We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preferred Excecutive Hotel in Guatemala” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Real InterContinental Guatemala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Real InterContinental Guatemala to your Saves list
Real InterContinental Guatemala
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Calle 2-51 Zona 10 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Preferred Excecutive Hotel in Guatemala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

For business purposes, this hotel is ready to cover all of your needs.
Well located, it has the standard commodities that business travelers come to expect.
My stay was pleasant and I will book again on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Appreciated Mr. Christian R, on behalf of the staff of Real InterContinental Guatemala Hotel, you have posted invaluable comments of our prefered location in Guatemala City. Your comments are an excellent motivating words.
Mr. Christina R., I appreciate your comments and I am at your disposition,


Best Regards,
William Rodas
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    138
    39
    13
    13
See reviews for
48
47
27
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at Real Inter-Continental mid October 2013. Hotel is very nice, typical InterContinental; modern, clean, friendly. My room was upgraded since I am an IHG Ambassador which provided me with complimentary fruit and additional bottles of water in my room. View was of the pool which was not very exciting, but from what I was told all the views were mediocre.

Hotel staff were exceptional! Most staff were very informative, polite and friendly. Specifically Ruth at the concierge desk and Omar who is part of the Banquet services.

Breakfast at the Picasso was okay, typical hotel feast, but was good.

Tours - Martin Tours located in the hotel was great. I would HIGHLY recommend Wilmer for a tour to Antigua. His English is great and he is very knowledgeable. Made for an unforgettable trip.

Overall, Real InterContinental was a great hotel and I would stay here if given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Request the hotel's taxi, rate is US$8.00 from airport to hotel but you need to reserve prior to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Mr. KMALS thank you very much for you great comments recently posted on TripAdvisor they encourage us to give always an even more and better service. Our friendly and well trained staff will feel motivated when they read your motivating words. It is nice to read that we did good in the way we treat you as an Ambassador Member.
Thank you again Mr. KMALS, all of our staff and their best attitude will be at your disposition if you honor us with your visit in a near future.

Best regards

William Rodas
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My first trip to Guatemala and I was both impressed and intrigued. The hotel is right in the zona 10 area which according to my business partners in the country is very very safe. We walked around at night and felt very secure and safe even after 10 PM.
There are plenty of very good restaurants that are walking distance, plenty of shops (a bit high priced but you can bargin for sure) and interesting sites.
Our room was nicely appointed, very clean and even had great American TV channels as we wanted to see baseball and football. The only thing that was sub standard was the whole shower deal. low water pressure and the drain was horrible.
Staff was very helpful and offered many suggestions on where to eat and great can't miss sights to see.
I was there for work but my friend who went with me was able to enjoy the pool which was very nice and the workout room while small was in good shape and had all the basics.
I did not get to try any of the restaurants in this location but they looked nice. So overall I would say it was a very good choice and super cheap for this level of hotel. We paid $170 per night for a beautiful King with free wifi (signal was a bit weak in some places but not bad).
At the end of the day I would chose this place again without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as you can see the city and views of the mountains that are all around. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Mr. RFAD thank you very much for your motivating comments recently posted on TripdAdvisor, about our excellent location, surrounding areas and other excellent services and facilities. Your comments make us feel proud.
Regarding the water pressure in our room shower, I gladly inform you we are working very hard in the replacement of our plumbing system. We are also in a constant checking of our drainage system in order to guarantee you to have very relaxing shower moments.

We will feel very proud during your next visit to serve you with the highest level of service.

Best regards from Hotel Real Intercontinental Guatemala

William Rodas
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The service was good. Small issues with the room were dealt with efficiently and well. Spacious. We had a multi-day meeting there and the team did a fine job with set up and all of our requests. The food is good as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear kiwi400, It is a real pleasure for all the staff to receive your recent comments, they encourage us to serve even better, we are glad that we met your expectations during the days of your meetings. We also feel satisfied of your food experience, this will motivate our kitchen staff.

We will be honored if you visit us again in a near future, we will treat you with the highest quality of service.
Anything you need, I will be glad to assist you.

Best regards,


William Rodas
Quality Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very friendly staff, great location, with very good options to eat in house. Across the street you'll find a couple of clubs for a drink after work, with customers or leisure. The hotel also offers in room massages for a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: The 15th floor is where the executive lounge is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Mr. LATAM_TIPS , Thank you very much for your recent comments, they motivate us to work even harder to get a higher level of service. Our privileged location and excellent service of our staff will wait for you.

Will be an honor to receive you in your next visit to our hotel Guatemala City.

Best Regards,

William Rodas
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Perfect for couples or business travel. This chic hotel has great rooms in a very safe and convenient area in Guatemala City. Lots of nice local eateries are within walking distance. The concierge is extremely helpful and able to assist English speaks with ease. The lounge features live music and great Guatemalan beers and libations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Ginger G, thank you very much for your recent comments, we appreciate those, they encourage us to improve even more our facilities and service quality. Thank you for staying with us, for our multiligual staff will be a privilege to assist you again in your next visit to our Hotel Real InterContinental Guatemala.

Best regards,

William Rodas
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night in July, 2013. The hotel is located in the hotel zone of Guatemala city - it is relatively safe to walk around as there are several hotels located in the same area. There are other restaurants in the area that are pretty decent as well.
The hotel as seen better days in the past - the carpets are worn and everything looks dated. My room was okay but could be better. Check-in was not bad but being a Sunday, there were several groups either staying or visiting the hotel - the lobby was crowded with screaming kids almost everywhere. There is no separate line for IHG member to check in. The lifts require a card to activate going to a room - the room was very dark and dingy. The bathroom was small and the décor is dated. The carpet in the room was worn and there was a musty smell in the room. Breakfast was not included.
The staff is not very helpful - when I asked for information about touring Guatemala city I was rudely given a travel agency number (and was charged for calling them). I was told that I could use the business center as I was a Gold member - however the girl who was there was extremely unhelpful. When I told her that I was offered free internet, she seemed not to believe that and only allowed me to use one of the computers when I insisted on doing so - when I tried to print my boarding pass and the printer required a password - she was busy talking to a friend on the phone and could not be bothered to help. I had to ask for her manager to come over - which he did - before I could print what I wanted. This poor service was repeated several times over. Check-out took about 15 minutes and there were lines at the front desk. I would think twice before staying at this hotel again

Room Tip: Noisy and crowded on weekends. Long time to check-in and check-out. No breakfast included
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Public Relations Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Mr. yrechnam, we really value all your comments, I apologize for all the inconveniences during your stay, since the first time you posted it in IHG webpage and now in TripAdvisor, we have taken serious actions both corrective and preventive in order to avoid future inconveniences to our guests and customers. Our personnel have been trained in service techniques and we have also established new procedures in order to give high quality service.
My apologies again for the inconveniences during your stay in our Real Intercontinental Guatemala.
I hope you stay soon again in our hotel, you will be surprised how we are improved our service quality.

Best regards,

William Rodas
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Real InterContinental Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Guatemala

Address: 14 Calle 2-51 Zona 10 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located at the heart of the entertainment and corporate district, at the epicenter of Guatemala's dynamic "Zona Viva". Just a few steps away from the hotel you will find the city's best restaurants, boutiques & nightlife. The Real InterContinental Guatemala offers a culinary experience with an array of gastronomic options with a bar and four restaurants that will indulge your senses. The Market, our new casual restaurant, features a show kitchen where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients and build your own dishes such as salads, pastas, burgers, sandwiches and more. Picasso Stone Flame Oven serves pizzas as well as Mediterranean dishes with lively flavors. Tanoshii Sushi Bar offers genuine Japanese cuisine in a contemporary intimate atmosphere. Saint Honore Patisserie is renowned for some of the city's finest pastries. Our new Maya Lounge is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy live music and tailor-made cocktails. Guests can relax in our renovated spa or exercise at our updated fitness center in its new location overlooking the heated pool and views of the city. Our 239 rooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler; with the fastest internet connection (30MB), soundproof windows, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock with iPod connection, wireless telephone and more. Real InterContinental Guatemala is just 2.5 Miles away from La Aurora International Airport and the Spanish colonial town of Antigua Guatemala is 25 miles away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Real InterContinental Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real InterContinental Guatemala Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real InterContinental Guatemala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.