We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for business travellers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Guatemala City

Save Saved
You added Radisson Hotel Guatemala City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1a. avenida 12-46 zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 47 hotels in Guatemala City
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good for business travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a very good experience in the Radisson. It is very functional and quality of the food is high above average. Breakfast is really recommendable. My front desk experience was really pleasant and staff was trying to be as helpful as they could. Unfortunately no pool, just a hot tub.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    89
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
27
24
12
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Radisson is convenient to the airport - 10-15 min drive with traffic, you can watch the planes take off from the rooftop terrace.

The area, Zona Viva, has a few big hotels and plenty of restaurants, but is unfortunately considered unsafe for walking around, especially after dark - apparently, this is the prime location for evening drug wars, and people have been robbed at gunpoint within blocks of this property. Unfortunately, that is a function of Guatemala city - just don't go anywhere at night!

As for the hotel itself.. It is an older property, and it shows. Pretty much everything except the room furniture and bedding is really old, and feels kind of dirty. I had a large double room for myself, comfy soft bed and plenty of space, theoretically non-smoking - but it smelled like someone has been smoking there years ago, and the carpet and curtains still carry the smell. The shower/tub is spacious, but overall it has that old feel - tile grout darkened with age, occasional cracked tile, dings on the mirror frames, etc. New large TV though. Room safe did not work. Common areas have new furniture, but retain overall old feel.

The restaurant is not particularly exciting, but the food was good - both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast selection was basic but sufficient for most people (i.e. eggs to order, bacon/potatoes/beans, couple types of cereal, fruit, yogurt). Fried plantains are delicious...

The gym was quite good, lots of cardio machines, and the large hot tub on the roof was nice too.

Service-wise - I did not have any problems, on the contrary - all the personnel has been friendly and professional.

I'd stay here again for a short overnight stay, but if I need to spend 3 days again, I'd probably try Westin Camino Real nearby. You tend to spend so much time in your room in Guatemala city stays - it needs to be a bit nicer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballantrae Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is an ideal hotel for those flying in or out of the city. Free shuttle. Breakfast included. Walking distance to some excellent restaurants. Relatively safe. Our suite was room 701 on the north side of the building. It had an excellent king bed with a Sony flat screen TV. The bathroom door would not close never mind lock. The dead bolt did not function at all. The hotel's air conditioning unit was right outside the sitting room window and is loud. There is no TV in the sitting room. I asked that repairs be made and was assured that they would be fixed while we went to dinner. Nothing was done. The hotel is not a 4 star. Three at best. Do not accept rooms on floors 5 through 9 on the north side as the noise from the air conditioning unit will be bothersome.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 5-9 on the north side will be noisy due to the air conditioning unit. All rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

It seems that the Radisson hotel are saving money hiring low-profile people on the front desk service. In my last trip to Quito during 2012 I had a bad service in the front desk and now I had the same problem at Radisson Guatemala. The front desk attendants ignore the customers fooling around until the customers became despaired. I waited more than 10 minutes waiting for an attendant and, suddenly she decided to serve the customer that just arrived!... When I claimed that I arrived before she just ignored me!... Wow... I have to step up the level of my claim to be served... the problem is the employee never apologized nor feel any sorry, it shows a attitude problem. The hotel is nice, well located and the breakfast is also according to the standards, however the service has become below of the used Radisson standards... the last night before to leave, I asked at reception for a wake up call and they never called me, when I claimed that I never received such call they sworn me that they did it... mmmmhhh... mistake over mistake... if they forget it no problem, however if they did not called it is better to apologize to lie... at the end I know that they did not called...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As a frequent Radisson customer, the Radisson used to be my favorite hotel in Guatemala City and I stayed there often. My most recent stay has changed my opinion.

To be fair, some aspects are still reasonably good.

The reception staff and airport transportation services remain good. The quality of the housekeeping in the rooms remains excellent. The free wi-fi is reasonably fast, although somewhat a little quirky in some places in the hotel.

Two big problems, however, prevent me from recommending the hotel in its current state of management.

First of all, the service in the restaurant and bar has deteriorated since my last visit. This is a shame because although the menus are limited, the food is reasonably good, although not memorable.

Forget about getting service in the 24 hour lobby bar unless you ask for it. The bar staff spend more time chatting among themselves than paying attention to the guests.

The main restaurant on the second floor is a little better, but it is obviously understaffed. As a result the service is inconsistent and inattentive, especially when there are more than just a few diners. After being ignored for almost a half-hour while hoping to order dessert and coffee, I finally gave up midway through my dinner, walked to the cashier, and asked for my bill. Nobody bothered to ask whether there was a problem.

Bad service in hotel restaurants is not news. However, fire safety problems are. This is the second reason why I would not recommend this hotel.

Although there are the required emergency exit maps in the rooms, they do not indicate the route to the emergency exit. There are no directional signs or lights in the halls and, at least on the 5th floor, the doors to the fire exits are not marked at all. This is a recipe for tragedy in the case of a fire or earthquake, when one would have to try one door after another (possibly in the dark) hoping to find the one that led to the emergency stairs.

Room Tip: The poor rating on rooms is due to safety issues. Check to make sure that you know where the fire e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monicap1402, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Guatemala City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please receive warm greetings from Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City.

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.

Our goal is to fulfill 100% Guest Satisfaction to all our guests and customers.

Sincerely,


Monica Palacios
Reservations Manager
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
reservaciones2@radissonguatemala.com
(502) 2421-5151
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llano, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Both times we stayed here in the past month, we were really pleased with our rooms....both comfortable and really nicely appointed! The location is great! The staff in the bar, restaurants and those who helped us with our luggage were very kind and helpful. Some of those who work at the front desk area were as well. However, Radisson might want to offer some public relations and effective communication hints to some of the women who work at the front desk. One of them was extremely rude to us when we arrived for our first stay and was the only person who made our stay slightly unpleasant. Also, want to thank reservations manager, Monica Palacios, who came to our rescue. ..always with a smile!

Room Tip: Room 403 was beautifully appointed with a gorgeous bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

What can one say about rude staff? How about “inexcusable”? We returned to the Radisson, having booked our reservation when we stayed there 10 days earlier. Not only had they cancelled our reservation, they were unapologetic about it. The woman at the front desk said, “We don’t have a room for you because we cancelled your reservation, and Guatemala City is completely booked today because of a big Convention.” It was not merely our cancelled reservation, but the attitude of the staff (this woman and another male front desk worker). They didn’t seem to care that we arrived on time, and loaded with luggage. They did not OFFER to help. Perhaps they got a better offer or a bribe and gave our room away! The two kind bellman tried to help us out, and eventually on our own we found a great guesthouse. From someone who travels often, this Radisson gets a big thumbs down!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monicap1402, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Guatemala City, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time on sending us your comments.

We regret to hear about your disappointment in the room you received. We attempt to fulfill each of our guest’s requests to the best of our ability. Prior to your next stay, we welcome you to contact us so we may discuss your accommodations in detail.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

Sincerely,


Mónica Palacios
Reservations Manager
reservaciones2@radissonguatemala.com
(502) 2421-5151 ext. 199
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Hotel Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Guatemala City

Address: 1a. avenida 12-46 zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Guatemala City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Guatemala city´s Zona Viva, in the country´s commercial and financial area an only few minutes away from the International Airport. Spacious Suites that offer a panoramic view of the city, oriented towards the most demanding business and leisure travelers. Friendly, experienced and bilingual staff. We offer 2 restaurants, Hemingway´s with International Cuisine, and 1246 Lounge presenting exquisite Fusion Cuisine. Meeting rooms for any type of event from 10 to 300 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Guatemala City
Guatemala City Radisson
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Guatemala City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.