We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again in this hotel: Same good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Guatemala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Guatemala to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Guatemala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1a. Avenida 13 - 22 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Again in this hotel: Same good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Due to business I came again to this hotel.

There is a gentleman at the front desk who deserves recognition: Byron is his name. But all the staff deserves a recognition, since they were always helpful and making us confortable.

WiFi connection is good, but not fast. Ethernet cable is available at the room, and works great.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms siding to the West, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Enrique D:

Thank you very much for the time you took to review us.

We are glad to know that our staff`s attention to you has been excellent. Definately comments like yours are our main motivation every day. We will also let human resources know of your comment about Byron; he sure is one of our friendliest staff members.

We also would like to thank you for always coming back. We hope to keep serving you on your future visits to Guatemala City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    111
    38
    16
    6
See reviews for
27
35
28
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Holiday Inn and The Westin Camino Real are one block apart in distance, yet a world apart in quality. The last two nights I stayed in The Holiday Inn. The first in a standard room, the last, thinking the noise level would improve, in an executive room. There are a few noisy discos in the neighborhood. In the Holiday Inn you can hear every drumbeat and the DJ sounds like he is in your room. EVERY ROOM. The hotel staff were very kind in trying to move me around to find a quieter room, realizing in the end that there are none. The manager was very disinterested and acted like he couldn't be bothered. He continued his work, not even looking up to talk to me. He said it's not his fault. "There is nothing I can do." He is right. It is shoddy hotel construction, not him. After moving three times, I was using the electric outlet and created a small explosion. Bare wires were exposed. finally, at 1 in the morning, I moved to the Westin. Whisper quiet and just as close to the discos. You cannot even hear them in the room. The cost is the same as Holiday Inn executive rate and there is free breakfast and much better wi-fi at the Westin (3 devices free vs 1 device that frequently would disconnect at Holiday Inn) I had to track the manager down and request that he refund that night that I escaped from the Holiday Inn. He did not offer. One very nice thing to say about both hotels is that their working staff are outstanding and very helpful.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. All NOISY. Go to the Westin. All their rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear send2royce:

Thank you very much for you review.

We really appeciate your comments about the hotel. We are sorry that you had such a negative experience during your stay. Actually investigating about your case we were able to see that the rooms to which you were moved were the quietest rooms that we have. Our frequent guests usually ask for these rooms precisely because they are quiet rooms. Each room has double acustic windows in order to prevent such inconveniences. We aren`t sure why there was a lot of noise that day; it must have been an out of the ordinary event in the area that made you feel uneasy.

In regards to the other problems you had, we have already reported them to the respective areas.

We hope you give us the chance to serve you better on a further visit to Guatemala City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Like this Hotel alot, good location and always friendly people at the lobby. HArd Rock Cafe is right in front, very convenient ! Breakfast is very good and service is fast (for those who always runing out of time).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Sindy R:

We really appreciate the time you took to review us.

It´s great to know that you always find friendly staff members. That is something that we aim at; to have friendly staff. We are also happy to know that you find our restaurant service to be fast and convenient.

We thank you once again and we hope to serve you on your next visits to Guatemala City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The stay was absolutely awesome!! The workers made me feel very comfortable and the almost 3mos I was there I felt as if I was home!! Great staff!! I also felt safe and did not worry coming and going. It was an awesome experience. I would definately stay there again!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Flora M:

We feel very excited to hear about you and your stay!

The fact that you felt at home during your stay inspires us to keep doing our best to provide excellent service to every guest. Having you and your friends stay with us was definately one of the best experiences we had, especially since your stay was a long one.

Ms. Flora we really hope to have the opportunity to serve you on your next visits to Guatemala city whether it is for work or for pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Being familiar with the Holiday Inn chain, I expected the hotel to be clean, comfortable, and suitable for a four-week stay in Guatemala City. Unfortunately, it was not. Here were the issues:
Hot water seemed to be only available every other day.
The room was not clean. When I walked across the carpet, there was a film left on the bottom of my feet.
The bathroom tub and sink looked as though it had not been cleaned in a long while.
Wifi was not reliable. Once logged in, I lost connection every 25 minutes and had to log in again.
Wash cloths were never left. I had to call down to the desk and ask for them every day.

Except for the lack of hot water, I could have managed to live with any one of the issues mentioned. After a week with no improvement, I moved to another hotel.

On a brighter note, the room furnishings were nice and the bed quite comfortable. Also, food in the dinning room was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Kathymjollie:

We really appreciate the time you took to review our hotel.

We are glad you found the furniture and the beds to be pleasant to you. We are also glad to know that you liked the food from our restaurant.

Regarding the problems that you encountered, we apologize about it and we have been investigating about what happened and we were able to find that when you first complained it was reported to housekeeping and the maintenance department right away so they could check what was happening. Also when the complain was made to the company that you work with, they immediately sent a representative to inspect the room and everything was fine. We are sorry that you felt uneasy at our hotel because by no means that´s not what we want to do; on the contrary, we want to make you feel at ease.

We hope that on your next visit to Guatemala City you give us the chance to serve you better and change your perspective of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The staff was very accommodating with my Mother's need for wheelchair assistance to her room. They made sure we had adjoining rooms and the bellman were excellent help with a large amount of luggage. The shuttle picked us up at the airport in a timely manner and was driven by an excellent employee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear ScottH7755:

Thank you for your nice comment.

We are always looking to serve our guests in every need they have. Our bellboys are always on the look out to help our guests in every manner they can and are always glad to do. Not only do we have a wheelchair but we also have handicap rooms that are fully equipped to make our guests feel comfortable.

We hope to have you stay with us soon and if you need to arrange accomodations, please let us know. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porcupine Plain
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Guatemala is still a country of uncertainty....the Holiday Inn Guatemala City is in the city's safest zone (10)....It is a older property but very well maintained....rooms are large and very clean with personal safes....staff is helpful and if language is a problem, many of them are multilingual... the Hotel also has a shuttle to the airport (you will be mobbed by a crowd at the airport entrance, just ask a security guard for Holiday Inn and they will get you to the shuttle)....the Hotel will also exchange U.S. $ into Q's (at a reasonalble rate, as opposed to the airport exchangers), but only in smaller amounts ($100)....the Hotel is also the depot for buses to Mexico etc. and to Antigua Guatemala.....there is a full service resturant in the Hotel (only available to guests).....the Hotel also will provide you with authorized (safe) taxis....note: please book thru the front desk....as in other C.A. countries everyone has a cousin, brother, uncle, they try to get business for, so just be safe and book thru the front desk....the Hotel is also surrounded by excellent resturants, next door and across the streets....unless you've been acclimatized to the local food bugs DO NOT EAT STREET VENDOR FOOD (even tho it's delicious)....also, only drink bottled water, even in the Hotel.

Room Tip: the top floors have suites, but regular rooms are so large it's really not necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Dawn H:

We are thankful because you took the time to comment in detail our hotel.

We are happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one and that you found the staff to be very helpful. We indeed have bilingual, if not trilingual staff that is always ready to help our guests with everything they need; be it a taxi, money exchange, directions or just answering questions or concerns.

Knowing that your stay was great makes us feel proud of all of our wonderful staff. We really hope to see you soon on your next visit to Guatemala City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guatemala

Address: 1a. Avenida 13 - 22 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#12 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Guatemala 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of 'The Life Zone' next to business, financial and entertainment centers. Only 5 minutes from La Aurora International Airport. The Holiday Inn Guatemala offers 194 rooms and 10 Jr. Suites with kitchenette, all of them decorated to provide comfort and a peaceful stay to our guests. With a choice of mountain or city view, wall to wall carpeting, cable TV, safety deposit box inside the room, two telephone extensions, wireless internet, central air conditioning, radio and alarm clock, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and electronic keys. For your convenience,Holiday Inn Guatemala provides business center facilities. Seven meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment for conferences and events from 10 to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Holiday Inn Guatemala City
Guatemala City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Guatemala Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Guatemala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.