We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service... Beautiful building” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Guatemala

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Guatemala to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Guatemala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1a. Avenida 13 - 22 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 47 hotels in Guatemala City
1 review
“Terrible service... Beautiful building”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had a terrible experience with the staff they made booking mistakes and they had a horrible actitud.
They have no tact or manners on how to deal with paying customers!
We will never go there again, no matter how beautiful the place is!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Alejannddra, first of all, we thank you for your recent review regarding your experience in our hotel. We're sorry that your experience wasn't a pleasant one. We'd like to know if the staff in general had a bad attitude or if it was specifically one person/area. We will check with our reservations department to find out what happened with your booking. If you'd like to further comment on your experience, please write to: fdesk@hinn.com.gt

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again and give us a chance to correct our mistakes.

Best regards,
Front desk staff.
Holiday Inn, Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    72
    26
    12
    6
See reviews for
19
19
20
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendoza
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The building is pretty old (about 20 years or more), but looks modern. It's on Zona 10, the financial and hotel area of the city, many malls are close to the hotel. The price was excellent regarding the quality of facility and the personnel always try to make you feel comfortable. transfer from and to the airport every 30 minutes guarantees you will always be on time for your flight. I've been in this hotel more than 10 times, and it has always been very good.

Room Tip: Rooms with view to La Reforma Av, are the best, the others face to a big building across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear D. Mendoza,

On behalf of the personnel of Holiday Inn Guatemala, we thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We´re glad our location works out for you, we take pride in being in the heart of the "Zona Viva" We will let the staff know you appreciate their effort in making your stay a comfortable one. We hope you come to Guatemala soon so we have the opportunity to serve you even better,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

No Holiday Inn in the U.S. can compare to this skyscraper with outdoor heated pool, glass-enclosed gym, and a balcony for volcano viewing. Although it suffers from 80s decor, it was amazingly close to shops, malls, authentic Guatemalan restaurants and in the posh Zone 10, safe enough to walk at night. The restaurant was bright and stark and boasted a couple of huge t.v.s so we passed it up for some local food next door. It was a bit noisy, even on the 17th floor, since the bathroom vent opened directly into the exterior wall, transmitting honking cabs at rush hour. A fine gift shop with very reasonable prices for local goods. Don't depend on the free shuttle to take you to the airport. Ours never showed up and we had to hail a cab.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Nano: Thank you for your recent review of our property, We´re glad your stay for the most part was satisfactory. We understand that rush hour traffic can be very noisy.

Regarding our decor, we will let management know, recently we have been replacing furniture in every room beginning at the top and working our way down. We apologize our shuttle wasn´t there when you needed it, our schedule is for it to begin at 4 a.m. leaving every thirty minutes and concluding at 3 p.m., we will investigate what happened the day you checked out.

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the near future and that next time you visit us your stay will be even better.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

VERY NEGATIVE RATING OF THIS PLACE, SPECIALLY THE NIGHT TIME MANAGER.
Me and my wife live in Central America and have used this hotel lots of times over the last 15 years. Very clean, wonderful bed and good value for the money, but HORRIBLE service, at least on this visit.
Here is what happened: me and my wife came back from eating dinner at 9:30pm and before getting ready for bed, we decided to drink some decaf coffee, but the coffee machine took 30 minutes to make half a inch of coffee and the color didn't look right. I called the front desk and asked to bring another coffee machine. They sent someone from the maintenance to try fix it for 10 minutes, and he said it was fixed, but the coffee machine did the same thing. This review is not because I got a bad coffee machine, that can happen in any hotel, as I travel extensively with my job and not everything can be perfect all the time, but is about having to call twice for that, after they finally agree to bring another coffee maker. At this point, already passed 1 hour and half minutes since trying to make coffee, and is 11:50pm and me and my wife have a plane to catch at the morning. This should not have taken 2 hours. Now is where it gets worse: I finally had the coffee maker after one hour and half and five phone calls and on the 6th call I asked them to please send another bag of decaf coffee, because the broken machine had used the only bag that was here, and we don't like to drink caffeinated coffee this late at night. During the 6th call, I was told that they couldn't bring me any decaf coffee. They provide decaf and normal coffee in all the rooms in little bags for free, so I know they wouldn't run out, so I knew he was telling me a lie. Then, I asked to speak to the night time manager directly, because at this point had already been 1 hour and 45 minutes and still no coffee and nobody seems to want to help me. They put me on hold for a few minutes, and then told me the night time manager was too busy to talk to me. I said fine, I'm coming down to talk to him, it was almost midnight by this time and was something I didn't really want to do, but I wanted to tell the manager how bad of service I had with trying to get a couple of coffee for almost two hours. I found the security guy on my way down at the front desk and asked him for the night time manager's name, and he wrote down for me. His name is Armando Urizer. I went to the front desk and asked for the manager by name and told to the receptionist what I wanted to talk to Armando about. After waiting for 10 minutes, this is late at night and the hotel wasn't busy at all, I got tired of waiting and left, and came back to the room to write this post. Again, the manager's name is Armanado Urizer.
FYI: One hour and a half into this drama, I mentioned to the receptionist to just please send me two cups of coffee decaf from room service without cost if they didn't really want to deal with it, is not what I really wanted because I wanted coffee in the morning, but I give them that option and they decline. I thought this was a high class Holiday Inn hotel with international high standards, I had a better service in much cheaper hotel. Imagine that, the manager didn't want to talk to a guest that had a problem.

Howard Fluker

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here at start of a Guatemala visit. The hotel has a free shuttle from airport (saved me $10 taxi ride; not stated on the IHG website); this Zone is close to the airport, and in a nice and safe area of the city. Rooms are OK, and acceptable as they are older and do show their age. Its not terrible, but could do with refurbishing. Asked for an upgrade (Platinum member) but they declined as they were full. Nice and friendly/helpful staff. There is a nice breakfast place nearby, called San Martin, which had a great breakfast, and was full with well off locals. Recommended if you get the rooms at a good price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Sirs:

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Guatemala, it was great to host you during your visit in Guatemala. We are glad that you enjoy your stay with us, it is a pleasure to serve you and make you feel comfortable.

Thank you for taking the time to place your comment here, they help us to improve our property and service. We appreciate all comments from our guests.

We hope that you come back soon and stay with us.

Regads,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

From the Lobby you can't tell that much but once you get to the elevators you can tell this is a very old hotel and in poor condition. The elevators are probably from the 70s because it takes about two minutes (non stop) or more to get to the 14 th floor. The rooms look old. The art work, decor, electrical system (outlets) are in terrible shape and outdated. At $140 per diem it's a terrible value offering.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oordonez, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Guatemala, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped:
Gracias por haber escogido nuestra propiedad para durante su estadía en Guatemala.
Agradecemos su comentario, lo cual nos impulsa a mejorar, queremos comentarle que estamos realizando mejoras en nuestra propiedad con la finalidad de servirle mejor a nuestros clientes. Sus comentarios nos ayudan a mejorar.
Lo invitamos a visitarnos de nuevo!
Saludos cordiales,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightstown, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We used our Priority Club Platinum rewards to book our room. Upon realizing the next day that we had not received our complementary drink cards and had not been offered an executive room, I brought it up to the attention of the front desk staff. The response (with a rolling of the eyes) was that it was because "I had used a free night and had not paid for it". Little do they know that I purchased and paid for every point that I have through my resort. A well dressed man in a suit came by and they turned their attention to him, and left me there. I then realized that the services were rendered it the manner they were because they were under the assumption that I had not payed but was getting a free ride. I think this is very bad business. I will be traveling extensively due to business in 2013, and will not stay at this facility. On the upside the hotel did appear clean and the cleaning staff were very friendly. I had a problem with my coffee pot because it was too dirty and had coffee grounds inside and it could not be unplugged to clean it because its directly wired in. There is a McCafe a few blocks from there and a variety of restaurants. Very busy one way streets all around, but it did feel secure.
I'm sure I only had contact with a few of their front desk staff and the Morning shift manager, but unfortunately they did represent the Hotel during my stay. I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for half the points, and had was treated with so much kindness and respect, and was thanked for being a member. Not the worst hotel, but the worst customer service treatment I've had.

Room Tip: If you are a coffee drinker and plan on making coffee in the room, check the inside of your coffee p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guatemala

Address: 1a. Avenida 13 - 22 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Guatemala 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of 'The Life Zone' next to business, financial and entertainment centers. Only 5 minutes from La Aurora International Airport. The Holiday Inn Guatemala offers 194 rooms and 10 Jr. Suites with kitchenette, all of them decorated to provide comfort and a peaceful stay to our guests. With a choice of mountain or city view, wall to wall carpeting, cable TV, safety deposit box inside the room, two telephone extensions, wireless internet, central air conditioning, radio and alarm clock, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and electronic keys. For your convenience,Holiday Inn Guatemala provides business center facilities. Seven meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment for conferences and events from 10 to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Holiday Inn Guatemala City
Guatemala City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Guatemala Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Guatemala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.