We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Guatemala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Guatemala to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Guatemala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Las Americas 9-08 | Zona 13, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hotel needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is old and needs to be updated. The rooms are really dark and some what dreary. The bathroom smelled of mold. The bed sagged on one side and was very uncomfortable. The first room I was given, the door would not lock when you left the room. I discovered this, as I always double check the door when I leave a room to make sure it locks. Due to the broken door lock, I was given another room on a higher floor that was slightly better and a little less dark. On the plus side, the staff is friendly and helpful. The complimentary airport shuttle is clean, efficient and on-time. I give this hotel 3 stars (rather than 2) because it is a good value for the money (less than $75/night) for those who need an overnight stay near the airport. If you are staying more than 1 night, I believe there are better options closer to the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that our staff were friendly. We will make sure to work on it to give you a better service next time.



Best regards,


María Joseé Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    75
    46
    26
    20
See reviews for
30
37
24
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tijuana, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel has great service and location (in front of the airport). They serve a buffet all day with delicious dishes. The waiters are very attentive and helpful.

Regarding to the room, I believe they need some improvement, it suppose I received an upgraded room but the room wasn't as nicer as the last time I stayed there.

The bathroom was very tight.
I would like to enjoy some time at the pool, but I didn't like that is in front of the restaurant, everybody can see you, and I believe isn't either nice for the people eating at the restaurant.

There are available tours in the lobby, great service and price.

Room Tip: If you have a sleeping problems, you could require a room in the opposite side of the airport . The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest: It's a pleassure to contact you and know that your stay at our hotel was confortable. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you are going to travel again to Guatemala, 'cause the doors of this house always will open to receive you.

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. I'm sorry you were unhappy with the appearance and condition of the property. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. We are working at a bedding refresh and we will ready to receive you again as soon as possible.

Best regards,


Maria Josee Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our group of nine was delayed from Milwaukee to Guatemala City and ultimately, Zacapa Guatemala due to a delay in Milwaukee. We made our way to Atlanta and then Miami, only to arrive in Guatemala City around 9:30 (versus 1:00 pm) CALMS (Central America Lutheran Mission Service) arranged for our group to stay at the Crowne Plaza near the airport. I had stayed at many Crowne Plaza's for business internationally and this location did not disappoint. The bed and ammenties were super comfortable, comforters, great bedding and hot showers (not the norm in Guate). You will be spoiled here. No business center to make copies, but wifi is available.

The restraurant garnered an " interesting " by the group. They are trying to cater to American as well as international tastes. No one got sick, so that is a plus. Great place to stay as they are fluent in english and portugese.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that you enjoy our restaurant service .

If you are planning another trip to Guatemala, please let me know.

Best regards,


Maria Josee Navarro Portillo,
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Edgar Alvarez was very efficient and friendly as were everybody else. They are quick to solve problems and anticipate your every need. Best value for money hotel in Guatemala.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that our staff were friendly. We will make sure to work on it to give you a better service next time.



Best regards,


María Joseé Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I have the oportunity to stay at the hotel several times and the services is excellent the people are friendly and helpful
I always enjoy stay with you and the location is perfect are near for the principal mall of the city.

Marta B

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Guatemala again. I am pleased you did like our service. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you require additional information in this or other matters. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.





Respectfully,
María Joseé Navarro
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

All in a very good place to stay. Clean and safe. Excellent proximate to the airport. Shuttle was great. Food was surprisingly good - buffet was fresh and tasty.
The rooms could use an update - flat screen tv's, feather pillows, duvets, hvac units.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that you enjoy your time at our homme.

We are working in refreshing our bedding and rooms and soon we are posting new pictures online.

If you are planning another trip to Guatemala, please let me know.

Sincerely,


Maria Josee Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The room was nice, and the bathroom had everything I needed. We needed very early transport to the airport. Their shuttle runs every half hour starting at 4:00 am. It was perfect for us. They even had coffee, orange juice and pastries set up in the lobby at 3:45 am when we came down from our room. I had heard others complain about the lack of restaurants in the area. The hotel has a restaurant, plus there’s Pollo Camparo, McDonalds and Wendy’s within a 1 block area. There were a few negatives on the night we were there. The credit card verification system was down, and we had to hand over the last little bit of cash we had. The TV cable was down for about 6 hours, so there was no television in the room. The clock in the room wasn’t working, and the person they sent up was able to set the time but didn’t know how to set the alarm. We overcame that by using their wake-up call service. Overall, we liked the hotel, the staff and the location. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Guatemala. I am pleased you did like our service. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you require additional information in this or other matters. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Best Regards,



Maria Josee Navarro Portillo/
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Guatemala

Address: Avenida Las Americas 9-08 | Zona 13, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#12 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Guatemala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to brilliant, golden sunrises peeking over volcanic hills each morning you stay at our hotel's property in Guatemala City. The Crowne Plaza(R) Guatemala hotel, located in beautiful Zona 13 and just two miles from La Aurora International Airport (GUA), offers both comfort and convenience.In case you're visiting for meetings with local companies, you'll be glad to know that Copa Airlines, OEA, Solel Boneh and Ericsson are close to our hotel's location.While in Guatemala City, guests find plenty of exciting attractions nearby, including the Central Market, Civic Center and Oakland Mall. Find out more about our culture by visiting the National Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology, or take a day-trip to the charming city of Antigua. We're just minutes from "Zona Viva," too, where all the excitement happens!When you choose to stay with us in Guatemala City, our hotel provides perks like free high-speed, wireless Internet access, so you can keep in touch with the office. To help you relax, we also offer a wonderful spa with services like steambaths, saunas and massages, as well as the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage(R) Program amenity kit. Make your reservations today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Crowne Plaza Guatemala City
Guatemala City Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Guatemala Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Guatemala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.