We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but little attention to detail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Tikal Futura Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Tikal Futura Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calzada Roosevelt 22-43 | Zona 11, Guatemala City 01011, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 46 hotels in Guatemala City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel but little attention to detail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night on Exodus's La Ruta Maya tour. Hotel looks great and was a huge step up from most of the hotels Exodus provided on our tour. Lobby and rooms were impressive and pool/spa area was great. Only gripe was that I found it impossible to get any hot water in the shower.

Breakfast buffet was immense with international and Guatemalan options, almost impossible to choose. Dinner in the restaurant was mixed for our group of 11. Six ordered steaks and all sent them back as they arrived stone cold. The kitchen then cooked them some more so everyone got well done even though they ordered rare or medium - couldn't be bothered to return them twice although perhaps should have done.

Had a drink in the bar afterwards where there was a good band and lots of people dancing, closed at midnight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Good afternoon, thank you for your comments, we are working to make it easier to use the showers. There are times when the restaurants are filled and try to improve care.
We look forward to having you again.
Best Regards
Any Estrada
Ecommerce Analyst.
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    62
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
21
35
15
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there several times on my most recent visit to Guatemala. For my needs I found the location more helpful than going into busy Zona Viva. The hotel isn't perfect, but I do tire of the pretensions of some of the other hotels in town. This time I was traveling with my 12 year old son who really loved their pool. It is indoors, but with a high glass clear ceiling that made it nice to be in during the day as well. The fitness centre had varied equipment although some of their machines should be replaced as I deemed them unsafe. The service from the staff were mostly positive. For our second stay this past week we stayed on the executive floor. It had a fabulous view of the volcanoes and definitely was quality and value combined. One minor issue is the problem with the lack of functioning electric plugs as in both the lower and upper floors we had problems locating plugs that worked properly. The lower floor room also did not have functional wifi in the room and the LAN cable in the room did not function, but for the economical price paid, I would definitely go back here or the executive floor in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Good afternoon, thank you for your comments,about your suggestions we are working give you a better The internet improving it by installing antennas in several points of the hotel to have a good signal .
We hope to have you here soon.
Best Regards
Any Estrada
Ecommerce Analyst.
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel looks impressive from the outside and has a range of good things like a pool spa and gym although the pool can be a little cold, the 2 nights i stayed went pretty well the rooms are great and clean staff are helpful but not over the top, the only thing i would say is make a tab at reception i booked online and presumed because they had my card details i could just sign for what i wanted and pay when i left..no....i had a pepsi in the pool area and had all sorts of issues with the payment i had to speak to 3 people to tell them i will pay when i dry and go back to my room for cash...when i went to my room the gentleman appeared as if i wasnt going to pay, pretty poor i thought for a big hotel
Also far away from zone 10, 35 Q for a taxi isnt too bad tho

o be careful with the scrambled eggs, mine wasnt cooked properly and i felt bad for 24 hrs

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Good afternoon Mr. Keith: Thanks for your comment, Let me tell you that usually the credit data of every guest are closely guarded by security and used according to the instructions of each visitor We hve a New policy the guest tell us if he whant´s to leave open the voucher for additionals charges.
We hope to have you soon.
Your Truly
Any Estrada
Ecommerce Analyst.
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was pleasantly suprised by the level of service, quality of meals, clean appreance and beautiful hotel rooms. I would definitely stay at Gran Tikal Futura in the future and recommend it to my associates.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Front Office Manager at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, it`s a pleasure have you here at your home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark Acres, Arkansas, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was a super nice hotel, I believe 4 star?, but WHY would they not put wifi in the guest rooms??? That was EXTREMELY disturbing!!!!!!! I stayed in a very run down hotel in El Salvador, before traveling to Guatemala, & I had FREE wifi IN my room - with 3 bars! It worked EXCELLENT!!! Then I traveled to the Tikal Futura Hotel, definitely expecting free wifi in my room, but that was NOT the case! Pretty sad!!! Everything else was great, & all of the employees seemed very willing to help out in any way that they could!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

WOW. Rooms are fantastic with all the amenities you can think off. The hotel is about 15 min from Guatemala City Airport with free shuttle.
The hotel is in a mall complex with hundreds of restaurants around, all from Wendy's to deluxe restaurants.
We had a room with two queen beds for $70 + 22% tax. Book from their website. You might get a special like we did. Comparable room in US would be $190.

One of my all time favourite hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel represents excellent value.

The one negative is that the public areas could use a paint touch up.

That said, the hotel is excellent. Visually, it has a soaring atrium and my rooom was excellent: large and aesthetically appealing. The staff were extremely friendly, welcoming, and helpful.

The gym is reasonable. Room service was of a timely nature and represented reasonable value. The Sunday buffet was excellent.

Finally, management are to be commended. In December, my flight was cancelled at the last minute by American Airlines and the hotel refunded my money.

Excellent service and excellent value.

Room Tip: Room 1002 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Tikal Futura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tikal Futura Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Tikal Futura
Grand Tikal
Grand Tikal Futura Guatemala City
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City
Address: Calzada Roosevelt 22-43 | Zona 11, Guatemala City 01011, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Tikal Futura Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Venere, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Grand Tikal Futura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.