We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Reforma 4-22 Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

You can't beat the value of this place. Super convenient location, nice free airport shuttle, friendly staff, clean rooms, awesome wifi in the room, and a decent breakfast included. We had an unexpected layover in Guatemala City, and we were just so grateful to find this deal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    27
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
11
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is the first time I've stayed at any HoJo's and I had a very pleasant experience. They staff were great and bent over backwards for me. The rooms were stylish and comfortable, the breakfast pleasant, if not generous. I stayed twice. The first room I had was nicer, but was smaller to the point of being a bit cramped. I missed having space in the bathroom to put my toiletries, for example. The first room was also a bit noisier as it was facing the busy Avenida Reforma. The second room was much more spacious and quiet, but lacked any serious windows, so I highly recommend you let them know your preferences when you check in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed twice at this hotel, we arrived late at night and the shuttle was there to meet us the hotel is not far from the airport. We had a nice room clean and comfortable with very good Internet access. The breakfast was very good you get a full breakfast included in the very reasonable price. The restaurant is very nice the staff were always attentive . We had dinner there on two nights, the only draw back is that it does not have a drink license . We were able to walk to the museum, the avenue Reforma has a walk way in the center. The staff remembered us when we returned and said welcome back. There is a bank very near, to change money and an ATM .would recommend this hotel, to visitors to Guatemala city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Hotel arranged pick up from Guate airport. Hotel in the centre of town easy walking distance from museums. large very comfortable room with huge bathroom and endless hot water. All staff at hotel very freindly and helpfull. Price included an incredibly good breakfast. Check hotel macaws on second floor terrace. Overall very highly recommended at fantastic price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have stayed at HG's in the USA, Mexico and now Guatemala, and this is by far my favorite property. I choose to stay here for it's proximity to the Mexican Embassy, which I was visiting to prepare my paperwork for my work visa. It was absolutely gorgeous! The value for the price was excellent. It was in a safe area, and the receptionist, Caesar, was so helpful. At the moment of my appointment in the embassy it began to downpour and he lent me his personal umbrella so I could get there on time. Very much appreciated!!! He also arranged for a wake up call for me, and a shuttle to the bus station since I was traveling on Galgos, not by airplane. The morning staff was equally friendly, and the breakfast was excellent. It was a limited cooked to order menu, but much better than a continental. I had eggs, beans, tortillas and orange juice.
The only 2 bad points about this hotel are the noise, since I was in a room that faces the street, and there is no bar. The noise didn't bother me as a single person, I can sleep through anything, but I can see how it would be a problem for families with children. And a bar, well that is just standard in a hotel....
Overall, great stay, and I will stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the street if you want a room that is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here our first night in Guatemala City. The shuttle driver was waiting at the airport and got us to the hotel very quickly! The room was nice with good shower pressure and in room wifi and tv. The staff were helpful and friendly. Good experience for the price :) We left too early to get the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was staying at the Holiday Inn and due to some scheduling errors they bumped me out and I had to find another place to lay my head. Most every hotel was booked for some convention, but Cesar over at the Howard Johnson hooked it up. He spoke great English and humored me with my high school spanish. I was so excited about finding a place to stay that was more like a family owned operation. The staff was extremely friendly and somehow could understand my broken spanish.

Highlights:
Beautiful tile everywhere
Wifi
friendly staff, called me by name (not the bad ones most people that know me use)
Good breakfast
Huge room
Airport shuttle
Small gym

Lowlights:

The couches in the room were a little worn out
Beds firm/hard
no desk

I'm a fan of the HoJo!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.8 mi away
Santander Plaza Hotel
Santander Plaza Hotel
#17 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
#26 of 48 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Vieja
Hotel Ciudad Vieja
#15 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#9 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suites Reforma Apart Hotel
Suites Reforma Apart Hotel
#29 of 48 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#4 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City

Address: Ave Reforma 4-22 Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Howard Johnson Guatemala City
Guatemala City Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.