We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay in Guatemala” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Guatemala City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Guatemala City to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1a. avenida 12-46 zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
HOLIDAY PROMO - SAVE 20%
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“nice stay in Guatemala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed for one night in a room with two queen sized beds. The room was quiet and clean. Especially, the bed was so comfortable. The staff was helpful and kind. Only problem is that the internet access is limited, and only one person can log-in per room.

There is a free shuttle from the airport. However, we did not know that, and the official airport taxi cheated the price. It is good to remember that the yellow taxi to the hotel area is about Q30 = $3~4, and that if you are patient and wait, the shuttle will come by (every hour) to come get you and take you to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    123
    41
    19
    6
See reviews for
37
35
19
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

I think we have stayed at this Radisson over 30 times in the past couple of years. We have stayed at most of the other hotels in Zona 10 but keep coming back to the Radisson. The rooms are very comfortable and typically have great hot water pressure. (After you have been in Guatemala for a while....hot water and pressure at the same time is a real treat.)

The hotel is a located close to some great restaurants and shopping. The breakfast in the hotel is very good. The bar/restaurant in the lobby has some great small dishes for those nights when you don't want a large meal. If you do want a final meal of Guatemalan food before heading out, Kackow, the best Guatemalan Restaurant in Guatemala City is less than one block away.

For the money, this is a great place. You can pay more at other hotels...but you get less. At the same time...the cheaper options are just that...cheaper.

Room Tip: The radisson is currently remodeling their rooms. Ask for a new room if you can. If you are worrie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

I have stayed at the Radisson in Guatemala City more times than I can count now and I have always been happy there. The staff is helpful and attentive, the breakfast is super, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Best of all they have very good room service and a bar in the hotel. This is very important since Guatemala City is not safe at night; the ability to walk downstairs and have a beer or order room service instead of going out to dinner at night is welcomed. Radisson also does not charge for internet and they provide you with as many accounts as you need, which is great since I have an iphone and a computer. The hotel is also a good place to hold small meetings. I had a one week training session with 10 people at the Radisson and everything was always in order.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed here two or three times for work. It is not as fancy as other hotels in Guatemala City (Clarion, Camino Real, etc.) but it is modern, clean and the rooms on the top floors are very spacious. The rooms on the bottom floors (under 10th floor) are smaller and louder. The towels and some of the furniture look a little old. The staff is friendly and helpful. However, no one seemed to be able to change dollars into quetzales because they never had enough change (I tried on three occasions!). The breakfast is great, it is buffet-style with an omelet station and a woman who comes in a makes tortillas once a week. Location is also great, near some fancy restaurants (Mario) and some great lunch places (San Martin). Oh and there's free Wi-Fi!

Room Tip: Higher floors are larger and have nicer furniture, tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This was my first trip to Guatemala City and, after having read about other hotels in the area, learned about the Radisson from another traveller, which wrote a review here. The information from the hotel's web site was detailed and, even though I did my reservation online, I called to confirm it and was greeted nicely which told me they did not use third party for reservation purposes.

I do extensive traveling for business, primarily outside the U.S., and my top priorities when looking for a hotel are: Reliable connectivity, location (how far from my work place and possible attractions at walking distance), a nice gym, safety, work space in the room, and how the hotel is packaged. I stayed for four days in a business room which, as described, was setup for a business person in mind: Two work desks, plenty of outlets for all my gadgets, good lighting, excellent connectivity, and in addition a flat screen TV with plenty of U.S, local and some European channels, a kitchenette, and a great view of the city from the 14th floor. Did I mention that breakfast, Internet, two bottles of water, and transportation was also included in the price?

This hotel met all my expectations and, in addition, the staff was very friendly, informative, genuine, and professional at all times: From the driver of the van who picked me up at the airport, to the staff at the front desk, and the bell hops. The breakfast area was nicely kept and located on the second floor (which, they call the first floor - that confused me every time I took the elevator). The breakfast itself was very U.S, but it included some Guatemalan dishes, too. There is room for improvement there.

The gym itself was fine for an 'on the road workout' as it had dumbbells, a few cardio machines, and an "all together machine". Its only drawback, for those who like to have things close by, was that it was located on the last floor of the hotel and I did not see any staff member at the times when I was there, which can make women uncomfortable if wanting to work out by themselves.

I did take pictures from the roof of the hotel but not inside the room itself, but the pictures from the hotel were true on how the rooms looked like (which many times is not the case).

In summary: I highly recommend this hotel and, on my next trip, I will plan on staying there again.

Room Tip: Whether on business, make sure to inquiry about the business rooms on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
634 reviews 634 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
455 helpful votes 455 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We had a good rate and a large room at this small downtown Guatemala City hotel. The staff at check in was very friendly and helpful. The lobby is small, but functional. The room we had was like a studio set up with a small kitchen.
The room felt a little worn, but was nice and clean. Compared to the other hotels I've stayed in in Guatemala the bed was very comfortable.
I was disappointed in the breakfast buffet, but it was included in the price of the room so I didn't complain. The breakfast didn't have a lot of healthy choices and was limited.
I would stay here again, but I would also be okay giving another property a try.
The Radisson does offer transportation to the airport for free, but because of timing we elected to take a taxi which cost a moderate amount.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I love staying at Carlson Hotels and this one was just fabulous! The suite (all suite hotel) included a kitchenette, microwave, fridge, coffee pot (yes!), and even some basic plates, etc. The room was luxurious and very clean. The shower was HOT and great! The staff at the reception desk was incredibly polite and professional. The porter was also super friendly and professional. We were on the 16th floor and had awesome views. I will definitely stay there again next time I'm in Guatemala City. The wifi was great! The location is in zone 10 so it was great! We felt safe the entire time.
It was the perfect ending to a long trip to Guatemala!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Guatemala City

Address: 1a. avenida 12-46 zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Guatemala City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Guatemala city's Zona Viva, in the country's commercial and financial area an only few minutes away from the International Airport. Spacious Suites that offer a panoramic view of the city, oriented towards the most demanding business and leisure travelers. Friendly, experienced and bilingual staff. We offer 2 restaurants, Hemingway's with International Cuisine, and 1246 Lounge presenting exquisite Fusion Cuisine. Meeting rooms for any type of event from 10 to 300 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Guatemala City
Guatemala City Radisson
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Guatemala City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.