We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resting place for couple hours.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ciudad Vieja

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ciudad Vieja to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ciudad Vieja
Calle 8 3 - 67 Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
New York, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good resting place for couple hours.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was provided with this property as a resting place for like twelve hours before taking a flight.

Kind of old place and nice patio with trees and flowers.

Rooms are dark, and you can hear all around. Doesn't look so safe outside, drinks are ok, no variety, no pool, no gym, no spa. Only few papers, no ability to call overseas from the room.

Just to get a shower and couple hours rest is ok, that's about.

Room Tip: Get upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
7
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The owener is a Swiss, and you can tell he wants to provide European standards to travellers in Guatemala City. The hotel is very nice, quiet, small rooms perhaps a bit too dark, but well furnished. No swimming pool. The area is safe, but I would not venture outside on your own after dark.
Food is very good, but perhaps not abundant. Try the guacamole, it is heavenly and by far the best I have had in Guatemala. They should offer more than 2 options for breakfast. If your stay is above 4 days, you will grow tired.
Service is excellent, especially when compared to your average hotel in the country (maybe I was unlucky, but I did not have good experiences). The only odd thing was a woman, possibly one of the owners, who was a bit stressed one morning, and she criticised the waiter in a rude manner just behind the door, where everybody could hear. If you add on top of that that the waiter did not make any mistake and even if, it would have been minor (I know for sure, because it had to do with my table) it was a bit unpleasant and unnecessary. Anyway, rest assured that if they say they will provide you with a service (taxi, alarm, fresh water in the room, etc.) they will, and with a smile. I would recommend it for anyone on a business trip who spends no more than breakfast and dinner in the hotel, because room are cozy, beds comfy and lights warm. But do not bring children, and do not expect any entertainment. The inner patio is perfect for working or chatting in relax.

Room Tip: on the first floor, they may be lighter. those on the ground floor are very dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just one night was enough...
Having problems with my reservation at another Hotel, the organizers of the Icaro Film Festival took me to this Hotel with a nice interior patio, but the most depressing rooms I;ve ever seen in my life. The beds smelled like a baby had just vomited on them. The food was bad and service at the restaurant amateurish and slow.
People tried to be nice buy it was not enough...! Stay away!

Room Tip: ...look for some other place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had reservations for 1 night & arrived from elsewhere in Guatemala before check-in time. We had already made arrangements with the hotel to store our luggage while we went sightseeing until check-in time. We have done this numerous times in Mexico. It's not an unusual proceedure. On initial arrival we were ready to go to a museum & our luggage was sitting out in the lobby area. We hesitated & asked where it would be kept, not wanting to leave while it was out in a public area. The bellman was approaching as the desk clerk indicated that he (bellman) would take care of it & added with a cheerful smile, "Don't worry." We left & a few hours later returned to officially check into our room. There was a different bellman. A desk clerk indicated to him that we would be needing to be shown to our room. There was a few minutes delay as we completed the check-in process. But the bellman had quickly turned & gone out the front door. When he didn't return, the clerk had to call for him & wasn't happy to have to. Bellman returned & was instructed to take us & our bags to our room. The bags were sitting just outside the bag room waiting. Although he said OK, he turned & rushed out of the lobby & into a patio. I followed quickly but the patio was empty. After waiting a while I went back to the desk to say that he had dissapeared. The clerk was clearly discusted & had to leave the front desk & walk all the way to the patio asking where was the bellman. He suddenly appeared & I tried to refuse his help. He refused repeatedly to let me pull my own suitcase. No matter 'cause he certainly wasn't going to get tipped. The room was OK, but the bathroom had a sewer & musty odor. Well, that was OK for 1 night. Now we started to unpack. An iPad had been stowed in a large backpack but it was not there. If we had left it at our friend's house where we had been staying, she would have contacted us. Her friend drove us to G. City & no one was at the back of the van long enough to take anything or walk away with an iPad undisclosed. Because we had a bag stolen from the back of a van many years ago in Mexico, I kept my eye on all activity as we dropped off other passengers. The iPad was stolen at the hotel probably by an employee. Since the bellman acted so strangely, we think it may have been him, but no matter, the iPad was gone. All that was bad enough, but then the onduty manager lied to us saying they looked at the security camera & no one had taken the iPad. Later another employee said they would run the camera photos during the night to see what they might find. Later they turned around & said they had just looked at the security photos & no one was seen. We asked where the camera was. Answer: in the office. Q: then how could it see into the luggage closet? A: (unintelligible & then repeat that the camera didn't show anyone in the photos.) We asked to see the camera in the closet, but only received mumbles about how the camera saw nothing. Actually, the hotel contacted us more times, but this review is too long already. They insisted that we lost the iPad somewhere else, not at their hotel. Even before discovering the theft, we weren't particularly impressed with this hotel. Later in the dinning room (I wouldn't leave our belongings long enough to go out to eat & could see our room from our table) the service was strange - as if it was their first restaurant job & they weren't sure of the protocol. I suspect there's a management problem at this hotel, possibly not hiring the caliber of employes that would be expected there. It used to get good reviews.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had stayed at the Hotel Ciudad Vieja ten years ago and loved it; this was our first opportunity to go back. And it was just lovely! The staff is very attentive, the rooms are well appointed and clean, the breakfast is great! The style of the hotel is colonial, built around a garden patio. The hotel is in a quiet area, a good walk from the Zona Viva. But, a rental car takes care of that issue. Meals can be taken either in the inside restaurant area or the patio restaurant area, your choice. We look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Many of the rooms are average sized; we happened to be in a corner room that had lots of extra space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My family and I stayed two nights at this hotel in July 2011. We reserved two adjacent rooms. Each room had two queen-size beds and a private bath. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was most accommodating and kind. We also ate several meals here in addition to the free breakfast. I was a bit disappointed in the breakfast, as most Guatemala breakfasts we have had have been small feasts. This one was very basic and not that well prepared. Even the smallest requests were additional cost - ie. refills on beverages, and additional toast. The hotel is located in "not the best of surroundings," but we felt safe and secure as long as we stayed inside the hotel grounds. The gardens of this hotel are magnificent, and made the stay very pleasurable.

Room Tip: Plan to use taxis for all transportation as the area of the hotel has had some crime in the past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

This is a very nice and clean place to stay. Even better it's quiet. The rooms are built around large trees that shade the courtyard. The breakfast meal is very good. The hotel staff is very accomodating for late check out. I have been to this hotel on 4 different occasions and have received excellent care each time. I plan on staying here every I come to the city. Estancia steakhouse next to the American Embassy is walking distance from the hotel. But would caution walking in the area after 9 pm as in most parts of Guatemala City.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ciudad Vieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciudad Vieja

Address: Calle 8 3 - 67 Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ciudad Vieja, its a nice hotel, near from the comercial area in Zone 10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ciudad Vieja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ciudad Vieja Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ciudad Vieja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.