We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, nice neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Princess

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Princess to your Saves list
Hotel Princess
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Calle 7-65 Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“nice hotel, nice neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a business class hotel very close to the Zona Viva. I had a room on the top, "Imperial" floor. View wasn't great (though on clear days the volcanos were visible in the distance) since the window looked out on the parking lot. Room was standard business hotel issue (think Hilton), with a comfortable bed, very nice bathroom, flat screen TV, AC, iron and ironing board (but no mini bar). Room was also quiet, though the hotel seemed rather busy. Decoration scheme in the hotel is English country (e.g., there are Cambridge and Oxford meeting rooms), with plenty of hunting prints, etc., which is a bit odd. Courtyard Restaurant was hopping during breakfast, but not so much at other meals (and given the rather mediocre steak I had there, I can see why). Clancy's Bar just off the lobby was almost empty every time I looked in. Front desk staff were not terribly engaging, but spoke decent English and got me checked in and out without too much delay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    29
    19
    6
    9
See reviews for
16
14
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
376 helpful votes 376 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel looks better from the outside front than what we got inside !!
Had a room on second floor think it was 206. Was a very dark room since the window was located between 2 walls looking out to some mechanical equipment from the hotel.
The room was an icebox !! It had an aircon but no heater which I thought would be a combination of booth, and they came to check it. I requested another room since on the other side of the hallway the rooms had full daylight but was told all booked up. Which was a lie since i saw only 2 rooms were use next morning when I asked the maids. Very nasty to get lied by employees !! There is a sauna for 2 people and a small pool.
The hotel is on the other side of Reforma, Zona 10 where there is nothing a 10 minute walk to Zona 9 where is everything.

Room Tip: Any room on the right side to get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is in a safe location. We stayed here one night because it is near the airport. After reading some of the other reviews we were pleasantly surprised overall. The room was nice and clean, had internet access, had a flat screen tv on the wall, two nice size beds which were very comfortable, and a bathroom with filtered water. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant located inside the hotel, the breakfast was just okay. The room was very reasonably priced. We will definitely be back... we are world travelers schmidttravels.com

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Hotel Princess Guatemala City, is just an average place, with no intention to improve. Like another person note here, the people at the front desk are cold, the smile and welcome spirit is missing.I was given the room 202, when I get there, the smell of smoke was ugly, I had booked my room thru internet with a agency, and requested a non smoking room. I call front desk and ask for another room, and I move to room 301, here was no any bad smell.Overall the hotel show the effects of time, the royal conditions has faded away, the carpet on my room was the worst, showing stains all over, they need a replacement.The Chinese made iron was a complete mess dripping water from the holes, making ironing very frustrating.The writing desk is too big or the room is too small, making impossible to walk if somebody sat to write. But the worst was at the end when I checked out.On my day of arrival I did a deposit of $100.00, pending $ 291.00 including all taxes.On my second day I made another cash payment of 200,00. To my surprise, on my last day (the fourth) the front desk woman ask me for another payment of $80.00 with a paper printed with such "debt", I explain her my payment $300,00, but she insisted, she also charge me twiece for local calls, I ended paying $30.00 instead of $ 20.00 for local calls.This was my worst experience ever regarding charges.I will never stay there in another trip to Guatemala.

Room Tip: avoid rooms on the same side of the patio where special events take place, noyse from those parties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We returned to this wonderful hotel in Zona 9 with our extended family. Roberto the concierge remembered us which was amazing. Nearly three years later we found that Princess provides excellence and consistency in service. The rooms are well kept, food is made from scratch and the Gallos always cold. The nice thing about Princess, and why we choose to stay here, is that it is clearly the hotel and meeting space for Guatemalans and other Central Americans. They do not advertise or cater to US which is great, they do however speak English and cater to international travelers.

Princess is just across the Reforma from Zona 10, Zona Viva. So it's easy to walk to restaurants, shopping and bars.

For our family, the kids love the pool which is welcome after steamy days walking the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Was there for a whole week attending a Film Festival. They never had my name or reservation right. With one exception (sorry I don't remember her name) the ladies at the reception were unfriendly and unresponsive (kind of "looking over their shoulders"). Room was nice, breakfast abundant and good and Executive Lounge an ideal place to work in my film reviews and contacting home.
Location is excellent but noise from an adjoining night place make sleeping a challenge.
Personnel at the restaurant was friendly.
Just a little human touch at the recepcion desk would be a welcoming addition to this nice Hotel.

Room Tip: Fifth floor (executive area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Basically all the hotel inside is dark, lighting is yellow and dark, looks kind of gloomy. I actually was having an anxiety attack over how dark it was, it feels you are into a cave, small rooms and gloomy. They lock front door after hours, so if you want to walk into the front to get fresh air, you have to wait for security to open it for you and see you as being weird for wanting to get out. Do not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princess

Address: 13 Calle 7-65 Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Princess 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Guatemala City
Hotel Princess Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.