We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel / Bad food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista Real Guatemala

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vista Real Guatemala to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Prolongacion Blvd. Los Proceres KM 9, Zona 15, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala (Formerly Quinta Real Guatemala)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 47 hotels in Guatemala City
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel / Bad food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed in October 2013 for a conference that I got invited to. The place is beautiful, surrounded by amazing nature, the building itself very nice. Rooms are beautiful, very comfortable beds. The place in general is very well maintained, staff super friendly.

However the restaurant is, in my opinion, bad for the prices. Plates are very expensive and the flavors in many times too salty, or overcooked. I only enjoyed the breakfast because they weren't actually cooked.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    41
    10
    10
    7
See reviews for
17
34
11
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights for a meeting which took place in the hotel. My room was on the 4th floor (business floor) facing the highway and I could hear some noise in the morning. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Also very clean and tidy. Breakfast was good. The staff was very welcoming and polite at all times. Only real problem for me (because I had a very short stay) was the hotel location. There is nothing to do in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EL PASO
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Beautiful grounds and vistas along first class service and food. Rooms may be the best I have ever stayed in







First class hotel, service and food and drink.
Beautiful rooms, hotel interior , pool and grounds with majestic vista of the city and the surrounding area volcanoes.
Every one spoke excellent English and were so helpful with recommendation of the area.
Rooms with bathrooms that had full glass and tile showers and whirlpool bath tubs.
Plenty of English speaking tv channels including channel 4 (CBS) Miami.
Can't wait to go back.
25 minutes from airport with traffic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaRealGuatemala, E-marketing at Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Good day to Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, your opinion is important.
We appreciate your time we hope to serve you in the future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We only spent one night at this hotel the night before our flight home. It is some distance from the main part of the city, which in my opinion, is a good thing. Be aware that you won’t be able to walk anywhere from the hotel.

The hotel is very nice and the room was comfortable. One weird thing is they didn’t take our credit card on check-in so we were unable to charge anything to our room. I told the waiter at lunch that we hadn’t registered our credit card with the front desk and he seemed to understand but had my husband sign the check anyway. Then when we started to leave, he ran after us and made us produce a credit card. That was a trifle embarrassing and shouldn’t have happened.

The hotel has a very nice gym which is great because there isn’t a lot else to do.

This hotel is probably one of the better options in Guatemala City.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaRealGuatemala, E-marketing at Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Good day to Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, your opinion is important.
We appreciate your time we hope to serve you in the future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip in March 2013.

The hotel is very beautiful, boasting great architecture and decorating. There's only 1 restaurant on the property, but it's pretty good. The bar is adequate, but I was the only customer they had the nights I was in town. I had a ground level room near the waterfall, which was wonderful. There is absolutely ZERO street/city noise in that area. The room is well appointed (as nice as one of the Ritz Carleton's) and extremely clean. This was the best sleep of my trip.

The location is a little off because it's located between major highways with no sidewalk, but this is Guatemala City..... You shouldn't be walking anyway, unless you have a death wish.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay at a room off the main hall. I was in the "pod", on the ground floor, near the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaRealGuatemala, E-marketing at Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Good day to Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, your opinion is important.
We appreciate your time we hope to serve you in the future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was my first time in Guatemala City. The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The room was spacious and very tastefully decorated. We slept well in the comfortable bed with firm mattress, soft linens, and warm duvet. The service was excellent in the restaurant and front desk--everyone was friendly and accommodating. The hotel drivers were excellent and were able to get us to where we needed to be even though we did not speak the language. The breakfasts were wonderful with lots of options including an omelet station. I have never had refried black beans with breakfast, but they were very good! Very nice stay! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We visited Guatemala in December 2012, we could not find our resort because we don't speak Spanish and there wasn't any clear signs of roads or highways. After few hours of driving around, we decided to go to a hotel to spend the night in order to resume our search the following day. We found this hotel, it looks very nice and safe, the staff speak English, the rooms are very well decorated and very clean, the hallway is lit with candles they have a water fall with a nice little pond full of colored fish. Their breakfast was so nice and the dining room is very elegant, their was a live pianist and a clown to entertain the kids. we loved this hotel and wished to spend the whole vacation there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vista Real Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Real Guatemala

Address: Prolongacion Blvd. Los Proceres KM 9, Zona 15, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala (Formerly Quinta Real Guatemala)
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Vista Real Guatemala 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Vista Real Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala City
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.