We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Guatemala city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ciudad Vieja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ciudad Vieja to your Saves list
Hotel Ciudad Vieja
Calle 8 3 - 67 Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An oasis in Guatemala city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel in February 2014 whilst on business. I loved the gardens surrounding this colonial style house. The tiles on the floor and the decoration overall was tasteful and nothing seemed out of place. My favourite place was sipping a coffee in the courtyard looking at the orchids hanging from the ceiling and the hummingbirds . The gardens were well kept and made one feel somewhere else but the city. The rooms - I stayed in 2 different ones- one on the ground floor and the other on the top floor. I loved them both, but the top floor exceeded my expectations with its pyramid shaped ceiling, which gave it lots of light. The ground floor room was darker but had two lamps and a window which gave it lots of charm. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were very clean. As for the food its quite good though a bit pricey, the breakfast which is included is acceptable, but you won't find here a selection of cereal, juices or cheese. The only minus I had with this hotel was how promptly they ask for a deposit and payment with military precision and the lack of flexibility with the check in. I got there at 10am and had to insist to get a room which I got 2 hours later. Otherwise the staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms in the top floor have more light than the ground floor ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
7
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel just passing through the city, the place is close to the airport. The rooms are spacious and decoration is simple. Beds are very comfortable and we had a god night sleep even though we had a room facing the street, that isn't all that busy so noise was not a problem at all.
Breakfast was delicious, there is a patio with hanging flowers and you can have your meal at the same time as a couple of hummingbirds.
Staff is very cordial and friendly and they really spoiled us.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, pick rooms in the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Dulce Guatemala
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Everything about this hotel, including the courteous staff and management, will make you feel safe and at home. It is very well suited for persons doing business in the City or for visiting the US Embassy, as it is right in that neighborhood, in Zone 10.

Our dinner was superb, bordering on gourmet. Much better than in more expensive hotels or restaurants. This was a surprising comfort, a big help as I did not really feel like going back out to an impersonal restaurant. The waiter suggested a fabulous dessert which we of course ordered. You cannot go wrong choosing this hotel as your place to stay in Guatemala City. Breakfast is included.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I am sitting in the courtyard of Hotel Ciudad Vieja surrounded by flowers of every color and shape, luxurious ferns and trees grow from between the buildings. Hummingbirds have been darting in and around the room all morning. The staff is superb and go above and beyond to make sure the clientele is happy. My husband just bought me roses from a street vendor this morning and when we returned from our walk, the staff whisked the roses away and returned them, beautifully arranged, in a vase just minutes later. The room is simple and very clean with no wasted space. Skylight in the bathroom is a wonderful touch! The food is very good and the wait staff is most courteous and kind. My visit to Guatemala City was for medical reasons and this hotel is within walking distance to Centro Medico and the streets are very safe. The hotel is very security conscious and gracious in explaining how to get to different places. They do have some staff who speak English well-which is a blessing considering my very bad Spanish skills! I would, without hesitation, recommend this hotel to anyone for any reason the visit to Guatemala City. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The plain stucco wall fronting this property doesn't give any hint of the beautiful grounds inside, which are a peaceful refuge from the big city. We had a warm welcome and efficient check in. Very friendly and courteous staff. The rooms are simple, very clean. I requested a hair dryer, it was delivered in minutes. I left a tip for the maid, she didn't touch it because she said she wasn't sure it was for her. Absolute honesty and trustworthiness! They give a fair rate on exchanging USD, although in modest amounts at a time. The restaurant serves,a great breakfast and other meals were also very good. You can hear planes passing overhead all night long. But it's like that everywhere in Guatemala City. I recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was my third time to stay at the Ciudad Vieja in ten months. Each time has been a very good experience. I appreciate the friendly welcome and comfortable surroundings. Breakfast was good, as usual. This time we tried "take away" from another restaurant for supper, since our idea of that meal is different from the Guatemalans' usual fare.

Room Tip: The rooms that do not border the street are quieter, although having stayed on the street side once...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was provided with this property as a resting place for like twelve hours before taking a flight.

Kind of old place and nice patio with trees and flowers.

Rooms are dark, and you can hear all around. Doesn't look so safe outside, drinks are ok, no variety, no pool, no gym, no spa. Only few papers, no ability to call overseas from the room.

Just to get a shower and couple hours rest is ok, that's about.

Room Tip: Get upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ciudad Vieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciudad Vieja

Address: Calle 8 3 - 67 Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ciudad Vieja, its a nice hotel, near from the comercial area in Zone 10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ciudad Vieja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ciudad Vieja Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ciudad Vieja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.