We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Barcelo Guatemala City to your Saves list
Barcelo Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Avenida 15-45, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Visit to the city
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
New York City, New York
1 review
“Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Barcelo Guatemala City is the perfect stay! it is close to the Aurora International Airport and to the great Zona Viva area with plenty of good restaurants, clubs and excellent entertainment.
The hotel staff is great! Great service and an incredible breakfast. On my next trip I will not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    238
    47
    14
    18
See reviews for
73
146
76
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We just arrived from a long trip from the airport and they said they had no system and that they could not give us our room wich is prepaid and to leave and to call tommorow for a refund or date change he did not offer a complimentary meal or help on finding another hotel. Nothing!! NADA! my husband pissed of and a really nice man near the lobby told us its crap this guy simply does not know how to do his job and that they indeed should give us a room even if there is no system So my husband talked to the guy and demanded our room. So we are waiting now for the rooms. And very pissed of and tired!! He now says to wait 10 minutesm there is also a woman who has been wating for 2 hours!!! Last time i stay here!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Augusta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A short ride from the airport and in the middle of downtown. I walked into an impressive hotel lobby. The check-in was easy and the clerk was pleasant and helpful. The room was very nice and the bed comfort could not have been better. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip. The hotel restaurant was good but was also able to walk to several other very good restaurants at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed there for a week in May and I can say we felt safe in the area and with the staf on point at all times of the day and early mornings, the lobby was very impressive the resturant was outstanding and the breakfast buffet was very good the pool was nice to come back and relax in.

Room Tip: ask for a nonsmoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed at Barcelo Hotel for 3nts on a holiday, I've stayed there previously but this time the quality of service was above and beyond my expectations. The restaurants, the food, the preparation and the cleanliness was as impeccable as any 5star hotel. I was able to speak to the head executive chef Nina Aldana Garcia, hats off to her for her professionalism and experience in keeping a unique food quality and selection for business and vacationing travelers.
The location from and to the airport is just 10 minutes away, the hotel provides complimentary shuttle service. I recommend anyone this hotel for pleasure or business!!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at the Barcelo in Guatemala City for a week in June. I was apprehensive traveling to Guatemala as I had heard about increasing violence there. This hotel was very secure. We felt very safe and enjoyed our stay there. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. Great food and we loved the patio seating. Their outdoor swimming pool was fantastic. We enjoyed laying out in the sun and swimming. The bedrooms are nice and do have firm beds. They provide many amenities other hotels do not. Toothbrush, razor, bath sponge, and more! They also leave two water bottles everyday for your consumption. We would most definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here on two separate occasions while passing through Guatemala City and each time we had a good experience. This is a very nice hotel. Both times we were given a room in the older main part and both rooms were well furnished and in good condition. The bed was firm, but OK. I was amused at the array of "useful" disposable items in the bathroom, but the actual toiletries consisted of nothing but the very basics - soap and shampoo, no body lotion. We loved the outside breakfast area and the breakfast buffet and the service was excellent. The waiting staff were very pleasant and friendly and always made an effort to have a small conversation. Our hotel deal included free wifi which seemed to work fine and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Guatemala City

Address: 7 Avenida 15-45, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Guatemala City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City. Its elegant 383 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Venere, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Marriott Guatemala City
Guatemala City Marriott
Guatemala City Barcelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Guatemala City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.