We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely establishment, comfortable room, convenient for the airport.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Guatemala

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Guatemala to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Guatemala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1a. Avenida 13 - 22 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 47 hotels in Guatemala City
Victoria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely establishment, comfortable room, convenient for the airport.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Everything about the HI Guate aspires to N American standards - as you are entitled to expect from a chain - and just about makes it.

Convenient free shuttle to and from the airport, opulent entrance and lobby, nice restaurant and shop, ubiquitous wifi etc.

When we walked into our room we said "we're home". Three weeks on the road and some pretty indifferent hotel experiences and this was back to what we pampered N Americans expect. Spacious with room and bathroom equipped as we're used to and a lovely big bed with attractive, comfy linens. Couldn't ask for more.

There are only two negatives I would want to report on. The first is the somewhat distant and off-hand front desk staff. The shuttle drivers, porters, doormen etc were just fine but, for some reason, the front desk staff seem to have an attitude problem. Secondly, street noise. Even on a high floor we were assailed by loud music and drumming until very late. Earplugs took care of it but this aspect was unexpected in such an, otherwise, fine establishment. These two issues occasion me to downgrade "highly recommended" to merely "recommended".

One final point, I gave the hotel a 5 for value. We were on a rewards night which cost us only 10,000 points. This is exceptional value but should not reflect the monetary equivalent. Since our night was free I have no idea what rooms here normally cost and, therefore, what value for money this represents.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear guest, first of all, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Second, we're glad that for the most part your experience was a pleasant one. Your comments are very important to us and will help us improve. We understand that being in the heart of zone 10, streets can be noisy, especially Friday and Saturday nights. We hope we get the chance to serve you again very soon.
Regards,
Front Office Manager, Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    70
    25
    11
    6
See reviews for
19
18
20
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Place is nice. Is my 3 time on this place. Service is very good.. front desk and restaurant have a nice service... my complains are allways the same at this place....
1.- Internet is really slow,... 0.25mb/0.17mb..
2.- Breakfast is not include....

Room Tip: Upper floor are less noiser
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest, we'd like to thank you for your recent visit and review of our hotel. We're glad the service was to your satisfaction. Regarding the internet service, we recently installed a new system and its still under observation. I will let management know about the breakfast issue. We hope to serve you again sometime in the near future.
Best regards,
Front Office Manager, Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice of America
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed there for two days with my family. The rooms are good and clean.It's in a good location,it's safe to walk at night and there are malls close to it.It's a good hotel for the price.The customer service and the food was ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear AIMXXI, We thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and we'll work hard so that the service isn't only ok, but great next time.

Front Office manager,
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I started with small errors and just got worse from there. Overall the rooms weren't that bad, but a series of errors and missteps made our 4 night stay less than enjoyable.

First, when I arrived, there was a strong petroleum type smell in the lobby and 17th floor hallway. Then, the drawers had a strong mildew smell. I called for help and housekeeping did come to clean them, but the smell of mildew lingered.

Even on the 17th floor we could hear lots of street noise, not just cars and buses, but people (laughing, shouting, whatever) throughout the day and most of the night.

After our second day there, as we went down for a very average breakfast buffet, we noticed painters getting ready to paint our floor. We hadn't received any notice. When we got back to our room, the varnishing work had begun and about half an hour later we got a call from the front desk asking if we wanted to change rooms and they would give us an upgrade.

The hotel moved our bags while we where out (with our approval) to a "Junior Suite", which we found upon our arrival to have two twin beds. Who has twin beds in a junior suite?

We asked for a change and we were moved to another room, but again, strong petroleum smell in the halls, weird stains on the bathrooms walls, smells of smoke in the bathroom.

Staff didn't really seem interested, with the exception of Sally, the front desk ranged from indifferent to rude.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear dmcccr, First of all, I'd like to apologize on behalf of Holiday Inn Guatemala for all the inconveniences you experienced. We're going to look into what might have caused the odors and talk to the front desk staff so this won't happen again. Again, we're very sorry your stay wasn't pleasant and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again and the way you deserve it.

Front Office manager,
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had a terrible experience with the staff they made booking mistakes and they had a horrible actitud.
They have no tact or manners on how to deal with paying customers!
We will never go there again, no matter how beautiful the place is!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Alejannddra, first of all, we thank you for your recent review regarding your experience in our hotel. We're sorry that your experience wasn't a pleasant one. We'd like to know if the staff in general had a bad attitude or if it was specifically one person/area. We will check with our reservations department to find out what happened with your booking. If you'd like to further comment on your experience, please write to: fdesk@hinn.com.gt

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again and give us a chance to correct our mistakes.

Best regards,
Front desk staff.
Holiday Inn, Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The building is pretty old (about 20 years or more), but looks modern. It's on Zona 10, the financial and hotel area of the city, many malls are close to the hotel. The price was excellent regarding the quality of facility and the personnel always try to make you feel comfortable. transfer from and to the airport every 30 minutes guarantees you will always be on time for your flight. I've been in this hotel more than 10 times, and it has always been very good.

Room Tip: Rooms with view to La Reforma Av, are the best, the others face to a big building across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear D. Mendoza,

On behalf of the personnel of Holiday Inn Guatemala, we thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We´re glad our location works out for you, we take pride in being in the heart of the "Zona Viva" We will let the staff know you appreciate their effort in making your stay a comfortable one. We hope you come to Guatemala soon so we have the opportunity to serve you even better,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

No Holiday Inn in the U.S. can compare to this skyscraper with outdoor heated pool, glass-enclosed gym, and a balcony for volcano viewing. Although it suffers from 80s decor, it was amazingly close to shops, malls, authentic Guatemalan restaurants and in the posh Zone 10, safe enough to walk at night. The restaurant was bright and stark and boasted a couple of huge t.v.s so we passed it up for some local food next door. It was a bit noisy, even on the 17th floor, since the bathroom vent opened directly into the exterior wall, transmitting honking cabs at rush hour. A fine gift shop with very reasonable prices for local goods. Don't depend on the free shuttle to take you to the airport. Ours never showed up and we had to hail a cab.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Nano: Thank you for your recent review of our property, We´re glad your stay for the most part was satisfactory. We understand that rush hour traffic can be very noisy.

Regarding our decor, we will let management know, recently we have been replacing furniture in every room beginning at the top and working our way down. We apologize our shuttle wasn´t there when you needed it, our schedule is for it to begin at 4 a.m. leaving every thirty minutes and concluding at 3 p.m., we will investigate what happened the day you checked out.

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the near future and that next time you visit us your stay will be even better.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guatemala

Address: 1a. Avenida 13 - 22 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Guatemala 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of 'The Life Zone' next to business, financial and entertainment centers. Only 5 minutes from La Aurora International Airport. The Holiday Inn Guatemala offers 194 rooms and 10 Jr. Suites with kitchenette, all of them decorated to provide comfort and a peaceful stay to our guests. With a choice of mountain or city view, wall to wall carpeting, cable TV, safety deposit box inside the room, two telephone extensions, wireless internet, central air conditioning, radio and alarm clock, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and electronic keys. For your convenience,Holiday Inn Guatemala provides business center facilities. Seven meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment for conferences and events from 10 to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Holiday Inn Guatemala City
Guatemala City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Guatemala Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Guatemala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.