We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can freeze your balls off” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Calle 7-65 Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala (Formerly Hotel Princess)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“You can freeze your balls off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel looks better from the outside front than what we got inside !!
Had a room on second floor think it was 206. Was a very dark room since the window was located between 2 walls looking out to some mechanical equipment from the hotel.
The room was an icebox !! It had an aircon but no heater which I thought would be a combination of booth, and they came to check it. I requested another room since on the other side of the hallway the rooms had full daylight but was told all booked up. Which was a lie since i saw only 2 rooms were use next morning when I asked the maids. Very nasty to get lied by employees !! There is a sauna for 2 people and a small pool.
The hotel is on the other side of Reforma, Zona 10 where there is nothing a 10 minute walk to Zona 9 where is everything.

Room Tip: Any room on the right side to get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    24
    6
    8
See reviews for
18
15
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is in a safe location. We stayed here one night because it is near the airport. After reading some of the other reviews we were pleasantly surprised overall. The room was nice and clean, had internet access, had a flat screen tv on the wall, two nice size beds which were very comfortable, and a bathroom with filtered water. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant located inside the hotel, the breakfast was just okay. The room was very reasonably priced. We will definitely be back... we are world travelers schmidttravels.com

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Hotel Princess Guatemala City, is just an average place, with no intention to improve. Like another person note here, the people at the front desk are cold, the smile and welcome spirit is missing.I was given the room 202, when I get there, the smell of smoke was ugly, I had booked my room thru internet with a agency, and requested a non smoking room. I call front desk and ask for another room, and I move to room 301, here was no any bad smell.Overall the hotel show the effects of time, the royal conditions has faded away, the carpet on my room was the worst, showing stains all over, they need a replacement.The Chinese made iron was a complete mess dripping water from the holes, making ironing very frustrating.The writing desk is too big or the room is too small, making impossible to walk if somebody sat to write. But the worst was at the end when I checked out.On my day of arrival I did a deposit of $100.00, pending $ 291.00 including all taxes.On my second day I made another cash payment of 200,00. To my surprise, on my last day (the fourth) the front desk woman ask me for another payment of $80.00 with a paper printed with such "debt", I explain her my payment $300,00, but she insisted, she also charge me twiece for local calls, I ended paying $30.00 instead of $ 20.00 for local calls.This was my worst experience ever regarding charges.I will never stay there in another trip to Guatemala.

Room Tip: avoid rooms on the same side of the patio where special events take place, noyse from those parties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We returned to this wonderful hotel in Zona 9 with our extended family. Roberto the concierge remembered us which was amazing. Nearly three years later we found that Princess provides excellence and consistency in service. The rooms are well kept, food is made from scratch and the Gallos always cold. The nice thing about Princess, and why we choose to stay here, is that it is clearly the hotel and meeting space for Guatemalans and other Central Americans. They do not advertise or cater to US which is great, they do however speak English and cater to international travelers.

Princess is just across the Reforma from Zona 10, Zona Viva. So it's easy to walk to restaurants, shopping and bars.

For our family, the kids love the pool which is welcome after steamy days walking the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Was there for a whole week attending a Film Festival. They never had my name or reservation right. With one exception (sorry I don't remember her name) the ladies at the reception were unfriendly and unresponsive (kind of "looking over their shoulders"). Room was nice, breakfast abundant and good and Executive Lounge an ideal place to work in my film reviews and contacting home.
Location is excellent but noise from an adjoining night place make sleeping a challenge.
Personnel at the restaurant was friendly.
Just a little human touch at the recepcion desk would be a welcoming addition to this nice Hotel.

Room Tip: Fifth floor (executive area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Basically all the hotel inside is dark, lighting is yellow and dark, looks kind of gloomy. I actually was having an anxiety attack over how dark it was, it feels you are into a cave, small rooms and gloomy. They lock front door after hours, so if you want to walk into the front to get fresh air, you have to wait for security to open it for you and see you as being weird for wanting to get out. Do not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I am not normally fond of classic style reproduction deco but the Princess was very nice and welcoming. The hotel is close to the centre of town with a nice choice of other restaurants and other venues nearby. The bedroom was just big enough, not much of a view and occasionally there was some noice from the supermarket car park next door but nice bathroom, furnitures and very comfortable bed with quality linnen. The Food served in the small restaurant was very good and there is also a lively bar open in the evenings. The breakfast buffet had a very nice choice but was not included in the room rate. The souvenir shop in the hotel has a very nice items and at prices similar to the outside shops. What I enjoyed the most was the service; friendly efficient staff who seemd to take much pride in the quality of their profession.

Room Tip: If possible get a room at the 4th floor to minimise the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
#14 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#15 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#4 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
2.9 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#3 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City

Address: 13 Calle 7-65 Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala (Formerly Hotel Princess)
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.