We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delayed Flight from the US” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Guatemala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Guatemala to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Guatemala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Las Americas 9-08 | Zona 13, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delayed Flight from the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our group of nine was delayed from Milwaukee to Guatemala City and ultimately, Zacapa Guatemala due to a delay in Milwaukee. We made our way to Atlanta and then Miami, only to arrive in Guatemala City around 9:30 (versus 1:00 pm) CALMS (Central America Lutheran Mission Service) arranged for our group to stay at the Crowne Plaza near the airport. I had stayed at many Crowne Plaza's for business internationally and this location did not disappoint. The bed and ammenties were super comfortable, comforters, great bedding and hot showers (not the norm in Guate). You will be spoiled here. No business center to make copies, but wifi is available.

The restraurant garnered an " interesting " by the group. They are trying to cater to American as well as international tastes. No one got sick, so that is a plus. Great place to stay as they are fluent in english and portugese.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that you enjoy our restaurant service .

If you are planning another trip to Guatemala, please let me know.

Best regards,


Maria Josee Navarro Portillo,
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    104
    51
    30
    22
See reviews for
43
40
27
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Edgar Alvarez was very efficient and friendly as were everybody else. They are quick to solve problems and anticipate your every need. Best value for money hotel in Guatemala.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that our staff were friendly. We will make sure to work on it to give you a better service next time.



Best regards,


María Joseé Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have the oportunity to stay at the hotel several times and the services is excellent the people are friendly and helpful
I always enjoy stay with you and the location is perfect are near for the principal mall of the city.

Marta B

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Guatemala again. I am pleased you did like our service. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you require additional information in this or other matters. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.





Respectfully,
María Joseé Navarro
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

All in a very good place to stay. Clean and safe. Excellent proximate to the airport. Shuttle was great. Food was surprisingly good - buffet was fresh and tasty.
The rooms could use an update - flat screen tv's, feather pillows, duvets, hvac units.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that you enjoy your time at our homme.

We are working in refreshing our bedding and rooms and soon we are posting new pictures online.

If you are planning another trip to Guatemala, please let me know.

Sincerely,


Maria Josee Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The room was nice, and the bathroom had everything I needed. We needed very early transport to the airport. Their shuttle runs every half hour starting at 4:00 am. It was perfect for us. They even had coffee, orange juice and pastries set up in the lobby at 3:45 am when we came down from our room. I had heard others complain about the lack of restaurants in the area. The hotel has a restaurant, plus there’s Pollo Camparo, McDonalds and Wendy’s within a 1 block area. There were a few negatives on the night we were there. The credit card verification system was down, and we had to hand over the last little bit of cash we had. The TV cable was down for about 6 hours, so there was no television in the room. The clock in the room wasn’t working, and the person they sent up was able to set the time but didn’t know how to set the alarm. We overcame that by using their wake-up call service. Overall, we liked the hotel, the staff and the location. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Guatemala. I am pleased you did like our service. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you require additional information in this or other matters. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Best Regards,



Maria Josee Navarro Portillo/
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I would return to this hotel and I recommend it. It has a pool and Jacuzzi and food tastes very good. I recommend pasta with seafood. I had read reviews before that breakfast were good and they´re not good they´re rather excellent. We love breakfast there. Service was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Guatemala!
I am pleased you did like our service. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you require additional information in this or other matters. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.


Best regards,

Maria Josee Navarro
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a great place to stay when visiting Guateamala city. We first stayed here a year ago, and have been back twice more. The hotel itself is a little dated, but the staff are first rate, and in fact this is the most welcoming place we've ever been. Caleb Flores and his colleagues do their best to accomodate your needs and are attentive and friendly. The same is true for the restaurant staff, who remembered me, even though I had not been there in months. The food is quite good, and there's a good variety of both Guatemalan and North American menu items.

In very short order, the hotel has begun to feel like our home away from home, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the airport, and ironically, is a little quieter on that side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest:
Receive a warm greeting from Crowne Plaza Guatemala team.
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. If you have any conserns or questions do not hesitate to contact me. My email address is mj.navarro@cpguatemala.com.gt. and let me know if you are planning a new trip to Guatemala, it will be a pleasure to have you with us again.

Best Regards,

Maria Josee Navarro
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#15 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
#13 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
3.8 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#3 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#4 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Guatemala

Address: Avenida Las Americas 9-08 | Zona 13, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#16 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Guatemala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to brilliant, golden sunrises peeking over volcanic hills each morning you stay at our hotel's property in Guatemala City. The Crowne Plaza(R) Guatemala hotel, located in beautiful Zona 13 and just two miles from La Aurora International Airport (GUA), offers both comfort and convenience.In case you're visiting for meetings with local companies, you'll be glad to know that Copa Airlines, OEA, Solel Boneh and Ericsson are close to our hotel's location.While in Guatemala City, guests find plenty of exciting attractions nearby, including the Central Market, Civic Center and Oakland Mall. Find out more about our culture by visiting the National Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology, or take a day-trip to the charming city of Antigua. We're just minutes from "Zona Viva," too, where all the excitement happens!When you choose to stay with us in Guatemala City, our hotel provides perks like free high-speed, wireless Internet access, so you can keep in touch with the office. To help you relax, we also offer a wonderful spa with services like steambaths, saunas and massages, as well as the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage(R) Program amenity kit. Make your reservations today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Crowne Plaza Guatemala City
Guatemala City Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Guatemala Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Guatemala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.