We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, bilingual staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Guatemala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Guatemala to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Guatemala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1a. Avenida 13 - 22 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Selah, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good price, bilingual staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I had two great experiences here. I stayed here for two days, left for a few days and came back for one night before my flight. The free shuttle was a great perk! I enjoyed the bilingual staff who was willing to exchange money for me too. We used their conference rooms a few times, the breakfast was good in the morning. We enjoyed the pool area outside. I never had a problem with the noise even though my room was on the 14th flood right across from the hard rock hotel. It was close to a lot of shopping places and some good restaurants. Its only 8 bucks to get to Zona 1 which is a must see. I would come back next time too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest, we thank you for your review and we're glad that your experience with us was an enjoyable one. Once again thank you and we're looking forward to serve you again very soon.

Best regards,

Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    85
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
22
25
22
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've been in this hotel for 5 times in the last 6 months, and the service has been really bad. Some of the employees have a very bad attitude and are not very nice communicating to you. I experience two mayor disappoints first time I get a smoker room that smell really bad, I asked to be moved, because I request a non-smoking room from the beginning and they didn’t even care, I didn’t receive a new room neither an apology. Last time they didn’t let me have breakfast in the restaurant because of my “Tattoos”, they treat me like if I was a Gang Man. Finally they make you feel very away from home, or at least away from a good Hotel…

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest, we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your visits. Employees having a bad attitude is unacceptable, we will look into this. We're also going to look into what happened with your reservation so this won't happen again. About the restaurant issue, our restaurant has a dress code policy and we're sorry if you were offended in any way.

Best regards,

Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is located at "Zona Viva" at Guatemala City which means it is walking distance to many restaurants and bars.

PROS:Nice and friendly staff, reasonable priced, clean rooms, there are many restaurants in the surroundings ( including a McDonalds!). Free parking, free airport shuttle.

CONS: It can get pretty noisy at night since the is a Hard Rock Cafe right across the street. Food choices at the hotel´s breakfast buffet are limited. Hosekeeping service can be a hit or miss. There in no room service after 11 pm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your recent review of our property. We're glad that for the most part, your stay was enjoyable. We will take your comments into consideration. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Someone dropped the ball on my reservations and I had to leave because they were fully booked. The hotel staff gave the impression like "sorry bout your luck pall, now get your bags out of our hotel". You would think they might at least pretend to care a little bit. They messed up the bill and, well, that is to be expected. My saying is first time, everytime. I was happy that my reservations were messed up because I had the opportunity to stay at the Howard Johnson where they have excellent customer service and friendly staff. Here is the rest of the scoop-

Highlights:
Good location, mall just down the street
comfortable bed
good internet
breakfast

lowlights:
Awkward staff
breakfast is weird, one day they have pancakes, the next they don't, but have the syrup out. If you ask for pancakes, they bring out the entire kitchen staff and then the wait staff and try to figure out what your talking about. (I don't know the word for pancakes in spanish). Then they bill extra for pancakes because today they decided not to make them included with the breakfast like every other day...
Did I mention awkward staff?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're sorry that your stay was interrupted so abruptly, we're going to take a look to see what happened with your reservation and also to see what was wrong with the staff. About the breakfast, we're going to look into why that happened and we'll most definitely fix this. Again, sorry for the inconveniences, your comments will be taken into consideration.
Best regards,
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I've stayed at two properties owned by the same company (Westin Camino Real being the other). They are substantially similar. The lobby and restaurants at the Westin are nicer, with a grand marble lobby and entry way. The Westin is also larger. However, for the money the Holiday Inn is just as nice, and, in fact, the rooms are substantially similar with the same stone treatment for counter tops, floor and shower surround.

I stayed with my sister, who has Priority Club status, so we were treated to the Executive Floor (16 and 17). The rooms are pretty much the same, but you get free bottled water, wood paneling in the hallway, and a dedicated, free, computer and printer to use.

The bedding at the Holiday Inn is great. The shower was ok, but had the same problem I run into across Guatemala, the shower head is designed for someone 5 ft tall, not 6, so the head hits me at eye level. The pressure left a little to be desired.

Room service was good and prompt. We ate breakfast at the hotel twice. Once at the buffet and once a la carte. Both were tasty and a reasonable price (by us standards). By comparison, the Sunday buffet at the Westin had long lines for the egg station and the omelettes were not as good. They did have a larger selection, however.

The front-desk staff speak perfect English, one with no accent whatsoever.

There is a new Hard Rock Cafe across the street, as well as a wine bar and two new "American" fast food places. Shakespear's Pub is catty-corner from the hotel, and a great local bar full of ex-pats.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise. Those not facing Reforma have even less noise, but a worse vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for reviewing our hotel. We're glad that for the most part you enjoyed your stay. Being in the heart of zone 10, there are many places to enjoy really close to the hotel. About the shower heads, your comment will be taken into consideration and we're sorry for the inconvenience. Once again, thank you for reviewing our hotel and we hope to have you stay with us again sometime in the near future.
Best regards,
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here from 3/18 until 4/13, the front desk was super nice and extra freindly. The diningroom food was pretty good. The hotel was in walking distance to many restaurants. Close to the airport, taxi service in front of hotel. Housekeeping was not to good, never had face rags in room, always had to call then when I did call they did not have any to bring me. This hotel was great I would stay here again and recommend a place to stay if you are visting Guatemala.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We're glad your stay with us was for the most part very satisfying. We apologize for the not having enough face rags, we are working on that issue. Thank you once again and we hope you give us the privilege to serve you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Front office manager, Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was my third stay at the Holiday Inn Guatemala. The stays have spanned a six year time frame. It is always nice to see that the hotel is constantly updating and making improvements to the hotel. The same cannot be said for many of the Holiday Inn's in the states. The staff is friendly and the hotel will help make you feel safe with security always near the door. The breakfast buffet is fantastic with tons of fresh fruit, made to order omlets and stuff local Guatemalan fare. I will stay here again when I return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor due to noise from local restuarants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear guest:

On behalf of the management and staff of Holiday Inn Guatemala, we thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. As you mentioned we´re always making improvements to our property, pretty soon all of our rooms will be updated and ready!! Freshness in our fruits is always a priority with our buffet. We hope you give us the privilege to continue to serve you in the near future.

Thanks again!!!
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guatemala

Address: 1a. Avenida 13 - 22 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Guatemala 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of 'The Life Zone' next to business, financial and entertainment centers. Only 5 minutes from La Aurora International Airport. The Holiday Inn Guatemala offers 194 rooms and 10 Jr. Suites with kitchenette, all of them decorated to provide comfort and a peaceful stay to our guests. With a choice of mountain or city view, wall to wall carpeting, cable TV, safety deposit box inside the room, two telephone extensions, wireless internet, central air conditioning, radio and alarm clock, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and electronic keys. For your convenience,Holiday Inn Guatemala provides business center facilities. Seven meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment for conferences and events from 10 to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Holiday Inn Guatemala City
Guatemala City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Guatemala Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Guatemala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.