We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awkward staff,” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Guatemala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Guatemala to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Guatemala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1a. Avenida 13 - 22 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awkward staff,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Someone dropped the ball on my reservations and I had to leave because they were fully booked. The hotel staff gave the impression like "sorry bout your luck pall, now get your bags out of our hotel". You would think they might at least pretend to care a little bit. They messed up the bill and, well, that is to be expected. My saying is first time, everytime. I was happy that my reservations were messed up because I had the opportunity to stay at the Howard Johnson where they have excellent customer service and friendly staff. Here is the rest of the scoop-

Highlights:
Good location, mall just down the street
comfortable bed
good internet
breakfast

lowlights:
Awkward staff
breakfast is weird, one day they have pancakes, the next they don't, but have the syrup out. If you ask for pancakes, they bring out the entire kitchen staff and then the wait staff and try to figure out what your talking about. (I don't know the word for pancakes in spanish). Then they bill extra for pancakes because today they decided not to make them included with the breakfast like every other day...
Did I mention awkward staff?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're sorry that your stay was interrupted so abruptly, we're going to take a look to see what happened with your reservation and also to see what was wrong with the staff. About the breakfast, we're going to look into why that happened and we'll most definitely fix this. Again, sorry for the inconveniences, your comments will be taken into consideration.
Best regards,
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    115
    40
    17
    6
See reviews for
28
35
28
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I've stayed at two properties owned by the same company (Westin Camino Real being the other). They are substantially similar. The lobby and restaurants at the Westin are nicer, with a grand marble lobby and entry way. The Westin is also larger. However, for the money the Holiday Inn is just as nice, and, in fact, the rooms are substantially similar with the same stone treatment for counter tops, floor and shower surround.

I stayed with my sister, who has Priority Club status, so we were treated to the Executive Floor (16 and 17). The rooms are pretty much the same, but you get free bottled water, wood paneling in the hallway, and a dedicated, free, computer and printer to use.

The bedding at the Holiday Inn is great. The shower was ok, but had the same problem I run into across Guatemala, the shower head is designed for someone 5 ft tall, not 6, so the head hits me at eye level. The pressure left a little to be desired.

Room service was good and prompt. We ate breakfast at the hotel twice. Once at the buffet and once a la carte. Both were tasty and a reasonable price (by us standards). By comparison, the Sunday buffet at the Westin had long lines for the egg station and the omelettes were not as good. They did have a larger selection, however.

The front-desk staff speak perfect English, one with no accent whatsoever.

There is a new Hard Rock Cafe across the street, as well as a wine bar and two new "American" fast food places. Shakespear's Pub is catty-corner from the hotel, and a great local bar full of ex-pats.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise. Those not facing Reforma have even less noise, but a worse vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for reviewing our hotel. We're glad that for the most part you enjoyed your stay. Being in the heart of zone 10, there are many places to enjoy really close to the hotel. About the shower heads, your comment will be taken into consideration and we're sorry for the inconvenience. Once again, thank you for reviewing our hotel and we hope to have you stay with us again sometime in the near future.
Best regards,
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here from 3/18 until 4/13, the front desk was super nice and extra freindly. The diningroom food was pretty good. The hotel was in walking distance to many restaurants. Close to the airport, taxi service in front of hotel. Housekeeping was not to good, never had face rags in room, always had to call then when I did call they did not have any to bring me. This hotel was great I would stay here again and recommend a place to stay if you are visting Guatemala.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We're glad your stay with us was for the most part very satisfying. We apologize for the not having enough face rags, we are working on that issue. Thank you once again and we hope you give us the privilege to serve you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Front office manager, Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity
Level Contributor
166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was my third stay at the Holiday Inn Guatemala. The stays have spanned a six year time frame. It is always nice to see that the hotel is constantly updating and making improvements to the hotel. The same cannot be said for many of the Holiday Inn's in the states. The staff is friendly and the hotel will help make you feel safe with security always near the door. The breakfast buffet is fantastic with tons of fresh fruit, made to order omlets and stuff local Guatemalan fare. I will stay here again when I return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor due to noise from local restuarants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear guest:

On behalf of the management and staff of Holiday Inn Guatemala, we thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. As you mentioned we´re always making improvements to our property, pretty soon all of our rooms will be updated and ready!! Freshness in our fruits is always a priority with our buffet. We hope you give us the privilege to continue to serve you in the near future.

Thanks again!!!
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Everything about the HI Guate aspires to N American standards - as you are entitled to expect from a chain - and just about makes it.

Convenient free shuttle to and from the airport, opulent entrance and lobby, nice restaurant and shop, ubiquitous wifi etc.

When we walked into our room we said "we're home". Three weeks on the road and some pretty indifferent hotel experiences and this was back to what we pampered N Americans expect. Spacious with room and bathroom equipped as we're used to and a lovely big bed with attractive, comfy linens. Couldn't ask for more.

There are only two negatives I would want to report on. The first is the somewhat distant and off-hand front desk staff. The shuttle drivers, porters, doormen etc were just fine but, for some reason, the front desk staff seem to have an attitude problem. Secondly, street noise. Even on a high floor we were assailed by loud music and drumming until very late. Earplugs took care of it but this aspect was unexpected in such an, otherwise, fine establishment. These two issues occasion me to downgrade "highly recommended" to merely "recommended".

One final point, I gave the hotel a 5 for value. We were on a rewards night which cost us only 10,000 points. This is exceptional value but should not reflect the monetary equivalent. Since our night was free I have no idea what rooms here normally cost and, therefore, what value for money this represents.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear guest, first of all, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Second, we're glad that for the most part your experience was a pleasant one. Your comments are very important to us and will help us improve. We understand that being in the heart of zone 10, streets can be noisy, especially Friday and Saturday nights. We hope we get the chance to serve you again very soon.
Regards,
Front Office Manager, Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Place is nice. Is my 3 time on this place. Service is very good.. front desk and restaurant have a nice service... my complains are allways the same at this place....
1.- Internet is really slow,... 0.25mb/0.17mb..
2.- Breakfast is not include....

Room Tip: Upper floor are less noiser
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest, we'd like to thank you for your recent visit and review of our hotel. We're glad the service was to your satisfaction. Regarding the internet service, we recently installed a new system and its still under observation. I will let management know about the breakfast issue. We hope to serve you again sometime in the near future.
Best regards,
Front Office Manager, Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice of America
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed there for two days with my family. The rooms are good and clean.It's in a good location,it's safe to walk at night and there are malls close to it.It's a good hotel for the price.The customer service and the food was ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear AIMXXI, We thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and we'll work hard so that the service isn't only ok, but great next time.

Front Office manager,
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 841 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
#14 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
2.1 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#3 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala City
Clarion Suites Guatemala City
#8 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#1 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guatemala

Address: 1a. Avenida 13 - 22 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#14 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Guatemala 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of 'The Life Zone' next to business, financial and entertainment centers. Only 5 minutes from La Aurora International Airport. The Holiday Inn Guatemala offers 194 rooms and 10 Jr. Suites with kitchenette, all of them decorated to provide comfort and a peaceful stay to our guests. With a choice of mountain or city view, wall to wall carpeting, cable TV, safety deposit box inside the room, two telephone extensions, wireless internet, central air conditioning, radio and alarm clock, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and electronic keys. For your convenience,Holiday Inn Guatemala provides business center facilities. Seven meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment for conferences and events from 10 to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Holiday Inn Guatemala City
Guatemala City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Guatemala Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Guatemala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.