We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delayed Flight Layover Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Guatemala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Guatemala to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Guatemala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Las Americas 9-08 | Zona 13, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
1 review
“Delayed Flight Layover Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We were given a complimentary room by the airline, because our 8:00pm flight got delayed until 2:54am. It didn't actually leave until 4:00am. Shuttle service and dinner were also inclusive. The hotel was a very short trip from the airport, close to Burger King and Pollo Campero. Once we arrived at the hotel we checked in at the front desk, and everyone was extremely professional and friendly. I was impressed with the layout of the hotel. Nice bar area with giant screen tv and plenty of seats. Nice little casino with slots, black jack, poker, roulette, etc...
Very nice restaurant, with an excellent buffet and dessert selection. The food and the service by the waiters were very impressive. Walked out to checked out the pool, and wished it was day time. Very nice pool, with a gift shop and plenty of seating space. Checked out the complimentary Internet cafe. Computers were just a bit slow, but worked fine. Nice stairway with a huge mirror near the reception area. Security was dressed in black suits, with shoulder strapped assault riffles. Better than military looking security that you see everywhere else. The room was clean, and came with a bottle of water, safe, iron and ironing board. Would've liked to have had two wash cloths to go with the two towells.
The shuttle picked us up at 2:00am as promised and got us to the airport in a timely manner.
Overall, I would have to say this hotel exceeded my expectations, and would definitely recommend it to anyone that needs to be close to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    92
    51
    29
    21
See reviews for
40
40
26
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I had a terrible sleep, the walls and windows seem to be made of thin paper. My room was located in a high floor but in front of the hotel, so all the noise form the street kept waking me up, it was like the window was open. Two of the times I woke up to the noise of the room located above mine after they flushed the toilet...

You can tell about the quality of the building by looking at the reception, the back (where the hotel logo is displayed) looks like made of a cheap piece of painted wood...

I've stayed at Crown plaza hotels before, this one does not live to the expectations at all...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Horrible, old building, noisy, poor service, bad Internet signal and unstable, elevators very small and long waiting time, the keys...uff...definitely I'll not stay in this hotel again....we can afford another good hotel for this price $120/night!?

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

After following the gringo trail, we were going to see ruins in Tikal so we stop here for the night before our flight. Our main reason was the shuttle to the airport in the morning. It was a bit expensive since we had just walked up and received a rack rate. I believe it was $120.

The room was clean and nice. Nothing to write home about. Internet worked. There is a casino down in the first floor. We didn't use much since we came late and left early. They gave us a to go Breakfast since our flight was early.

IN MY OPINION, IF YOU ARE ON A LAYOVER OR ONE NIGHT AND WANT TO BE NEAR THE AIRPORT. IT IS A VALID OPTION BUT ONLY IF IT IS AT A REASONABLE PRICE. If you want to sight see or want better options then getting a taxi (which are cheap) closer to what you want to do, look at other hotels.

Room Tip: Haggle the room or breakfast if you can't get them to lower the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed here just the one night awaiting a flight to Mexico & for this the hotel works.
The pick-up and drop off went well. Unfortunately our early flight meant we had to leave before breakfast started and the bagged one we recieved for early departures was pretty awful. The room was ok and the room service food fair but not great. A good hotel for access to the airport especially considering the free airport transfer service, so if its for one night between or awaiting flights its a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCARE at Crowne Plaza Guatemala, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Westhorp-Modi,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Guatemala. I am pleased you did like the location of our hotel, the room you were placed in and the room service. I apologize that you did not like the bagged breakfast that was provided for you. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.
Respectfully,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlierden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed in the crowne plaza for 3 nights, the hotel is a bit dated but it is kept clean. The staff is very welcoming and nice. We had quite a good rate but with taxes and all it did sum up. The crowne plaza is a bit away from everything, only a few fastfood restaurants across the road. A decent chinese restaurant is about 300 m away. If you want to stay in a more lively area I would reccomend not to stay here. The rooms are of a decent size and a big advantage have free internet, the bathrooms are small. I stayed on the 7 floor which is stated to be a silence floor. No houskeeping from 7pm to 10am, no children, no tourgroups no animals. That is a very big advantage! something more hotels should have! All in all a decent place to stay for a few nights, however if I have to choose for next visit and the prices would be OK I would stay in the area where the westin, radisson, holiday inn and intercontinental are.

Room Tip: Ask a room on the silence floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I booked this hotel on-line through the Crowne Plaza website. It was just a one-night layover stay...that could not have gone worse. Simply put, management made ZERo effort in trying to make up for mistakes (they never received my booking, the shuttle never picked us up from the airport, etc. However, I must say, the breakfast buffet was fantastic with a good mix of local dishes and other classics. Overall duw to the fact that the MAIN reason we booked here was for the airport shuttle, the hotel and management staff failed.

Room Tip: Just make sure you book with plenty of time to ensure th airport shuttle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Guatemala

Address: Avenida Las Americas 9-08 | Zona 13, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#13 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Guatemala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to brilliant, golden sunrises peeking over volcanic hills each morning you stay at our hotel's property in Guatemala City. The Crowne Plaza(R) Guatemala hotel, located in beautiful Zona 13 and just two miles from La Aurora International Airport (GUA), offers both comfort and convenience.In case you're visiting for meetings with local companies, you'll be glad to know that Copa Airlines, OEA, Solel Boneh and Ericsson are close to our hotel's location.While in Guatemala City, guests find plenty of exciting attractions nearby, including the Central Market, Civic Center and Oakland Mall. Find out more about our culture by visiting the National Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology, or take a day-trip to the charming city of Antigua. We're just minutes from "Zona Viva," too, where all the excitement happens!When you choose to stay with us in Guatemala City, our hotel provides perks like free high-speed, wireless Internet access, so you can keep in touch with the office. To help you relax, we also offer a wonderful spa with services like steambaths, saunas and massages, as well as the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage(R) Program amenity kit. Make your reservations today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Guatemala Hotel Guatemala City
Crowne Plaza Guatemala City
Guatemala City Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Guatemala Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Guatemala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.