We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Customer Service at front desk...Will not get a good night's rest” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Conquistador Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Conquistador Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Conquistador Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   via 5 4-68 zona 4, Guatemala City 01004, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad Customer Service at front desk...Will not get a good night's rest”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Stay here if you like to be close to night scene or dont plan on getting any rest. There are 2 or 3 nightclubs in the hotel, in addition to more nightclubs around the area. On a weekend night, you will not sleep, until the music stops around 3am. We were on the 6th floor and it was LOUD. The front desk clerk would not let my niece go up to the room, unless she paid for one nights stay. Didnt listen to reason, as she was going to be there for an hour max. It would of been ok if it was hotel policy, but the clerk himself was rude and patronizing. I had stayed here once before on a previous trip, always for the night before my trip home, and didnt have much complaints last time, but now it must be under new ownership and I will not stay at this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelconquistador, General Manager at Conquistador Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Dear guest.
We feel sorry for the inconvenience of the loud music the night you stood whit us and we apologize for that. Now we have a sound prof windows to avoid this inconvenient.
It is a policy of the Hotel does not let people not register in the Hotel to be in the guest rooms because of security reasons.
We hope to serve you in the future again.
Mauricio Estrada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
9
6
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Rooms are quite average for european standards, but in Guatemala it was a real pleasure to find this hotel. Staff is very nice and helpful, hotel is clean, amenities are average

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

We arrived to this hotel last Friday. When we arrived all the staff was really friendly and willing to help us. The hotel is really clean and cozy. The decoration is beautiful. The location is truly great, it's very easy to get to shopping malls and also the city centre. And the area is safe, we could go out at night and not feel uncomfortable. The rooms are big and very nice. And the food is truly delicious. We had a great weekend!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

I feel like somebody important there, all the personel treathme like the president! hahaha!, the atmosphere it's not too old but not too modern, it just contemporary, near by the hotel there is a place called "4Grados Norte", it's not a Mall because it is not in a building, it's more like a cultural place, during the day it's more like a familiar place,with restaurants and such like, but in the night this become in something as a bohemian place, with galleries, improvised mini concerts and presentations, exotics places and a lot of other things to do and to visit.
I thing this hotel its great, even when it's arquitecture is not very modern, the attention and service compensate it, the rooms, comfortables and clean everytime, the personel very friendly, perfect location and a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

Basic hotel for a basic trip, was not too bad. Good location, friendly staff and locals. Good food close by. Great sights!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

I would stay here again most definetely. The cost is very reasonable and the staff are great. It is a little older but is kept up very well.
The rooms were nice and in the new part you could receive wireless internet in your room.
The rooms were clean and the food was good. I had the opportunity to eat chicken almost every way it can possibly be cooked.
I especially enjoyed the hospitality of the staff. They were great with us. We stayed their for an athletic competition and we were treated like VIPs. I would recommend this place to anyone.
It is in a dangerous area and venturing out past 6:30pm is not recommended. But if you are going to stay in Guatemala City, this is an okay place to stay.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The location.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

I booked a reservation by phone and then obtained an email confirmation from the reservations desk (M. Zamora). When the hotel van picked us up at the airport, the driver told us that the hotel was full and offered to take us to another hotel. We refused, arrived at the Conquistador lobby, and were again told that no rooms were available. I showed a printout of my email reservation confirmation, indicating the confirmation number. "Sir," they told me, "just because you have a reservation dsoesn't mean room availability is guaranteed." Judge for yourself. We went to the Guatemala City Holiday Inn on the spot and found it to be a wonderful place to stay.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Conquistador Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conquistador Hotel & Conference Center

Address: via 5 4-68 zona 4, Guatemala City 01004, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Conquistador Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 151 rooms (5 apartments, 24 Junior Suites and 122 double rooms), smoking and non-smoking. Rooms have thermo-acoustic windows, air conditioning and internet access. We offer large meting spaces for social events from 10 to 700 people. We are a few minutes from the Airport, Financial Center, sport stadium, Historical Downtown, a walking distance of banks, malls and The National Theater. From the Hotel there is easy access to all transportation within the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Conquistador Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conquistador Hotel Guatemala City
Conquistador Hotel And Conference Center
Ramada Guatemala City
Hotel Conquistador Guatemala City
Conquistador Hotel & Conference Center Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conquistador Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.