We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay if you like Diarrhea” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Guatemala City to your Saves list
Barcelo Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Avenida 15-45, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Visit to the city
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stay if you like Diarrhea”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I got food poisoing there. Stay was only mediocre until then, room was clean but dingy. Felt very safe though, which I undertand is a priority in G.C. I stayed there though Gate 1 tours which luckily refunded some of my money.

Room Tip: The included breakfast is no value, and stay away from the hotel restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    258
    52
    15
    19
See reviews for
77
156
80
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

October 2012, This was my second time to this hotel, both times after exhausting medical missions in small rural villages in the mountains of Guatemala. The first visit 2 years ago was very unexpected - our plane had mechanical problems, so the airline put us up at this hotel. After spending almost 2 weeks in very rough accommodations, and sharing rooms with 3 to 5 people per room - the Barcelo was HEAVEN!! We arrived at 8am and found out that we EACH had our OWN rooms for the next 24 hours!!!

The rooms and hotel are GORGEOUS (and not just 3rd world gorgeous - gorgeous on any continent!). This second trip was an overnight stay before catching our flight home, and was something I was really looking forward to! Rates were very reasonable, the food at this hotel was fabulous! After 2 weeks of local Guatemalan food up in the mountains (and most of it very good!), it was still wonderful to dig in to some excellent North American 'home' cooking :-)

The pool is beautiful, and they even have 'fruity' vacation drinks served pool side. The ONLY complaint I would make is that during both visits it took an hour or longer to get the drink at pool side. Every other area of this hotel had EXCELLENT service!! After 2 weeks of 3rd world living, and struggling with my very poor Spanish - it was nice to have service in English, and feel like a 'Queen-for-a-day'! I'm definitely NOT complaining about ANY part of my trip to Guatemala - the medical missions were SO rewarding for me, that I feel terrible even making any negative comments in this review......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Barcelo in Guatemala City the week before Christmas in 2012. My tour was organized by Gate 1 Tours, who used a local agency, Clark Tours. The hotel is only 10-15 minutes from the airport and in a quiet neighborhood. I was not expecting a 4 star quality because of the price of the tour, and was pleasantly surprised when I checked in. I was given a large corner room with double balconies and huge sliding glass doors on the 8th floor, with views of the volcanoes and a king size bed. A big buffet breakfast was included as well. The staff speaks English and was very helpful. My only complaint is that there was no free WiFi, as this is now standard at many hotels. The hotel was probably fairly quiet because of the time of year I was there, but it far exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room high up if it is available. The room feels bigger and views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I had a reservation at Barcelo for nine days. The staff gave me a plain room, instead of the room I had reserved. Their explanation was that those rooms were not available because they were remodeling them. I asked for the manager and was told he was on vacation. A rude supervisor sent me to the business center to "get help." Two days later I was on the street with my luggage and no room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Rooms are a little dated but staff is kind and responsive, the pool area is really impressive and the breakfast buffet is surprisingly good with LOADS of options. Someone from the hotel was waiting for us at the airport and transportation to the hotel went smoothly. Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

There were some things that drove me nuts about this hotel, and others that were great. Not good: 3 rooms in a row had problems with the lock on the sliding glass door onto the patio. The bath/shower is configured such that you have to be IN the bath to turn on the water, but the hot water is scalding hot, so I seriously scalded my feet trying to turn on the water for a bath. The good: beautiful lobby with lovely holiday decorations, fabulous full breakfast buffet with lots of tropical fruits. Also I left something in my room when I checked out, and they found it and got it to a friend who was still there. It is close to the airport so that is a plus too. However I had concerns about security with the unlocked door, and I was limping from scalded feet. They could easily turn down the temperature of the hot water to a safe level, given the poorly designed shower/bath configuration. I am afraid a child is going to be seriously injured.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the tall tower facing the volcano. The corner room has 2 balconies - 2 sets of windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel has gone severely down hill since it was the Marriott. I walked off the elevator and it was so overly perfumed that I choked. It was just as bad in my room and they now have bedbugs. Got bitten during the night and had to change rooms. Disgusting! Do not stay here!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,



Thank you for choosing our Barceló Guatemala City during your stay in Guatemala.

Please accept our most sincere apologies regarding the incident which occurred during your stay with us, it does not at all reflect our standards of quality and hygiene.


We have taken preventive actions in order to avoid this and thank you in advance for giving us a chance of attending you again.

Barceló Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Guatemala City

Address: 7 Avenida 15-45, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Guatemala City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City. Its elegant 383 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Barcelo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Marriott Guatemala City
Guatemala City Marriott
Guatemala City Barcelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Guatemala City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.