We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Real InterContinental Guatemala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Real InterContinental Guatemala to your Saves list
Real InterContinental Guatemala
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Calle 2-51 Zona 10 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Tubingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

It was my first time in this Hotel and I felt very well. Rooms are clean and beds are excellent. Great braekfast, very friendly staff, excellent gym with new machines.

The Hotel feels rather safe in an unsafe city.

Internet use was charged extra and extremly high. In these days that is a "no go" in my eyes.

Prices are rahter high compared to the "street prices", however remember it is a 5 star Hotel.

I will choose this hotel again next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

We know that most of the hotel are giving away the internet, but we did invest over USD 50'000 in order to have a perfect wireless internet with a 20MB speed in the hotel, reason why we are charging it. We have by the way the highest speed within the city .

Looking forward to welcome you again in Guatemala

Kind regards

Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    129
    39
    12
    13
See reviews for
41
42
24
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MD
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed at the Real InterContinental Guatemala City for business. The staff was very accomidating, and cudos to the concierge (Aldo). They were very helpful in telling us what places to visit during our free time. They were also very helpful in keeping us abreast of the safety issues around the area. Overall, the hotel is a great place to stay in Guatemala City for business travel. Cudos to the staff!

Room Tip: Higher floors afford better views of the city from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.
.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board

Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City

Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I don't often stay at the Intercontinental, but this reminded what a good chain these are.

The front desk reception was efficient and the check out process equally so. Although I really only got to sleep there a couple of hours, the only negative was the "shower curtains" which must be the worst I have ever seen....made from a very gaudy maroon floral fabric.

The service and the restaurant menu was appealing enough to get me back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.
I took note regarding our shower curtains and will look the way to change theme gradually.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as you gave us some good comments regarding our Front desk and restaurant services.

Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City

Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

At the last minute, the client changed my hotel from the Westin, to the Intercontinental. I was expecting the usual quality of an Intercontinental Hotel... it was not here. The staff were lovely and gracious, but things seemed run down, and not completely coordinated. The breakfast buffet was good, and the sushi restaurant in the hotel is worth checking out

I revisited Antigua, Guatemala and would HIGHLY recommend a trip to this area. It is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.
It is always very usefull for me to receive some constructives crtics in order to improve our service., We will are starting a process of renovation as we are aware that our hotel need some improvement.
Thank you for your compliment regarding our Buffet Brekfast and our Japanese Restaurant. Should you comme after September, we will have 2 addcional point of sales which will be the Saint Honore (a modern coffee shop) and the Picasso (a healthly and trendy restaurant)

Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City
Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Intercontinental for the past 8 years. There is no better hotel to stay. All of the staff, from the General Manager to the bellboy go out of their way to make you feel special and at home. Is always a memorable experience that repeats for me every stay. I highly recommend the Real Intercontinental for your stay in this beautiful country.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrusguate, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Your compliment are really a positive stroke for us and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board in order for them to know where our areas of opportunities. And thank you for the personal note regarding my person! I am always trying to meet the majority of our guests.
Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City

Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I believe this hotel will please from the simplest to the most demanding guests. Just minutes away from fine sit-down and fast food restaurants and malls. Rooms are quiet and comfortable. There is a Sushi Bar near the lobby and the main restaurant prepares a number of buffets daily. Breakfast here is the best I’ve had thus far. The hotel tends to be quite busy. Always some sort of sweet 16 or I dunno, weddings going on. Near the international airport and hotel shuttle leaves every 30 minutes or so. The A/C unit makes no noise at all.... heaven!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.
It is always very usefull for me to receive some constructives crtics in order to improve our service.,
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board in order for them to know where our areas of opportunities.
It is through that we have the chance of beeing in the Zona Viva, the entertainement and business heart of the city.
Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City
Kind regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed there 2 nights and wished for more...
Large and well equipped rooms, very nice and diversified breakfast, near a big shopping mall.
A few minutes ride to various businesses.

Service was very good.

Room Tip: High floor rooms will keep you away from the street hustle
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Real InterContinental Guatemala, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Sir
Thank you for taking the time of writing this nice review of our hotel.
It always for us very pleasant to receive such comments which help us to keep our high service standard,
Looking forward of welcoming again in Guatemala City
Best regards
Pierre Berthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Real InterContinental Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Guatemala

Address: 14 Calle 2-51 Zona 10 | Guatemala City, Central America, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#1 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located at the heart of the entertainment and corporate district, at the epicenter of Guatemala's dynamic "Zona Viva". Just a few steps away from the hotel you will find the city's best restaurants, boutiques & nightlife. The Real InterContinental Guatemala offers a culinary experience with an array of gastronomic options with a bar and four restaurants that will indulge your senses. The Market, our new casual restaurant, features a show kitchen where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients and build your own dishes such as salads, pastas, burgers, sandwiches and more. Picasso Stone Flame Oven serves pizzas as well as Mediterranean dishes with lively flavors. Tanoshii Sushi Bar offers genuine Japanese cuisine in a contemporary intimate atmosphere. Saint Honore Patisserie is renowned for some of the city's finest pastries. Our new Maya Lounge is the perfect place to unwind, enjoy live music and tailor-made cocktails. Guests can relax in our renovated spa or exercise at our updated fitness center in its new location overlooking the heated pool and views of the city. Our 239 rooms are designed to fulfill the needs of today's global traveler; with the fastest internet connection (30MB), soundproof windows, bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, LCD TVs, alarm clock with iPod connection, wireless telephone and more. Real InterContinental Guatemala is just 2.5 Miles away from La Aurora International Airport and the Spanish colonial town of Antigua Guatemala is 25 miles away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Real InterContinental Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real Intercontinental Guatemala City
Real InterContinental Guatemala Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real InterContinental Guatemala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.