We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Real InterContinental Guatemala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Real InterContinental Guatemala to your Saves list
Real InterContinental Guatemala
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Calle 2-51 Zona 10 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Very nice hotel, 3 resturants, all with great tasting food. Nice gym. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, good size and had all the necessary amenities. The only issue I had was that not always the staff understood my English.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Gerente at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest we really aprreciate your time and excellent comments about our property.
Concerning your recommendation about more people speking english, let me inform you that our Trainning Department programmed english lessons for the hotel staff starting in the next 15 days.
Hope to see you soon in a near future and thanks again for your suggestion.

Sincerely,

Evelyn Ordóñez
Room División Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    159
    48
    18
    14
See reviews for
67
56
31
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here for several days on a business trip recently. Overall I was impressed with the hotel, my room was very comfortable but on the smaller side. The bathroom was very decent with a powerful shower. I had good, uninterupted wifi and was able to do a decent amount of work, the girls in the business centre were very helpful when I needed some secretarial support. In terms of food there is a French restaurant which did a mean steak and had some pretty decent wines. There is a more casual italian restaurant that did some ok pizzas and burgers etc and finally a japanese restaurant which was also pretty good. A comfortable coffee/cake shop was also available for between-meal snackage. Breakfast was also good and there were some local specialties to try out as well which I like as I get bored of eating the same fruit/bacon/danish mix that you find everywhere. I didnt visit the gym but the outdoor pool was quite nice and large enough to do some laps, it was also nicely heated which was ideal as it was quite chilly when I visited. The only downside to the pool is that it is overlooked and sandwiched between the hotel and an office building so its not very private but of course if you are an exhibitioninst then thats probably ideal. In terms of location it is pretty well placed with plenty of restaurants and bars nearby as well as most of the big international hotel chains and all are really close to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Gerente at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you in advance for your comments about your recent stay in our Hotel in Guatelama city.
We really apreciate your time and your point of view as a reference for other people, travellers around the word.

Very soon we going to star a hotel remodelation, we hoper you can give the opportunity to see you soon in a near future.

Sincerely,

Evelyn Ordóñez
Room División Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've stayed at several hotels in zona 10 of Guate city, and I always come back to the Intercon. The staff is remarkably courteous, the hotel common areas are comfortable, and the rooms are clean, modern, and well maintained. And who doesn't love a pillow menu!?!? Yes, you can pick the type of pillow you want to sleep on based on how you lay down. Quirky, but just one more "extra" that makes you feel like a VIP. The breakfast buffet is huge and delicious, including interesting tropical fruits (I've been a regular traveler to central america for the past decade, and even I encountered 2 new fruits on the buffet this trip!). Room service is quick and complete (they always bring a full array of utensils, condiments, and the presentation is always beautiful), I forgot to ask for salad dressing with my room service salad, so i called back and they brought it to me in less than 5 minutes. wifi is fast and reliable, beds are supremely comfortable, pool is great, restaurant options are delicious and varied, if a bit expensive (but nothing out of the ordinary for an upscale business hotel). I can't really think of anything else I'd want out of a business hotel- this place is spot on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Gerente at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Greetings from Real InterContinental Guatemala!

We want to thank you for the excellent comments received to the TripAdvisor page.

The hotel operation really appreciate your time and the positive experience shared with us.

We hope to see you in a near future in this hotel, your home away home.!!!

Sincerely,

Evelyn Ordóñez
Room División Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been to this Intercontinental before, and to other InterContinental’s all over South America. I have meet many people that work in the hotels over the years and even when they get transferred from different cities they remember me and go the extra mile to ensure that I have the best experience.
As a guest I felt pampered and very welcome.
Evelyn Ordonez, the Room Division Director is a Customer Service extraordinaire, go to her and she will do her best to make your stay a Five Stars stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Gerente at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado señor D´Leo:

Muchas Gracias por sus excelentes comentarios del servicio. Apreciamos mucho el tiempo que tomo en hacernos llegar su retroalimentación del servicio.

Sabemos que usted ha sido nuestro huésped consentido por muchos años y valoramos su opinión.

Esperamos verlo de nuevo en nuestro hotel y que pueda seguir disfrutando del servicio que le ofrece Real InterContinental Guatemala.

Sinceramente,

Evelyn Ordóñez
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've been coming here for seven years and always felt welcomed and at home due to the great staff. The rooms are large, well-apointed and clean. There are four restaurants in the hotel: Cafe de la Paix (international), Tanoshii (Japonese), Saint Honore (French cafe), and the newest Picasso (mediterranean). All have very good food, but Picasso was a real treat. International prices. Located in the heart of the hotal/restaurant/bar, safe, zone in Guatemala City.

Room Tip: There is an Executive Floor upgrade that includes breakfast and evening cocktails and snacks for $25...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Gerente at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Greetings from Real InterContinental Guatemala.
We really appreciate your comments about your recent stay in our property and your excellent opinion about our rooms and our new oulets.

New changes are coming very soon in our rooms and Foos & Beverage too.
Thank you so much for your time. Will be a pleasure to assit you if you comes back to Guatemala in a near future.

Sincerely,

Evelyn Ordoñez
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If your in Guatemala on business and you cognizant of the current economy and what to keep your travel expense down steer clear of their Business Center there is a perfectly decent Office Depot down street that offers most of the same services for a fraction of the cost minus the unnecessarily aggressive monitors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Gerente at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Real InterContinental Guatemala!

We appreciate your comments about your recent stay in our hotel. Your feedback is very important for us.

The Business Center usually has a personalized service and is opern 24 hours a day for your convenience but thank you again for the suggestions about prices.

Sincerely,

Evelyn Ordóñez
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
129 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Only stayed here for one night. It is close to the airport less than 10 minutes by taxi. We tried the restaurant and i was good. However in the eveing a waiter knocked at our door and wanted me to pay him cach for the hotel dinner. I did not open the door but called front desk and they quickly sent someone to remove him from my door. I did not expect things like this to happend at an Intercontinental hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn O, Gerente at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Real InterContinental Guatemala!
We appreciate your comments about your recent stay in our property and your satisfaction concerning the service received.

Your comments about hotel location are very important for other traveler people.

Hope to heart from you again in a near future.
Sincerely,

Evelyn Ordóñez
Room Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
3.2 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#1 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Westin Camino Real
Westin Camino Real
#21 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Inmaculada Hotel
La Inmaculada Hotel
#2 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
#13 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real InterContinental Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Guatemala

Address: 14 Calle 2-51 Zona 10 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located at the heart of the entertainment and corporate district, at the epicenter of Guatemala's dynamic "Zona Viva". Just a few steps away from the hotel you will find the city's best restaurants, boutiques & nightlife. The Real InterContinental Guatemala offers a culinary experience with an array of gastronomic options with a bar and four restaurants that will indulge your senses. The Market, our new casual restaurant, features a show kitchen where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients and build your own dishes such as salads, pastas, burgers, sandwiches and more. Picasso Stone Flame Oven serves pizzas as well as Mediterranean dishes with lively flavors. Tanoshii Sushi Bar offers genuine Japanese cuisine in a contemporary intimate atmosphere. Saint Honore Patisserie is renowned for some of the city's finest pastries. Our new Maya Lounge is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy live music and tailor-made cocktails. Guests can relax in our renovated spa or exercise at our updated fitness center in its new location overlooking the heated pool and views of the city. Our 239 rooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler; with the fastest internet connection (100MB), soundproof windows, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock with iPod connection, wireless telephone and more. Real InterContinental Guatemala is just 2.5 Miles away from La Aurora International Airport and the Spanish colonial town of Antigua Guatemala is 25 miles away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Real InterContinental Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real InterContinental Guatemala Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real InterContinental Guatemala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.