We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel not including their security” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Tikal Futura Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Tikal Futura Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calzada Roosevelt 22-43 | Zona 11, Guatemala City 01011, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel not including their security”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Normally great service, but expect it to be impacted strongly on weekends especially when they are hosting a large group. Especially be aware of your property. There are professional Thieves frequent the hotel watching for groups checking-in. They are pros at distraction, then grab and run. Our group lost a bag with expensive computer, passport, cash, iPhone and other personal items. It is my preferred hotel in Guatemala City because of everything available in the area; two malls many restaurants, and the hotel itself. However, be very aware of your security - which probably can be said about any property in Guatemala City.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Good Afternoon Mr. Amsler:
Thanks for your comment, as you might remember we send you this letter in the precise moment , let me tell you that we had improvement our security standars and we will very please to invited you to come again to Grand Tikal Futura Hotel and check for yourself how we change.
Have a nice day.
Any Estrada
E Commerce Analyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    76
    26
    12
    12
See reviews for
34
50
18
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Returned for Semana Santa and as always, found the staff friendly and accomodating. Service was excellent. Room was clean and excellent. Security is prominent (overkill?) The attached mall makes the location the most convenient one could imagine. They are the best!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias Traveling Marco por tu comentario y mas aun por elegirnos para tu estadia, sera un gusto tenerte nuevamente en esta tu casa.
Any Estrada
E commerce Analyst.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A large hotel comparable to the Barcelo. maybe twenty minutes from the airport by hotel shuttle. Indoor pool and three hot tubs - well, one hot tub and two others. Good work-out room. Nice views of volcanoes. Wi-fi worked on the top floors. helpful staff. About a mile walk to Kaminalyuju. Right next to a huge mall with lots of fast food places, shopping, cinema, etc.

Room Tip: top floors for wi-fi and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear dgauss:
Thank you for your comment it was a pleasure for us to serve you. Hope to see you soon in Guatemala.
Yours truly

Any Estrada
E commerce Analyst
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
24-100-800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibley, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I take a large group each year to Latin America. This hotel exceeds what I thought I would find from looking on the website. The rooms were spacious. The food was good. I hope to take the group there this year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Jim F.
Thank you very much for your comments, is a real pleasure have your feed back and let us know if we can do something else to make your stay comfortable for you and your group.
Best Regards
Any Estrada
Ecommerce Analyst.
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night on Exodus's La Ruta Maya tour. Hotel looks great and was a huge step up from most of the hotels Exodus provided on our tour. Lobby and rooms were impressive and pool/spa area was great. Only gripe was that I found it impossible to get any hot water in the shower.

Breakfast buffet was immense with international and Guatemalan options, almost impossible to choose. Dinner in the restaurant was mixed for our group of 11. Six ordered steaks and all sent them back as they arrived stone cold. The kitchen then cooked them some more so everyone got well done even though they ordered rare or medium - couldn't be bothered to return them twice although perhaps should have done.

Had a drink in the bar afterwards where there was a good band and lots of people dancing, closed at midnight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Good afternoon, thank you for your comments, we are working to make it easier to use the showers. There are times when the restaurants are filled and try to improve care.
We look forward to having you again.
Best Regards
Any Estrada
Ecommerce Analyst.
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there several times on my most recent visit to Guatemala. For my needs I found the location more helpful than going into busy Zona Viva. The hotel isn't perfect, but I do tire of the pretensions of some of the other hotels in town. This time I was traveling with my 12 year old son who really loved their pool. It is indoors, but with a high glass clear ceiling that made it nice to be in during the day as well. The fitness centre had varied equipment although some of their machines should be replaced as I deemed them unsafe. The service from the staff were mostly positive. For our second stay this past week we stayed on the executive floor. It had a fabulous view of the volcanoes and definitely was quality and value combined. One minor issue is the problem with the lack of functioning electric plugs as in both the lower and upper floors we had problems locating plugs that worked properly. The lower floor room also did not have functional wifi in the room and the LAN cable in the room did not function, but for the economical price paid, I would definitely go back here or the executive floor in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Good afternoon, thank you for your comments,about your suggestions we are working give you a better The internet improving it by installing antennas in several points of the hotel to have a good signal .
We hope to have you here soon.
Best Regards
Any Estrada
Ecommerce Analyst.
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel looks impressive from the outside and has a range of good things like a pool spa and gym although the pool can be a little cold, the 2 nights i stayed went pretty well the rooms are great and clean staff are helpful but not over the top, the only thing i would say is make a tab at reception i booked online and presumed because they had my card details i could just sign for what i wanted and pay when i left..no....i had a pepsi in the pool area and had all sorts of issues with the payment i had to speak to 3 people to tell them i will pay when i dry and go back to my room for cash...when i went to my room the gentleman appeared as if i wasnt going to pay, pretty poor i thought for a big hotel
Also far away from zone 10, 35 Q for a taxi isnt too bad tho

o be careful with the scrambled eggs, mine wasnt cooked properly and i felt bad for 24 hrs

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Good afternoon Mr. Keith: Thanks for your comment, Let me tell you that usually the credit data of every guest are closely guarded by security and used according to the instructions of each visitor We hve a New policy the guest tell us if he whant´s to leave open the voucher for additionals charges.
We hope to have you soon.
Your Truly
Any Estrada
Ecommerce Analyst.
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Tikal Futura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tikal Futura Hotel

Address: Calzada Roosevelt 22-43 | Zona 11, Guatemala City 01011, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#9 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Tikal Futura Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Tikal Futura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Tikal Futura
Grand Tikal Futura Guatemala City
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.