We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and restaurant staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Princess

Save Saved
You added Hotel Princess to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Princess
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Calle 7-65 Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 46 hotels in Guatemala City
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and restaurant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

What most distinguishes this hotel is the very warm hospitality and great service by its staff. Also, the food is very homey and I loved the "Central American Festival" that had a buffet with different stations representing the culinary delicacies of each of the various countries...
The restaurant staff and Executive Lounge staff are very good at remembering customers' preferences (like whole wheat toast, cappuccino with little foam, etc)
Also, great value compared to most other hotels in the neighborhood

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
14
10
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nice Service at front desk,
Not nice service in Restaurant, (were ignored, had weird things on bill, pushed us to do buffet instead of ordering off menu)
Freezing Pool
Super nice lady (Veronica?) in Executive breakfast area.
Had executive room and it was nice.
Safe didn't work, and after a few calls they replaced it.

not the most convenient location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I thought the hotel was old and dark. Also, they seem to be very cheap. For example, they only give you one soap for both the shower and sink, they only give you one bottle of water no matter how many days you stay (and there's no mini bar for more).

The only reason I give it 2/5 instead of 1/5 is because of the free internet. I find that to be a big plus compared to the InterC and the Westin Camino Real

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a business class hotel very close to the Zona Viva. I had a room on the top, "Imperial" floor. View wasn't great (though on clear days the volcanos were visible in the distance) since the window looked out on the parking lot. Room was standard business hotel issue (think Hilton), with a comfortable bed, very nice bathroom, flat screen TV, AC, iron and ironing board (but no mini bar). Room was also quiet, though the hotel seemed rather busy. Decoration scheme in the hotel is English country (e.g., there are Cambridge and Oxford meeting rooms), with plenty of hunting prints, etc., which is a bit odd. Courtyard Restaurant was hopping during breakfast, but not so much at other meals (and given the rather mediocre steak I had there, I can see why). Clancy's Bar just off the lobby was almost empty every time I looked in. Front desk staff were not terribly engaging, but spoke decent English and got me checked in and out without too much delay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel looks better from the outside front than what we got inside !!
Had a room on second floor think it was 206. Was a very dark room since the window was located between 2 walls looking out to some mechanical equipment from the hotel.
The room was an icebox !! It had an aircon but no heater which I thought would be a combination of booth, and they came to check it. I requested another room since on the other side of the hallway the rooms had full daylight but was told all booked up. Which was a lie since i saw only 2 rooms were use next morning when I asked the maids. Very nasty to get lied by employees !! There is a sauna for 2 people and a small pool.
The hotel is on the other side of Reforma, Zona 10 where there is nothing a 10 minute walk to Zona 9 where is everything.

Room Tip: Any room on the right side to get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is in a safe location. We stayed here one night because it is near the airport. After reading some of the other reviews we were pleasantly surprised overall. The room was nice and clean, had internet access, had a flat screen tv on the wall, two nice size beds which were very comfortable, and a bathroom with filtered water. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant located inside the hotel, the breakfast was just okay. The room was very reasonably priced. We will definitely be back... we are world travelers schmidttravels.com

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Hotel Princess Guatemala City, is just an average place, with no intention to improve. Like another person note here, the people at the front desk are cold, the smile and welcome spirit is missing.I was given the room 202, when I get there, the smell of smoke was ugly, I had booked my room thru internet with a agency, and requested a non smoking room. I call front desk and ask for another room, and I move to room 301, here was no any bad smell.Overall the hotel show the effects of time, the royal conditions has faded away, the carpet on my room was the worst, showing stains all over, they need a replacement.The Chinese made iron was a complete mess dripping water from the holes, making ironing very frustrating.The writing desk is too big or the room is too small, making impossible to walk if somebody sat to write. But the worst was at the end when I checked out.On my day of arrival I did a deposit of $100.00, pending $ 291.00 including all taxes.On my second day I made another cash payment of 200,00. To my surprise, on my last day (the fourth) the front desk woman ask me for another payment of $80.00 with a paper printed with such "debt", I explain her my payment $300,00, but she insisted, she also charge me twiece for local calls, I ended paying $30.00 instead of $ 20.00 for local calls.This was my worst experience ever regarding charges.I will never stay there in another trip to Guatemala.

Room Tip: avoid rooms on the same side of the patio where special events take place, noyse from those parties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princess

Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Guatemala City
Hotel Princess Guatemala/Guatemala City
Address: 13 Calle 7-65 Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Princess 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Venere, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.