We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms needs renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Guatemala City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Guatemala City to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1a. avenida 12-46 zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
HOLIDAY PROMO - SAVE 20%
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Rooms needs renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I liked the kindness of the staff. The location is a bit far away from the city center, but most hotels are located in this area anyway. Booked a junior suite, which was spacious. The bed was excellent and ensured a good night sleep. The LCD-TV was large size. The bathroom was outdated. There was a fridge, but no minibar.

I was quite disappointed how dirty and old the carpet in the room was. Full of stains, old and smelly. A bit amazed that normally such as good quality hotel chain does allow this. Had to wear shoes all the time, while inside the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monicap1402, Reservations Manager at Radisson Hotel Guatemala City, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive warm greetings from Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City.

We want to thank you for taking the time on sending us your feedback about your recent stay at our Hotel. We are glad to read that our staff fulfilled your expectations.

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the carpet in your room during your stay. I want to let you know that the hotel is currently being remodeled and we are working on improving this.

Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. If you need anything else, please do not hesitate to contact me. It will be a pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,


Monica Palacios
Reservations Manager
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
reservaciones2@radissonguatemala.com
(502) 2421-5151 ext. 199
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    123
    40
    19
    6
See reviews for
37
34
19
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I appreciated the shuttle that picked me up at the airport. The hotel is old and it was crowded with a Church group... Waiting in line for an elevator could take up to 10 mins... Wifi never worked on my iPad, and all in all the place has nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monicap1402, Reservations Manager at Radisson Hotel Guatemala City, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time share your experience.

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.

To discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact us, it will be a pleasure to serve you.

Sincerely,


Mónica Palacios
Reservations Manager
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
reservaciones2@radissonguatemala.com
(502) 2421-5151 ext. 199
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel is horrible. Some highlights

BAD

- A/C broken for two days. No discount or offer to "make it right" given to clients
- LOUD shower from room next door. Sounds like turbine engine.
- Hotel room doors don't shut properly because the security chain always gets in the way
- No swimming pool
- Breakfast is lackluster. Ten waiters walking around nobody can figure out that I need my coffee refilled
- Shower heads filled with hard water deposits, water jets go in 10 different directions

GOOD

- Can't think of any

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monicap1402, Reservations Manager at Radisson Hotel Guatemala City, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us.

We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards. We undersatand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the inconvenience caused. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the Breakfast. Our goal is to ensure we are offering fresh food and that each item is available for all of our guests.

Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in Guatemala again.

If you would like to discuss your concern further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. It will be a pleasure to serve you.

Sincerely,


Mónica Palacios
Reservations Manager
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
reservaciones2@radissonguatemala.com
(502) 2421-5151 ext. 199
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a very good experience in the Radisson. It is very functional and quality of the food is high above average. Breakfast is really recommendable. My front desk experience was really pleasant and staff was trying to be as helpful as they could. Unfortunately no pool, just a hot tub.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Radisson is convenient to the airport - 10-15 min drive with traffic, you can watch the planes take off from the rooftop terrace.

The area, Zona Viva, has a few big hotels and plenty of restaurants, but is unfortunately considered unsafe for walking around, especially after dark - apparently, this is the prime location for evening drug wars, and people have been robbed at gunpoint within blocks of this property. Unfortunately, that is a function of Guatemala city - just don't go anywhere at night!

As for the hotel itself.. It is an older property, and it shows. Pretty much everything except the room furniture and bedding is really old, and feels kind of dirty. I had a large double room for myself, comfy soft bed and plenty of space, theoretically non-smoking - but it smelled like someone has been smoking there years ago, and the carpet and curtains still carry the smell. The shower/tub is spacious, but overall it has that old feel - tile grout darkened with age, occasional cracked tile, dings on the mirror frames, etc. New large TV though. Room safe did not work. Common areas have new furniture, but retain overall old feel.

The restaurant is not particularly exciting, but the food was good - both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast selection was basic but sufficient for most people (i.e. eggs to order, bacon/potatoes/beans, couple types of cereal, fruit, yogurt). Fried plantains are delicious...

The gym was quite good, lots of cardio machines, and the large hot tub on the roof was nice too.

Service-wise - I did not have any problems, on the contrary - all the personnel has been friendly and professional.

I'd stay here again for a short overnight stay, but if I need to spend 3 days again, I'd probably try Westin Camino Real nearby. You tend to spend so much time in your room in Guatemala city stays - it needs to be a bit nicer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballantrae Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is an ideal hotel for those flying in or out of the city. Free shuttle. Breakfast included. Walking distance to some excellent restaurants. Relatively safe. Our suite was room 701 on the north side of the building. It had an excellent king bed with a Sony flat screen TV. The bathroom door would not close never mind lock. The dead bolt did not function at all. The hotel's air conditioning unit was right outside the sitting room window and is loud. There is no TV in the sitting room. I asked that repairs be made and was assured that they would be fixed while we went to dinner. Nothing was done. The hotel is not a 4 star. Three at best. Do not accept rooms on floors 5 through 9 on the north side as the noise from the air conditioning unit will be bothersome.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 5-9 on the north side will be noisy due to the air conditioning unit. All rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

It seems that the Radisson hotel are saving money hiring low-profile people on the front desk service. In my last trip to Quito during 2012 I had a bad service in the front desk and now I had the same problem at Radisson Guatemala. The front desk attendants ignore the customers fooling around until the customers became despaired. I waited more than 10 minutes waiting for an attendant and, suddenly she decided to serve the customer that just arrived!... When I claimed that I arrived before she just ignored me!... Wow... I have to step up the level of my claim to be served... the problem is the employee never apologized nor feel any sorry, it shows a attitude problem. The hotel is nice, well located and the breakfast is also according to the standards, however the service has become below of the used Radisson standards... the last night before to leave, I asked at reception for a wake up call and they never called me, when I claimed that I never received such call they sworn me that they did it... mmmmhhh... mistake over mistake... if they forget it no problem, however if they did not called it is better to apologize to lie... at the end I know that they did not called...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Guatemala City

Address: 1a. avenida 12-46 zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Guatemala City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Guatemala city's Zona Viva, in the country's commercial and financial area an only few minutes away from the International Airport. Spacious Suites that offer a panoramic view of the city, oriented towards the most demanding business and leisure travelers. Friendly, experienced and bilingual staff. We offer 2 restaurants, Hemingway's with International Cuisine, and 1246 Lounge presenting exquisite Fusion Cuisine. Meeting rooms for any type of event from 10 to 300 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Guatemala City
Guatemala City Radisson
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Guatemala City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.