We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, WiFi, Shuttle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Reforma 4-22 Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3, Save 20%
Ranked #7 of 46 hotels in Guatemala City
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Service, WiFi, Shuttle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here our first night in Guatemala City. The shuttle driver was waiting at the airport and got us to the hotel very quickly! The room was nice with good shower pressure and in room wifi and tv. The staff were helpful and friendly. Good experience for the price :) We left too early to get the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
9
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was staying at the Holiday Inn and due to some scheduling errors they bumped me out and I had to find another place to lay my head. Most every hotel was booked for some convention, but Cesar over at the Howard Johnson hooked it up. He spoke great English and humored me with my high school spanish. I was so excited about finding a place to stay that was more like a family owned operation. The staff was extremely friendly and somehow could understand my broken spanish.

Highlights:
Beautiful tile everywhere
Wifi
friendly staff, called me by name (not the bad ones most people that know me use)
Good breakfast
Huge room
Airport shuttle
Small gym

Lowlights:

The couches in the room were a little worn out
Beds firm/hard
no desk

I'm a fan of the HoJo!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watauga
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Its a little difficult to find if arriving by car as the hotel rooms are above a small shopping center and the reception area is only one of the 'store-fronts'. However, the rooms are nicely appointed and the 'free breakfast' was delicious and professionally served. The airport shuttle service for our friends who were departing back to the States was timely and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I flew into Guatemala City apprehensively, at the start of my motorcycle trip from Guatemala to Argentina. To my pleasant surprise I was met at the airport by the Howard Johnson driver with my name on a card.which I hadn't even requested. He took me to this wonderfull hotel, conveniently located for the airport and also for the city itself. There followed a very relaxed stay in a good standard hotel, beautifully furnished and with friendly, efficient and helpfull staff. Breakfast was a delight in their busy restaurant with plenty of local business people also dining, which speaks for itself. This is a great little hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

First of I would like to thank Ceasar Rojas (manger) he personally picked my wife and I from airport (they provide a shuttle service to and from at no extra cost) he was very pleasant to talk to, and cominucated very well in English! Once arrived at the hotel we couldn't belive how beautiful it is definitely a 5 star experience!!
Every morning we were given purified water bottles (complementary), and a excellent breakfast; Steven one of the waiters that took care of us every morning was very helpful and friendly along side the others that work in the resturant.
Over all I have to say this HoJo is by far the best experience I have had!! Rooms are always clean, staff bends over backwards to make your stay the best!
THANKS TO ALL!!!
The Espana Family

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

As our flight into Guatemala arrived at 10:00 p.m., we just needed a simple and close hotel to stay at before our 6:00 a.m. flight to Flores the following morning. We also wanted something reliable. The hotel also provided complimentary transportation to and from the airport, which was a big plus for us.

The room was small, but clean and quaint. The front desk was helpful (no problem with the wakeup call) and we were given a complimentary bottle of bottle of water (the only hotel during our entire trip that did that), which we used to brush our teeth and for some drinking. We could have paid less at another hotel. but we wanted to start our trip on the right foot and this hotel gave us that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here on two occasions on our recent trip to Guatemala because it is only 10 minutes from the airport. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The attached restaurant was excellent. On first arrival we were suprised by finding armed security guards (shotguns) stationed at the entrance but this common place throught the city. Staff were very accommodating and professional.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City

Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City Hotel
Howard Johnson Guatemala City
Guatemala City Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City
Address: Ave Reforma 4-22 Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.