We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Guatemala City to your Saves list
Barcelo Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Avenida 15-45, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Visit to the city
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

I stayed at this hotel only one night. Rooms were large and beautifully furnished. Bathrooms with brand new towels and various cosmetics, also coffee and tea machine. I had a beautiful balcony overlooking the pool and surrounding buildings (nothing special). Beds very comfortable and clean, with white crisp linen. Staff speaks very good English which is very rare in Guatemala
The hotel has free transportation to and from the airport every hour and a free ride to the mall.
I ate dinner in the buffet restaurant, was very good and service excellent.
This hotel has floors for smokers and no smokers.
I highly recommend this place. This hotel has everything you can desire and more

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    259
    52
    15
    19
See reviews for
77
156
80
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Location is in Zona 9, not advised to walk around but hotel has great service, good food, rooms with balconies, etc.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Two friends and I traveled to Guatemala with Gate 1. The hotel in Guatemala City was perfect, with helpful staff, a lovely (and inexpensive) spa, a great pool, and a good location. After our first day relaxing, we boarded the bus with Walter as our guide.

Walter gave us interesting information on the scenic and beautiful drive to Antigua, where we saw beautiful churches, great views, and had free time for lunch. We then went on to Chichicastanengo, a wonderful Mayan city with a lot of character. Our hotel there, the Mayan Inn was architectually fascinating, though the rooms smelled musty and were not the best lit or most comfortable. However, it was clearly the best hotel in the area, and the staff was very helpful. Don't miss a trip to the cemetery if you go!

The next day, we went on to Lake Atitlan, where our trip was unfortunately cut short due to rain. I'd like to spend more time there, as it was beautiful. We then went back to Guatemala City.

Overall, the trip was lovely. The staff was always helpful and friendly, the accommodations were about the best available, and the sights were great. On my next trip, I'd plan to spend more time in Antigua and at Lake Atitlan, but I'm glad I went.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

This upscale hotel was part of our 5 day package from Gate 1 Travel.

Gate 1 Travel was excellent about booking our trip to Guatemala with day tours to Antigua and Lake Atitlan including an awesome overnight in Chichicastenango at the Mayan Inn.

This particular hotel was in a very nice and safe area of Guatemala City with various restaurant within a walking distance.

The hotel personnel was efficient, professional and very courteous.
The hotel is well maintained with a nice pool area and the rooms are excellent.
The breakfast buffet (included with the room) is simply spectacular with many international and local dishes.
I definitelly recommend Gate 1 Travel to book your trip to Guatemala and this nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chile
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

I am unable to find a quiet hotel in Guatemala and the Barcelo was also noisy. I left the clarion suites because of the noise and moved to the Barcelo. At first I thought it was good until around 9.00pm the Convention Center gets going with the thumping disco music which goes on all night. Take away the noise from the Convention center and it would be ok. The rooms are nice, clean and well appointed. The staff seem to be ok. The internet connection was useless, very slow – also you need to ring the reception each time you want to connect and they charge $10 per day. Room service was quick and the food good. I liked the pool as it was nice and big and no one seemed to be using it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

The hotel was elegant and clean, the service was first class. Incredible pool and spa area. Gourmet fare with astounding buffet. Friendly, professional, very visible staff treated us like royalty. Excellent amenities. Close proximity to airport. Shuttle service hourly. ATM/Debit machine in lobby. My travel partner and I were placed in the newer tower; our friends in the older tower. The older section was very clean and equally well-appointed but it was, well, older! So, if possible, ask to be placed in the new tower. Safe -- you must insert your room key in the elevator in order to push the button to that floor.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Hotel is in Zone 9, closest to the airport so you can hear the aircraft engines roar, sometimes at 1am. WIndows are not soundproofed so you can also hear the hotel's central air conditioning plant late at night from the seventh floor, if your room overlooks that side.

Having stayed at the Intercontinental a few blocks away in Zone 10, the Barcelo is dated and definitely not in the same league. However, the breakfast and lunch buffets are very good, and the corporate room rate is much lower. It is nice to be able to check in for your AA flight at the office in the hotel and avoid the long line at the airport.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Guatemala City

Address: 7 Avenida 15-45, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Guatemala City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City. Its elegant 383 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Barcelo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Marriott Guatemala City
Guatemala City Marriott
Guatemala City Barcelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Guatemala City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.