We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel for business & leisure; excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Real InterContinental Guatemala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Real InterContinental Guatemala to your Saves list
Real InterContinental Guatemala
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Calle 2-51 Zona 10 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best hotel for business & leisure; excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

I don't know why this hotel is not the #1 or at least in the top 5 of the tripadvisor list.

When I was looking for a hotel to stay in Guatemala City I used, tripadvisor and 2 traveling books-guides reviews in my search...Frommer's has this hotel as its favorite, so I booked it.

I stayed for 4 nights, from Jan. 12 to Jan. 16, 2011.......The InterContinental web-site has great offers, I got the one of advance purchase none refundable.
My 1 king bed deluxe room was on the 15th floor, so I had access to the executive/club lounge w/ complementary breakfast every morning, coffee/tea all day and happy hour w/ wine, some drinks and hors d'oeuvres every night........in this same place there is always some one available ready to help you w/ any work you need (free internet too), also you can do your check-out.
My room was very confortable and for a hotel that is 10 yrs it doesn't look that old...very clean, modern, perfect.
This hotel is great for business travelers.....rooms w/ big desks, internet conection, nice siting area, panoramic view, very quite, big LCD tv....and the best exellents beds (watch-out Westin hotels).
I didn't take any photos of the rooms because they look the same as you can see them in the web-site page of the hotel.... last but not least meeting rooms big space.

For leisure travelers this hotel can't be better, located it in zona 10 the best area in the city......thanks to Cindy one of the two very profecionals concierge, whom gave me the info about the area, I went around and had a great time......4 nights is too long for a city that has its limitations, then is when you need a good concierge like Cindy. The hotel is walking distance from some shoping areas ....Fontabella its the near one ...very nice colonial style open mall; mostly restaurants and bars very vey nice ask Cindy if she has some discount or special vouchers for some of the restaurants.....The Oakland Mall its also walking distance but a little far..........this place is modern big time XXI century very nice!!! a must see. The last one Proceres, is the regular small shoping mall in the inexpensive level.
I have to say that the staff from...... front desk, security, restaurant (wait staff) bar, house keeping (they found my movil phone in side the safe that I forgot when I change rooms, the next day they called me and let me know they found it ) and the cocierge, Cindy and co-worker they were great........and thanks to them I enjoyed more my long stay in Guatemala City.
One advice for the managers and supervisors ......you are also part of customers service and in good hospitality industry the acknowledge of the guests is very important .....so a hello...good-morning...or....good-evening....it is a must

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time of writing this nice review of our hotel. It always for us very pleasant to receive such comments which help us to keep our high service standard.
Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City
Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    159
    48
    18
    14
See reviews for
66
56
31
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Guatemala City is growing and optimal place for business travelers. There are so many great places to see in Guatemala, but speaking specifically about the Intercontinental, it is an amazing hotel with:
-incredible service
-clean rooms
-awesome food choices
-inviting atmosphere
-easy money exchange process (ATM or front desk)
-great water pressure
-comfortable beds
-worth every penny!!!
-wifi is reasonable priced and is very fast
-right next to a mall (to pick up a Guatemala SIM card)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time of writing this pleasant comment regarding our hotel. Our satisfaction help us to stay motivated and keep our hight standard of service.
Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

I frequent this hotel at least monthly. It is a hit or miss experience but well, there isn't much choice in Guatemala.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Thank you for using our hotel frequently. Please let us know what would you like or desire in order to make your stay more pleasant in our city.
Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

For the price we booked our room for, we weren't expecting the quality of service or comfort we received. The rooms were grandiose, the bathrooms spacious and clean, and the staff were very helpful in assisting us. If most hotel concierge leveled the excellence of their staff, I'm certain there would not be another unhappy customer in the world. The beds enveloped my body and it was such an ambient atmosphere to relax in. There is no doubt in my mind that I would book with them if I ever return to Guatmela!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigapla
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

This hotel is what you would expect of a large chain, but the personalize dservice went above and beyond. The staff helped us find places we wanted to go , pick restauarnts, and get around the city. When our car battery died, the staff tried to jump our battery, then took us to a store to buy a new one and installed it. WIthout their help, during Semana Santa, we would have been stuck. THe rooms had wonderful linens and amenities and the breakfast was one of the best I have ever had in a hotel!! Kudos to this fantastic hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

Noisy! I was on a very busy business trip. Outside my room, people partied to the wee hours. Planes began taking off before dawn. The security is excellent. The restaurants are good. The shower is lukewarm. But worse, after two nights in Guatemala City's expensive InterContinental, I was exhausted. I told a waitress my room number and she rolled her eyes. That's a noisy room, she said. The rooms over the pool are very quiet, she said. I'm going back to my old haunt, the Camino Real.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

Pool too small for swimming laps--only 16 m.

Front desk at check-out made 3 separate mistakes that would've cost me $75 if i had not checked EACH item!

Restaurant will wake you up with a knock on the door to sign their room authorization forms!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
3.2 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#1 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Westin Camino Real
Westin Camino Real
#21 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Inmaculada Hotel
La Inmaculada Hotel
#2 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
#14 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Guatemala

Address: 14 Calle 2-51 Zona 10 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located at the heart of the entertainment and corporate district, at the epicenter of Guatemala's dynamic "Zona Viva". Just a few steps away from the hotel you will find the city's best restaurants, boutiques & nightlife. The Real InterContinental Guatemala offers a culinary experience with an array of gastronomic options with a bar and four restaurants that will indulge your senses. The Market, our new casual restaurant, features a show kitchen where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients and build your own dishes such as salads, pastas, burgers, sandwiches and more. Picasso Stone Flame Oven serves pizzas as well as Mediterranean dishes with lively flavors. Tanoshii Sushi Bar offers genuine Japanese cuisine in a contemporary intimate atmosphere. Saint Honore Patisserie is renowned for some of the city's finest pastries. Our new Maya Lounge is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy live music and tailor-made cocktails. Guests can relax in our renovated spa or exercise at our updated fitness center in its new location overlooking the heated pool and views of the city. Our 239 rooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler; with the fastest internet connection (100MB), soundproof windows, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock with iPod connection, wireless telephone and more. Real InterContinental Guatemala is just 2.5 Miles away from La Aurora International Airport and the Spanish colonial town of Antigua Guatemala is 25 miles away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG and Orbitz so you can book your Real InterContinental Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real InterContinental Guatemala Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real InterContinental Guatemala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.