We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is going down hill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Tikal Futura Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Tikal Futura Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calzada Roosevelt 22-43 | Zona 11, Guatemala City 01011, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Simi Valley, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel is going down hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I feel the hotel is beautiful and it has a great location but the service is very poor and they are not friendly at all. I found the people working at the reception to be rude and uneducated. When I asked for directions, to get somewhere, they all looked at each other not knowing how to help me. I have stayed at this hotel many times before, but it appears as if it is going down hill. I also ordered room service which the food made me very sick the same night. I cancelled the last few days of my reservation and stayed at the Barcelo which was so much nicer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Analista de Comercio Electrónico at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped:
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios los cuales nos ayudan a mejorar en las áreas donde se necesita.
En relación a su comentario estamos tomando las medidas correctivas al respecto, mil disculpas por los inconvenientes. Esperamos que en su próxima visita a la ciudad de Guatemala, nos dé la oportunidad de atenderlo como usted lo merece.

Saludos Cordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    75
    26
    12
    11
See reviews for
32
48
18
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We needed a hotel in G.C. close to the airport for an early flight. Of the "airport hotels," we booked this room based on the hotel website's pictures/spread of their amazing pool. We got there at 3:00 pm. After eating at the restaurant (great place), we got to the pool at 4:40. The pool attendant informed us that the pool was to close at 5:00. Really? Awesome. Kids were crestfallen and we were bummed. The kicked us out at 5:00.

We talked to the manager. He informed us that they had scheduled the closure for the holiday so their employees could spend time with families. Certainly understandable and laudable. We asked him why there had been no notice on their website nor at checkin. His only reply was that they had made a mistake.

He offered us 50% off at the restaurant if we would visit later for dessert. No thanks, we said. Asking a guest to spend money in order to recieve their apology isn't acceptable. In the end, he agreed to send us free dessert by room service. The creme brullee was very good.

Stay again? No. Not with that kind of service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuniceReyna, Analista de Comercio Electrónico at Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped:
Reciba un cordial saludo de todo el equipo de Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, le agradecemos el tiempo que se ha tomado para escribir su comentario, el cual nos ayuda a mejorar y prestar un mejor servicio. En relación a su comentario le informo que efectivamente tenemos una política de varios años que el área del Spa del Hotel para las fechas 24, 25 y 31 de Diciembre, así como el 01 de Enero, el horario para nuestros clientes es hasta las 18:00 horas, ésto lo hacemos para que nuestros colaboradores tengan la oportunidad de compartir con sus familias en esas fechas de fin de año.
Mil disculpas por las molestias ocasionadas, le aseguro que subiremos dicha información a nuestra página Web y los diferentes sitios electrónicos para que estén informados.
No me resta más que hacerle la más cordial invitación para poder atenderle a usted y a su familia como se lo merecen.

Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Guatemala City and needed to stay in the city for a few days on several occasions. We were recommended Grand Tikal Futura Hotel and even though it isn't in the Tourist Zone (Zone 10) we decided to try it. We were not disappointed in the grandeur of the building, the friendly staff, clean spacious rooms and the safe environment. We enjoyed using the covered heated pool, spa, gym and restaurant. On one of our stays we booked into the executive floor which was a bit more expensive but included buffet breakfast, unlimited espresso coffee and bottled water and supper with a couple of drinks included. This worked out to be very good value and convenient. We had room service for dinner one night and one breakfast and the single meal size was big enough to feed both of us. They have complimentary airport shuttles. Taxis are readily available to take you to museums etc. There is an excellent museum right next door and a shopping plaza under the hotel and another next door. If I need to stay in Guatemala City again I will definitley be returning to the Grand Tikal Futura Hotel!

Room Tip: Executive rooms on level 9 include some food & drinks. Volcano views from some rooms - ask at d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Convenient location - 7 minutes from the international airport. On lower levels of the building - big shopping mall. Nice huge rooms and apartmants, big and comfortable beds, subtle touch of bedcloths. Frenetic breakfast , big variety of cold and hot dishes in different styles - good and elegant service. Good to be here

Room Tip: From the top levels - nice city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

So i've stayed in my share of guatemala hotels. Ranging from the Radisson to the Westin. All had their pros and cons. On this trip upon arriving to Guatemala I was suprised to find out that my usual hotels where not only full, but they had raised their rates to a staggering 140 + usd. I instantly wipped my cell and looked at tripadvisor and stumbled upon this property. What a great find! The hotel has everything you could ever need. It has a mall on the lower level, granted its not your Boca Raton mall, but its a simple little plaza with a great food court and cinema. Bang opposite you can find another plaza with a Chucky Cheese, and other misc stores. On the side the biggest and newest mall in guatemala, with stores ranging from Zara to Swarovski. On the sides you can find taco bell, pollo campero, and a few other fast food places and restaurants. On the back end of the mall, right behind the hotel you have everything from Ihop to sizzlers. The hotel has a great spa, pool, and gym. The gym area is clean and well kept. They have 3 hot tubs, which are a great stop after a busy day of working or traveling. The rooms are modern, sleek and for central america, I'd say are in the range of a marriott. The staff is nice and always willing to help. The only thing missing is a concierge or a guest relations staff member, aside from this hotel is A+. My only suggestion is that the food and bevarages in the hotel are a little high, (20 bucks for 2 beers) but with so many options outside the hotel, its not even an issue.

Room Tip: Hotel seems to have issues with WIFI. Ask for a router in your room if you really need internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel is great location, next to a major mall which I did not have a chance to visit. The arrival was a bit slow as they did not have enough staffing on the arrival date. The hotel room was great and so was their breakfast selection available for all hotel guests. I would definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khabarovsk, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed in Grand Tikal Fututra for 3 nights, I stayed in a room on a Royal floor. The hotel was very clean, the staff nice and the room was just fantastic. Great service, including free tea, coffe and cocktails plus canapes through out the day. excellent gym and spa centre. Very good located. Highly reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Tikal Futura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tikal Futura Hotel

Address: Calzada Roosevelt 22-43 | Zona 11, Guatemala City 01011, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#9 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Tikal Futura Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Tikal Futura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Tikal Futura
Grand Tikal Futura Guatemala City
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.