinal detachment and had to return on 26 Dec. The surgery was successful . My first room 319 had dirty carpet, and an intermittent urine smell which I finally figured out was only occurring when the AC was on. Also, construction was being done every day. I was in pain and nauseated, fairly normal, but had to put up with banging every day. When I felt well enough to ask for a room change, room 101 had clean wood floors and was quieter even though the window opened to the Taxi area.
I had assumed that I would be charged the same room rate as the 20 Dec stay. But no, I was informed by OAT on 8 Jan that I would receive only $5 off the top rate. Best Western must believe in gouging the sick. I tried to speak to the manager, Estuardo Pivaral on both 9&10 Jan. but he avoided a man to man meeting. I left the hotel on 10 Jan.
Other than the manager, my experience with the staff at the hotel was great. The staff was always very helpful to this very ill customer. The Guatemala people are very friendly and I enjoyed the visit until I went blind. The surgeon was great and my vision is slowly returning.
Robert Kenny MD

Room Tip: Inside room is quieter providing you are out of the hotel during the day when construction is on goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two night. Unfortunately we did not have water in the bathroom for a whole day... and according to the guy at the reception the water was supposed to be back just in the next 10 mins. Apart from that, the room was quite big, the bathroom large, and the breakfast very good.

The hotel is located in the hotel-district, so there are plenty of turist/foreigners restaurants/bars in walking distance.

We booked through expedia, and the taxes added into our bill were higher then expected (10% more).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed one night on tour. Had plenty of hot water and room was clean. Breakfasts were adequate. Service staff at hotel very cooperative. Location was good enough for our purposes.
Nice woodwork and pretty orchids for decorations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANCOUVER
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed at this place for three nights. Can't talk about the location too much but the inside of the building itself is kept clean. I agree it does need some updates. The water was shut off for one morning but they got it back on within a few hours. Breakfast was weak and service mediocre . I would not stay there again. Lots of restaurants and stores near by. Wifi and outdoor parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella

Address: 2 Avenida 12 28 Zona 10 | Zona Viva, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Stofella is located in the heart of the zone Viva. We are surrounded by exclusive stores, office buildings, residential areas and an abundance of restaurants and nightclubs. The Best Western Stofella has luxury rooms fully equipped with automatic locks, cable television, analog dial up dataports, electronic safes and hairdryers. The restaurant, China Grill, serves exquisite food or simply order delivery service from the numerous restaurants in the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stofella Hotel Guatemala City
Best Western Hotel Stofella
Best Western Guatemala City
Guatemala City Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.