We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why go anywhere else?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Tikal Futura Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Tikal Futura Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calzada Roosevelt 22-43 | Zona 11, Guatemala City 01011, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 47 hotels in Guatemala City
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Why go anywhere else?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

So i've stayed in my share of guatemala hotels. Ranging from the Radisson to the Westin. All had their pros and cons. On this trip upon arriving to Guatemala I was suprised to find out that my usual hotels where not only full, but they had raised their rates to a staggering 140 + usd. I instantly wipped my cell and looked at tripadvisor and stumbled upon this property. What a great find! The hotel has everything you could ever need. It has a mall on the lower level, granted its not your Boca Raton mall, but its a simple little plaza with a great food court and cinema. Bang opposite you can find another plaza with a Chucky Cheese, and other misc stores. On the side the biggest and newest mall in guatemala, with stores ranging from Zara to Swarovski. On the sides you can find taco bell, pollo campero, and a few other fast food places and restaurants. On the back end of the mall, right behind the hotel you have everything from Ihop to sizzlers. The hotel has a great spa, pool, and gym. The gym area is clean and well kept. They have 3 hot tubs, which are a great stop after a busy day of working or traveling. The rooms are modern, sleek and for central america, I'd say are in the range of a marriott. The staff is nice and always willing to help. The only thing missing is a concierge or a guest relations staff member, aside from this hotel is A+. My only suggestion is that the food and bevarages in the hotel are a little high, (20 bucks for 2 beers) but with so many options outside the hotel, its not even an issue.

Room Tip: Hotel seems to have issues with WIFI. Ask for a router in your room if you really need internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    63
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
21
36
15
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel is great location, next to a major mall which I did not have a chance to visit. The arrival was a bit slow as they did not have enough staffing on the arrival date. The hotel room was great and so was their breakfast selection available for all hotel guests. I would definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khabarovsk, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed in Grand Tikal Fututra for 3 nights, I stayed in a room on a Royal floor. The hotel was very clean, the staff nice and the room was just fantastic. Great service, including free tea, coffe and cocktails plus canapes through out the day. excellent gym and spa centre. Very good located. Highly reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed with 5 friends at this hotel while on a mission trip for 8 nights. The hotel is very clean. The rooms are very standard. Our AC unit did not work during the day and was infrequently working. I had a roommate and we had plenty of room for the two of us. We were on the 4th floor by the elevator banks. The downside to the hotel is that the lobby gets extremely noisy. And it can get loud with big groups of people. The hotel does have wifi but we couldn't get it in our room but it worked great in the lobby. The hotel is tied into a basic mall, but next door is an amazing mall! Also, the restaurant has a really good breakfast buffet with an omelet bar, fruit, pastries, and great fresh juice. The staff was friendly. I would stay here again, as I'm sure it's a nice hotel for Latin America.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The outside of the hotel and lobby look GREAT! But the hotel room not what I expected, however very clean. The staff was polite but made me feel very uneasy like I was being watched everwhere I was going. The pool area definately needs a make over, I sat inthe jacuzzi for only 3 mins. I couldn't stand the smell of the mold coming from the rocks, not relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed for just one night.

Room was ok, bathroom was good.

Must improve to have wifi in the rooms.

Front desk could also improve service: an envelope was dropped in the lobby, and nobody told us. Our airplane tickets to Tikal were there. Luckily our travel agency was fast and returned to the hotel to take our tickets back to us.

Room Tip: Please be sure to ask for Nonsmoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights with my family, while I did biz meetings during the day.
They have excellent restaurants, japanese and local guatemalan food. There is an indoor climate controlled pool too, the kids loved it.
We had an executive suite for $135, you can't beat that. Also access to drinks and food on the executive floor.
We travel the world a lot, and this hotel had it all I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Tikal Futura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tikal Futura Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Tikal Futura
Grand Tikal
Grand Tikal Futura Guatemala City
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City
Address: Calzada Roosevelt 22-43 | Zona 11, Guatemala City 01011, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#13 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Tikal Futura Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Tikal Futura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.