We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you see is what you get!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Guatemala City to your Saves list
Barcelo Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Avenida 15-45, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Visit to the city
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What you see is what you get!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Looks exactly like the photos online, no surprises. Rooms were ok but great for the price we paid, $84 w/breakfast. They have two buildings, we stayed in the older building which was very clean but those rooms must have been smoking rooms at one time, they had a stale smoke smell that they tried to mask w/spray but the odor is in the carpets. I tried several rooms, same results. But you only smell it when you first enter, then it goes away. Friendly, helpful staff especially the Business Center, they were a tremendous help w/a wealth of knowledge. We definitely felt very safe on the property, excellent security. Nice size pool & jacuzzi. The breakfast was well worth including in the price of the room, good variety of food on the buffet & omelets made to order!

Room Tip: Go with the newer building, but if you want or need a balcony stay in the older building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have had related to the smoke smell in the room. We are also glad that overall you have had a pleasant stay and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Our kindest regards,

Barceló Guatemala Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    259
    52
    15
    19
See reviews for
77
156
80
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Stayed here July 3 and 4,2011 and loved the hotel. It has large rooms, all with balconies, an imposing lobby with a piano bar and several restaurants and shops. The breakfast buffet has something for all tastes in a quiet setting either overlooking the pool or inside. While right in the center of the city and quite close to the airport,it is very quiet and safe. Personnel are very polite and helpful. There is a wonderful carpet made of sawdust on display in the lobby, that is similar to those they use in the Antigua Holy Week festivities.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed at the Barcelo for three days at the beginning of our trip, and then again for three days at the end of our trip. This is an outstanding hotel with good security, which is important in Guatemala City.

Our room during our first stay overlooked the pool area from the 5th floor (507). The room was beautiful, the internet speed fast ($10/night), the view nice, and the comfort of the overall stay was definitely great. The staff that we interacted with were fabulous, all speaking English very well, and all wanting to make our every wish come true!

Our daughter was attending school with the Guatemalan Exchange student who lived with us 2-years ago, so my wife and I spent lots of time relaxing at the hotel during our first visit. The pool area is VERY well kept, and the restaurants are very nice.

During both stays we especially enjoyed “Strikers” where we found the service to be exceptional. I was interested in watching an NCAA College World Series game and they found the game and put it on a large screen TV just for us! Strikers is located in what was originally a “Champions” by Marriott. There is music on some nights, and the food and beer is very good. Remember that you are in a major hotel. The food prices represent what you would normally pay in a hotel.

We left Guatemala City and travelled much of the country, and then we returned here for the final three days of the trip so my daughter could experience another school in Guatemala City with her exchange student from this year.

Upon our arrival we were offered an upgrade to a “nicer” room for $20/night more. We took the upgrade as a treat. We had been away from home for a long time and this would make our last three days special. The room offered to us was no nicer than the room from our first stay other than the bathroom was a tiny bit larger. The bad thing was that it was on the inside of the hotel on the 3rd floor with NO VIEW other than a roof. We returned downstairs and they placed us back over in the same tower as our first stay with a room on the 8th floor with a magnificent view of Guatemala City looking out to the volcanoes and mountains.
The room in our second stay is exactly like the room from our first stay except that it is reversed. It was VERY comfortable. The only difference is that the water pressure in this room (828) is not as hard as the first room and the water tends to go from very hot to very cold at random times. This is not an issue once you know it will happen. Just point the shower head down and when the temperature fluctuates move away from it for about 5 seconds.

During this stay we had a driver to take us on a Guatemala City tour. We took pictures from the van, but we chose to not get out at many stops due to the fact that I was carrying a Nikon D7000 and I was told there was a high possibility that I would be robbed while carrying the camera. The best thing about having a driver is that you are told what zones are safe and what zones are not safe.

Negatives at the hotel are hard to find:

The breakfast buffet, which is excellent, has pretty terrible service. We actually had to change tables twice after waiting 15 minutes for someone to wait on us and nobody ever came. This was the same experience we had during our first stay. I also don’t understand why we paid for 3 people in our room but were only given 2 free buffets. An additional buffet charged to our room was near $20/US. My suggestion is order off the menu if you have an extra person and the cost will come out to about $9/US.

There is an issue with the elevators and the room keys that we all experienced (us and the other guests). You must put your room key into the elevator slot to make it go up. The room keys often don’t work which causes frustration for some people. I say just slow down and take your time. The key will eventually work. Just remain patient and the keys will work fine! I was told that they are putting in a new system to resolve this problem so I’m sure it will be fixed by our next visit to the Barcelo.

Check out on both visits was flawless. There were no surprises on the bill. From the time we arrived downstairs to the time we left the hotel was 5-7 minutes. There is a shuttle to the airport but we had a private driver pick us up. He helped with the luggage which is something I would not expect of a shuttle driver.

Overall, the Barcelo is what I would consider a world class business hotel. It was the perfect place for us to begin and end our trip to this beautiful country. I would highly recommend this for anyone who wants to stay in Guatemala City. On a scale of 1-10, I would say it is a high 9. For trip advisor it is a solid 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank your for taking your time writing these comments about our Hotel premises and service. They will help us take care of some details in order to meet our guests expectations and needs. We are also glad you have enjoyed your stay in Guatemala and in our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in your next visit.

Our kindest regards,

Barcelo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

This was our final stop on a tour of this lovely country. The hotel certainly is lavishly laid out and we felt under dressed arriving in our travelling clothes! However the staff were very pleasant and the room on floor 8 was really quite sumptuous. I wouldn't have wanted to sleep in the next room to the party going on until the late late hours on the floor above somewhere, but perhaps partying in your room is ok in Guatemala City!? Food and service everywhere was good, breakfast especially. There is a sports bar, open to the public, attached to the hotel where service wasn't that strong in comparison to the main area. We were there for one of the Galactacos games in Spain which is treated like a fiesta in the bars in the hotel- they do like their football! I have to say the city is not the best place to base yourself, so an overnight stay would be as much as we would recommend and this hotel would be a great place to spend it. Not cheap but not that expensive for a capital city hotel, so enjoy a brief stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Dear Guest:

We really appreciate your comments. We also would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have had with noise. According to our policies we usually request other guest to stop making noise in their rooms especially if it may disturb other guests.

As you mentioned, Guatemala City is not the most interesting place in our country but still you can find nice places to go nearby such as the handicrafts market, the Museums and "Centro Histórico" (Old Downtown) Thank you again for your input and we do hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Barcelo Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Excellent hotel. I have no complaints. Very good value and nice rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Overall hotel looks good but they have no policy.

I have one sleeveless t-shirt (not actuaaly, short sleeve), morning I wear it to go breakfast. After breakfast I change my cloths jacket, trouser, necktie etc. and start to meeting in my bussiness trip.

In this hotel, this morning they told me that I have to wear the shirt with sleeve. This is breakfast. If it is dinner, I can understand. The funny thing is breakfast saloon located at the swimming pool. No seperation, no door, totally open. When you have your breakfast, you can see all the peoples with swimwear. Also peoples coming there with short, ladies wearing strapless shirt etc..

I never seen such a stupid things even in Pakistan. What is this? Very conservative country or what?

Most funny thing, today is 3rd day of my stay and I ate my previous breakfasts with same t-shirt. After complaint, they invite me but I lost my appetite at all.

It must be the single policy of them to destroy their guest's pleasure... just it!

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear guest:

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have had at our Restaurant.
We also would like to let you know that we do have a dress policy, especially for our International Cuisine restaurant where breakfast buffet is served. These policies have been implemented according to our guests expetations and needs.
The Restaruant does have a nice view to the pool, but we have a separate outlet by the pool that serves drinks, cocktails and food for your convenience. We also have a Sports Bar that is open for lunch and dinner. Anyhow, our commitment is that all of our guest feel welcome and comfortable in Hotel premises and enjoy their stay. For that reason, we would like you to please accept our apologies and we do hope that we can welcome you back in your next visit.


Our kindest regards,

Barceló Guatemala Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

It's a big hotel with several restaurants, their breakfast buffet is excellent. It's in a fairly safe part of town, we walk a lot and headed over to the Zoo, it was closed the day we went. But next door is a huge Mercado with everything a tourist would want or not. Crossing the Reforma is ok, just go with signals. Restaurants are good in the Zona 9 & 10.

The hotel has a nice swimming pool and we recommend getting a room near the top floors of whatever bldg. you will be in as the view of the city is interesting. The Airport is near by and you can hear the jets coming and going. Also we tried to exchange money and the directions from the hotel staff to a nearby bank were very difficult to follow. They wouldn't exchange any money at hotel.

Otherwise it's a clean comfortable large Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloManager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Guatemala City, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Guest:

We would like to thank you for your comments especially those related to details we can improve in order to make your stay more comfortable and pleasant.

We apologize for not being able to exchange your money, we do offer US dollars or Euros exchange, but due to some local regulations, it has to be less than $200; otherwise, you have to go to a bank, there is one around the Hotel corner for your convenience. We also offer complimentary shuttle service to the Mall where you can find several bank options open even on weekends.

Once again, we appreciate your observations and we do hope to welcome you back in your next visit to Guatemala.

Our kindest regards,

Barceló Guatemala Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Guatemala City

Address: 7 Avenida 15-45, Guatemala City 01009, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Guatemala City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City. Its elegant 383 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Barcelo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Marriott Guatemala City
Guatemala City Marriott
Guatemala City Barcelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Guatemala City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.