We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great hotel for the price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Guatemala City to your Saves list
Barcelo Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Avenida 15-45, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Visit to the city
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
College Park, Georgia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
478 helpful votes 478 helpful votes
“Such a great hotel for the price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Such a pleasant surprise. . .luxurious, accommodating, and amenity filled--at Hotwire prices!

This might have been the best $64 hotel room I’ve ever experienced. A great business-oriented hotel, located in Guatemala City’s best urban neighborhood--but with resort attributes as well.

The front desk agent, Diana, was great to us--even though we had purchased the room through Hotwire. I requested a room with a view of the volcanoes, and she obliged with a large corner room on the 9th floor. . .with not one but two balconies (one even had patio furniture and a clothes drying rack on it). Room 932 was light filled and nicely appointed, even if the decor was sort of pre-renovation Marriott. That said, the bed had great linens, a flat screen tv, and a granite bath--with a nearly Mandarin Oriental-caliber set of bath amenities. . .shoehorns and bath sponges, and dental kits, and shaving kits, and so it goes. The shower had great pressure, but was tough to regulate, and a retrofit of glass doors made entering the shower tough. The shower is subject to hot and cold water spasms as well.

If that weren’t enough value for $64, the hotel also included complimentary internet, a full breakfast buffet for two, and even a free shuttle to the airport. By my calculation, just those elements were worth $64--so effectively, the room was free.

The breakfast buffet is noteworthy--particularly given that the hotel included it in our rate. Great breakfast offerings, from tropical fruit juices to freshly made omelets, were complemented by being able to sit at poolside. Coffee was wonderful as well.

While the fitness center was small, there were enough equipment for me to get in the only workout of our trip. The hotel’s pool and Jacuzzi are quite large and are right outside the gym.

The hotel’s location is very convenient--just 9 minutes from the airport--in one of the most upscale areas of Guatemala City, Zona Viva. Extreme caution traveling around Guate is a good idea, but the blocks surrounding the hotel (particularly once you have crossed Reforma) are filled with restaurants and other hotels.

I don’t mean to oversell the hotel--at its core, it is a thorough redo of a 1980s Holiday Inn--but it is a phenomenal value where the staff treated us like royalty even when we booked on Hotwire.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    258
    52
    15
    19
See reviews for
77
156
80
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of a CARAVAN tour and for a city hotel it was very good. The location, room, food, service, decor, and balcony were all fine. The ATM in the lobby was very useful for getting local money. The buffet restaurant was exceptional in the selection of good food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A supermarket to stock up on beer, Coke, wine and snacks was only 2 blocks away and safe in daytime. Hotel security was excellent.

Room Tip: I like outdoor balconies. This is a big, noisy city. I liked the view toward the airport, but some p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCKFORD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here three times as we crisscrossed Guatemala . Our favorite part of this hotel is its pool and hot tub, the temperature of both are perfect. As the title says this hotel cost less than high end hotels right across the Main Street but does not lack amenities. Breakfast is great and the beds and bedding comfortable. V

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I read the rather unfair review on this hotel in Lonely Planet's Guatemala guide so didn't expect much. When we were dropped off after a quick drive from the airport, I was pleased to arrive at a peaceful & cool oasis amidst the chaotic bustle of Guatemala City. I love bustle - but sometimes you need to get away from it and I can't think of a nicer place. For those familiar with the Barcelona chain - this one is far grander and more elegant than their UK and European venues, though with a slight hint of 80's Dynasty chic about it.

The front desk staff are friendly, polite and welcoming (we were given a complimentary upgrade to a two storey junior suite) and the breakfast buffet was fantastic.

Those on a business trip may appreciate the Jade Maya branch in the lobby, making it easy to pick up the famous Guatemalan jade souvenirs to take home.

Wifi access was free - though a little weak in our room - and the facilities such as the gym with yoga/Pilates classes and the outside pool are superb. My only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I cannot believe we paid just a $100 for this place. It is a beautiful five star hotel. Wonderful wood decor. We ate in the hotel at the buffet and it was outstanding. You know if I am lucky enough to go back to Guatemala I will be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

When traveling to Guatemala City., the Barcelo hotel has., great service., breakfast served daily. . The front desk features outstanding., service., appearance., and communication skills., taxi and shuttle service available, Security., is helpful., and very professional. Pool is heated., and VERY enjoyable., pleasant for that long awaited swim., natural hot springs., spa., is outstanding. The room are sizable., very clean., and extremly quiet. With hotel located in town., there is outside noise., but there is no sounds that would interrupt your rest. The shower in the room., is a little odd., as the door opens inward., and the soap dispensers are located under the shower hear., which creates some problems, strange! We had a room at the end of the hall., so it was very quiet., room service was outstanding., The business center., is located off the main lobby., for any additonal questions or needs that you might need. All services., salon., bar, gift shoes., meeting rooms., are available. Everyone is very willing to see that you stay is a pleasant one., and that you will return., when in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 9th floor., not much activity., very quiet., at the end of the hall., so we had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Front desk service was just OK. Internet is $10/day extra and front desk was not helpful getting password to use it. Rooms are great, Restaurant staff is great. and it is only 5 - 10 minutes from airport. We stayed one night on our own and three nights with a bus tour group.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Guatemala City

Address: 7 Avenida 15-45, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Guatemala City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City. Its elegant 383 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Barcelo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Marriott Guatemala City
Guatemala City Marriott
Guatemala City Barcelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Guatemala City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.