We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would recommend this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Guatemala City to your Saves list
Barcelo Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Avenida 15-45, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% discount
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Orr, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I would recommend this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The tour we took chose this hotel for our stay at the beginning and at the end. I can't comment on the price since it was included in our tour fee. It's a very decent hotel, with a spacious common area. The room was a typically nice room in a typically nice hotel. The breakfast and evening buffets included many very good dishes; the pool water was warm; there's a nice gift shop for those who didn't buy quite enough on their stay in Guatemala. If I were to go back to Guatemala City on my own, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    337
    72
    23
    25
See reviews for
106
194
102
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Atitlan
Level Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a very large hotel, with lots of shops, restaurants, and cozy places to sit and rest. The restaurants are very good, however expensive by Guatemala standards. The breakfast buffet goes on for yards, literally more than 100 feet long. If you count your breakfast experience by the foot, then you will be in heaven.
The beds are the most comfortable of any hotel I have experienced in Guatemala, hands down. The location is good and convenient. They charge an extra $5 per device (not per room) for internet. That can add up if you have a couple of laptops. I will be back for another visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

On arrival from the airport I was pleased to know the hotel was so close to the airport as I was exhausted after travelling from Australia. The check-in service was quick and friendly and the room was fantastic. The next morning I had a fantastic buffet breakfast overlooking the pool area and wishing I had decided to spend more than one night here. I was even more impressed when my shuttle bus to Xela did not turn up and all the effort the staff went to help. I would definitely recommend anyone to satay here and I will also stay here again.

Room Tip: I was in room 369 which seemed to be towards the back of the building. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Barcelo Hotel was located within 10 -15 minutes from the hotel. My husband and I stayed there two nights at the beginning and one night at end of our tour of Guatemala in Jan. The first two nights our room had a bad aroma, but when we returned at the end of the tour, we had a better room. The rooms had been updated, but it still had an old feeling to it. The stores within the hotel had a nice collection of Guatemalan products, and the personnel were helpful. The lobby and other facilities within the hotel are beautiful with outstanding architecture features. There are three restaurants in the hotel, but we ate the buffet meals at the La Vista all of the time. At breakfast individual fresh omelets and eggs can be prepared, and at lunch and dinner fresh individual stir fries are made as desired. Ana, a server at our table, was very attentive to our needs each morning. Guards are posted at all entrances and throughout the hotel in the public areas. When we entered the hotel at our arrival, there was a huge festive, traditional, ceremonial carpet made out of sawdust that had been painted with colorful designs. The desk personnel were helpful and graciously exchanged US money into Guatemalan money at a good exchange rate. Wifi was expensive, and there was a charge to use the computers in the business center. However, one could use the computer in the business center to print boarding passes. There is a supermarket within two blocks of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

A friend who frequently travels to Guatemala City recommended the Barcelo, and I have to say it is a good hotel at a fair rate. The hotel isn't brand spanking new, but it is clean and the room was quite nice. My biggest gripe with this hotel is that internet access was not included with the room, and it was expensive. I opted instead to use the internet in the business center, which just wasn't as convenient as having it available in the room. Others hotels I stayed in on this trip always had free wi-fi included. There were also a couple of mistakes made with our reservation and with housekeeping, but nothing major. As the Barcelo is somewhat cheaper than most of its competition in this part of town, it is a good bet.

Room Tip: higher floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I've been to lots of cities in central America. This has been one of the nicest hotels. The staff is friendly, everything was spotless, the views are great and the wifi is strong (enough for emailing etc). I would advise you negotiate the rate though. We were able to get $70 USD per night including a full breakfast. The food prices are too high in my opinion. The dinner buffet was $22 USD which wasn't worth it in my opinion. The beds were a bit hard, which seems to be a common trend in central America, but enough rum solves that problem!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. If they have it available they'll accommodate you at no addition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed two nights in early January at the Barcelo (at the beginning and end of our trip). Since all the premium rooms were closed for renovation, we stayed in standard non-smoking rooms. Our first room faced the volcano and our second room faced the pool. Both had little balconies with sliding glass doors. The first room was definitely more worn and dingy than the second, perhaps because more people ask for the volcano view and those rooms are used more often? The beds in both rooms were very comfortable and the bathrooms were modern. The hot water in our first room was very hot and we had to be careful with our kids using it on their own. The common areas of the hotel smelled very strongly of air freshener on our first night, but that was much better when we returned. The front desk staff were professional, but not particularly warm or friendly. The security guards and bellmen did not acknowledge or greet us, unless we greeted them first. The breakfast buffet at La Vista restaurant is plentiful and full of variety, but some of the food didn’t taste particularly fresh. The fruit juices were really icky—the orange tasted suspiciously like Tampico. The outdoor pool area is pleasant and the water temperature is very nice. We swam on an afternoon that was not particularly warm and as long as we stayed submerged in the pool, it felt great. The location of the Barcelo and the hourly free shuttle to and from the airport are convenient features.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
3.2 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#3 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#1 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
#14 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#15 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Inmaculada Hotel
La Inmaculada Hotel
#2 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Guatemala City

Address: 7 Avenida 15-45, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Guatemala City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City. Its elegant 383 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Barcelo Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Marriott Guatemala City
Guatemala City Marriott
Guatemala City Barcelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Guatemala City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.