We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Safe - Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Guatemala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Guatemala to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Guatemala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Las Americas 9-08 | Zona 13, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Great Location - Safe - Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This Hotel is a little dated, but very well maintained. Can still be called a Crowne Plaza. The rooms were very comfortable, and it had good work space. The room was clean and had a flat screen TV.
On 30 minutes from the airport and close to the Zoo and marketplace. This property has a good Spa and if you like to try your luck, it also has a Casino. It has a very nice exercise room with a sauna and a whirlpool. All in all, a nice hotel and a good value. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevator and facing the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest: Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Guatemala!
I am pleased you did like our service. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you require additional information in this or other matters. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.


Best regards,

Maria Josee Navarro
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    104
    51
    30
    22
See reviews for
43
40
27
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Dulce Guatemala
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

and I still stay at the Crowne Plaza. I love the breakfast buffet (included) and the rooms are nice and clean. I like the location, it is possible to walk to the zoo, the artesania market and to visit the museums from here. It is also very accessible to Zone 10 where I do most of my shopping.

I prefer the side facing the airport. The lights on the front side bother me (even though the heavy, no see through drapes pretty much block the light). There are bathtubs, a very nice exercise room, sauna and whirlpool. All in all, a great location at a very fair price. They will take you to the airport and pick you up with a reservation/stay.

Francisco, one of the bell men is always smiling, always friendly and seems very interested in the well being of the guests. I was here for a visit a few weeks back with a friend and the chef asked about my friend. So very nice that people in such a large hotel which must see hundreds if not thousands of people each week can be so personable and interested.

The food is great. I especially like the carpaccio. Thank you! Crowne Plaza, for being there.

Room Tip: I think the 7th floor is probably the nicest and I like the rooms on the airport (back) side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest: It was a pleassure to have you here again.
to contact you again and know that your stay at our hotel was confortable. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you are going to travel again to Guatemala, 'cause the doors of this house always will open to receive you. Thanks for your comments, which are so important for us.

Best regards,

Maria Josee Navarro
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Crowne Plaza is conveniently located near the airport on Avenida Las Americas. I found the staff very friendly and most were bilingual. The rooms offered comfortable beds, a large flat screen TV and small work table. You will find a well equipped exercise room on the top floor with great views of the city. They offer a nice breakfast and dinner buffet with a wide selection of Guatemalan delicacies. I would call this a family friendly hotel, but there is a casino located on the main floor. They have a spa, but i did not have the opportunity to visit it. All in all, a vert pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The front side of the hotel faces the mountains and the back side looks out past the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest: It's so good to know that you enjoyed your stay at out home. Thanks for your comments. Please, let me know if you will be back, so we'll be ready to receive you again.


Regards,


Maria Josee Navarro
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very close to the airport and they provide a shuttle every 30 minutes. The service is very good and very friendly. The facility is dated and could use some renovation but overall nothing to complain about. If you have any problems, ask to speak to Perla. She is the one of those people you always hope to find when traveling. She is wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest: It's a pleassure to contact you again and know that your stay at our hotel was confortable. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you are going to travel again to Guatemala, 'cause the doors of this house always will open to receive you.

Best regards,


Maria Josee Navarro Portillo
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
280 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. The standard room had an excellent view overlooking the airport runway with volcanoes behind it. Lots of fun plane spotting!

Even though it's right next to the airport, there weren't any noise issues at all. Room was comfortable and well-appointed. I appreciated the added security on each floor and felt very safe here. Wi-Fi worked pretty well.

Regarding location- it's not very convenient to tourist sites, but is great for an overnight before or after a flight. The shuttle to the airport took about 7-10 minutes. There is a Pollo Campero right next door and a couple other fast food restaurants within walking distance.

My favorite part of this hotel was the restaurant. The dinner buffet was a bit pricey, but the food was delicious. Breakfast buffet was fantastic. Staff were attentive and polite.

I'll be back.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and to let us satisfy your needs. It is good to hear that you have enjoyed our restaurant and the room view that we offer.
It a pleasure to tell you that beside being close to the airport and a few restaurants, now we are offering transportation to spots in the city like malls, "Zona Viva" and "Fontabella", where you would find a lot of different options to eat, shop and have fun.

We are ready for your next visit!

Regards,

Maria Josee Navarro/
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The location is great for the airport - just 5 minutes away. But it's awkward for eating out. Sure, there's a Mexican down a side street, a MacDonalds, TacoBell and Burger King close by. But the best place for restaurants and an evening stroll is a couple of miles away around Plaza Fontabella shopping mall. Guatemala City is not a safe place to walk 2 miles. So it's a taxi ride. The Holiday Inn and Crowne Plaza are better placed for restaurants.
The Crowne Plaza does wonderful breakfasts with fantastic fresh fruit and a great egg station. At lunch and dinner there are either buffets, which are okay or a la carte which is also quite good. The staff are so eager to help they try to take your plate from the buffet and carry it back to your table, which I found unnecessary.
With our deal we got free wifi, which was great, but erratic and sometimes didn't work. But you needed a daily code for each device, which got rather irritating after a few days. Some days you needed two or three code changes to keep online.
The rooms are spacious, but overall the hotel is a bit tired and needs updating. There's also a casino just off the lobby and live music at weekends. When we arrived Friday night it was so loud we had to shout to get checked in.
The pool is okay but in shade by late afternoon. The changing rooms are rather grubby. I didn't visit the spa but heard other guests speaking well of it.

Room Tip: Higher up gets you a better view. Traffic is quite noisy facing the front. Rear rooms face the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for thinking about us for your stay. We appreciate your comments because that is how we can improve our service. We are ready for your next stay with us and take the opportunity to greet you. We took your comments to improve new actions to satisfy your needs. It is good to know that you enjoy your time around the city and got to be at Fontabella, in fact we have now complementary transportation from the hotel to Fontabella. For the internet issue, we will make sure to work on it to give you a better service next time.

We are working in refreshing our bedding and rooms and soon we are posting new pictures online.

If you are planning another trip to Guatemala, please let me know.

Sincerely

Maria Josee Navarro
Revenue Manager
mj.navarro@cpguatemala.com.gt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flores, Guatemala
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for our last night in Guatemala before catching an early flight to Costa Rica.
It was lovely to enjoy a bit of luxury like the comfy, big beds, a bath, a hairdryer and room service after 3 weeks of volunteering in the Guatemalan jungle.
We thoroughly enjoyed staying there. The free bus shuttle to the airport was a much appreciated bonus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María Joseé N, Revenue Manager at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your preference. We appreciate your feedback, that is how we can get closer to our guests. Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime. You are always welcome to your home in Guatemala.

Maria Josee Navarro/
Revenue Manager/ Groups and Conventions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#15 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
#13 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
3.8 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#3 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#4 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Guatemala

Address: Avenida Las Americas 9-08 | Zona 13, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#16 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Guatemala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to brilliant, golden sunrises peeking over volcanic hills each morning you stay at our hotel's property in Guatemala City. The Crowne Plaza(R) Guatemala hotel, located in beautiful Zona 13 and just two miles from La Aurora International Airport (GUA), offers both comfort and convenience.In case you're visiting for meetings with local companies, you'll be glad to know that Copa Airlines, OEA, Solel Boneh and Ericsson are close to our hotel's location.While in Guatemala City, guests find plenty of exciting attractions nearby, including the Central Market, Civic Center and Oakland Mall. Find out more about our culture by visiting the National Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology, or take a day-trip to the charming city of Antigua. We're just minutes from "Zona Viva," too, where all the excitement happens!When you choose to stay with us in Guatemala City, our hotel provides perks like free high-speed, wireless Internet access, so you can keep in touch with the office. To help you relax, we also offer a wonderful spa with services like steambaths, saunas and massages, as well as the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage(R) Program amenity kit. Make your reservations today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Crowne Plaza Guatemala City
Guatemala City Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Guatemala Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Guatemala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.