We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista Real Guatemala

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vista Real Guatemala to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Prolongacion Blvd. Los Proceres KM 9, Zona 15, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala (Formerly Quinta Real Guatemala)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 47 hotels in Guatemala City
San Mateo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I would stay here in a heartbeat again. The location, atmosphere and room quality were all fantastic and it was a relative steal at this price. The hotel was as nice as any found anywhere and the staff was professional and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    41
    10
    10
    7
See reviews for
17
34
11
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This Hotel is very beautiful, in a safe area and staff is "friendly". But, probably best for only business meetings or events I feel. It was very disappointing to me. I have traveled to Guatemala many times.... Too far away from anything. Prices quoted before trip were higher when arriving. Almost all the staff was very friendly but there were HUGE communication problems, which I hold the front desk 100% responsible for. They had no money to exchange when we arrived, no problem, we can wait 30 minutes, One hour later,still no currency. After wasting more time waiting, when we needed to be somewhere, we found out there was a bank RIGHT NEXT DOOR, next to parking lot. Walked over & it was done in minutes....Why not tell us that? Room was freezing cold, when a room service person arrived with our food he commented on how cold it was, tried to fix the heat, could not & said someone would be up to take care of it ....we saw no one. Freezing cold all night. (But the bed WAS really comfortable! ~ would have rather been warm though) Honestly, it was an accumulation of small inconveniences that I never would have expected from a top rated Hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed our last night in Guatemala after a medical mission on Nov 22 2012 anticipating our final day in town to be relaxing. When I'd booked on line; I was automaticly charged a business class up grade. Upon arrival the girls at the front desk didn't even point out the extra amenities we had purchased which included a complimentary 5pm evening reception of h'orderves; beer and Internet access. We had to ask our bell boy what business class entail. He told us free food; beer and wine. When we tried to access the lounge; our card didn't work and we had to go to the front desk on 3 separate occasions. Needless to say upon complaining we were finally served by 6 pm. Apparently we where only one on the floor that paid for this service and we were charged for our wine when ourbell boy told us it was free. We booked a massage prior to arrival and was adviced a rate of $35; when confirm at the hotel we were quoted $47. It was one mishaps after another. The hotel is located on a highway away from town with nothing nearby. Our taxi ride was 35 minutes just to get to the closest shopping. The final inconvenient is our heater did not work in our room and when asked to speak to a manager our request was ignored. This place simply did not even meet standards as advertised. Might be a nice facility but I rather stay in town and at a hotel where the heater works.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The ambiance you get in Vista Real is the best you can ever get. Located a little outside the city, it is noise free and perfect to spend time there. I stayed for almost 2.5 months and i loved it

I should not forget to mention the hospitality received at restaurant. It is excellent.

Guys, you would never regret for choosing vista real.

Room Tip: Choose rooms which ends with 9 like 109, 209, and 309. They have Jacuzzi :) also ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Big, comfortable hotel in a beautiful building, nicely decorated with pretty regional touches. The rooms are big and comfortable, good beds, spacious bathrooms with only one problem: getting into the shower is not easy because the bathtub is really high. The food is ok, brunch on Sundays is nice. Lots of events in the hotel, making it a bit noisy and crowded. Two drawbacks: the staff is friendly but they are somehow stiff like they don't feel at ease at what they do so they don't show much initiative and seem to know their lines by heart; and the hotel is in the outskirts of town so one has to take a cab to go anywhere, there is nothing at walking distance and as it is located on a highway there are no sidewalks.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel has a lot of character but it is up on the hills on a very busy and noisy highway. Very time-consuming getting into town or the airport (minimum 30-40 minutes in terrible traffic). This hotel is really for locals holding weddings/business events etc

There are much better located hotels in Guatemala City in this price range with superior access to places of interest in the city

Room Tip: get a room on level 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

A hotel to enjoy! A place for a quiet stay! If you are looking for a place to just relax, enjoy it! On the hills of the city. Preferable for vacations than work. Rent a cab and avoid the stress of driving, can it be easier?

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vista Real Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Real Guatemala

Address: Prolongacion Blvd. Los Proceres KM 9, Zona 15, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala (Formerly Quinta Real Guatemala)
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Vista Real Guatemala 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Vista Real Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala City
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista Real Guatemala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.