We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Guatemala City to your Saves list
Barcelo Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Avenida 15-45, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% discount
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Murray, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Oustanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I spent 3 nights in this hotel and received the best attention from staff all around. They were friendly, spoke English very well, and would stop whatever they were doing to show or get whatever you needed. The lockers for the swimming pool are a little hard to find but once you ask they will walk you to them. The breakfast buffet was top notch. It is also very close to the airport. I would definitely stay here again, no hesitation.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces away from the street if you like to sleep with the patio door open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you have had a pleasant stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Barcelo Guatemala City Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    286
    60
    19
    21
See reviews for
86
170
90
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This hotel does everything right - service, food, rooms, gym, pool...I couldn't fault it. Guatemala City isn't the greatest spot to spend too much time in, but it is a major business center and has some good museums as well. The incredible old city of Antigua less than an hour away as well.
This is a great hotel choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Barcelo Guatemala Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I visited a friend in Guatemala City just for a night and booked at room at the Barcelo based on TripAdvisor reviews. Although Guatemala City was underwhelming (beyond underwhelming), this hotel was lovely. The room was spotless, the bathroom was clean and well-equipped. The breakfast buffet (included in the price) had a terrific spread -- everything you could ask for. I had some great sushi at the in-hotel restaurant. I didn't use the swimming pool because the weather wasn't amenable, but it looked lovely and had a large hot tub attached. I checked around the property. There was a nice-sized health club, and the staff of the hotel were great. I was relieved to find that there was a hair salon at the hotel and that it was open on Sunday. I got a nice haircut, but the price was highway robbery (why didn't I ask first???); I'm too embarrassed to even tell you how much it cost. Nevertheless I recommend this hotel. i have a feeling you won't find anything better in Guatemala City.

Room Tip: There are two towers. I think I stayed in the newer one. The view was nice, even though it overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank your for your comments. We are glad that your experience in the Hotel was very pleasant. We do apologize about any inconvenience you may have had at the Hair Salon. We do hope to welcome you back in your next visit to Guatemala.

Kind regards,

Barceló Guatemala Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We flew into Guatemala City in the early am and we were much more exhausted than we realized. The shuttle was free and easy to find. The staff at the Barcelo was extremely accomodating and allowed us an early check in. I was just hoping they would let us store our bags until it was the normal check in time. I had a child wet the bed and they were very kind and helpful in cleaning up. Everyone we met there was friendly. My children were adopted from Guatemala and it is evident that the hotel did a major addition to accomodate those families only to see adoptions halted. The pool is huge and a great temperature. There is a baby area, hot tub and plenty of lap swimming. We had it all to ourselves a few times. The breakfasts were perfect for us because it was buffet style (and close to the pool). The clientel seemed to be mainly composed of business travelers and tour groups. We walked around the area and although it is not the best I didn't feel totally unsafe. In the hotel I felt very safe. You even had to use your key card to access the elevator. If on foot we tried to be in around dark. I don't normally like big chain hotels, but this one was very nice and we will definitely stay there again coming and going. My only dislike was the internet policy--definitely set up for business folks. To me it was a rip-off!

Room Tip: I think they tend to book tour groups by floors. If you can ask for a room away from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

It's 10 minutes from the airport(GUA) and you can use the hotel free shuttle, you must pay for internet esperate, breakfast was good, the gym was OK to get by, work out during the day cuz the lighting is dimmed there.
Hotel itself is safe but outside is pretty tough, use Taxi and don't walk around at night, I heared thiefs are big on cell fones. the pool and jacuzi are nice surrounded by nice landscapping.
the have a travel industria discnt. for $50 a night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I stayed at this hotel overnight on my way to Antigua. It's located not far from the airport and there is a hotel shuttle service to and from the airport which is very convenient. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms were nice and clean. There are a couple of nice restaurants at the hotel and the dining area (where the breakfast buffet is in the morning) is quite pretty with a nice view of the pool and tropical plants.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Barceló Guatemala Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011 via mobile

We decided to spend one night in Guatemala City to catch an early flight home, and the Barcelo was perfect for that. It is ten minutes from the airport and they have shuttles every hour on the hour, starting at 4 a.m.
The hotel has several restaurants, including a Japanese restaurant. Breakfast is included and they start serving at 5a.m. All in all, it is a very convenient hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We are also glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in your next visit to Guatemala.

Our kindest regards,

Barceló Guatemala City Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Guatemala City

Address: 7 Avenida 15-45, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Guatemala City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City. Its elegant 383 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Barcelo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Marriott Guatemala City
Guatemala City Marriott
Guatemala City Barcelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Guatemala City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.