We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Camino Real

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Camino Real to your Saves list
Westin Camino Real
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Camino Real 0-20, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My second visit, I stayed in one of the newly remodeled rooms and it was great, good, comfortable bed. Breakfast is excellent and they have a cook making fresh omelets for you... Internet is not included and you have to pay extra (you have to call them to get access to a 2nd device at no extra cost...if you have a 3rd device you have to pay an extra $5).

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool otherwise it will get very noisy in the early morning from the nearby str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Westin Camino Real, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    137
    57
    21
    19
See reviews for
44
68
37
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel, and it was a great visit. Much better than my visit in March 2012. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the fifth floor had been recently renovated. New furniture, new paint, and a brand new shower in the bathroom. The hotel is almost 50 years old, but it felt like staying in a brand new location.

Excellent breakfast, and Guatemalans are excellent hosts. The hotel is conveniently located in Zona 10. There are several restaurants nearby you can walk to such as Pans & Co. and San Martin.

My only complaint is that the walls are too thin. It feels like the guest in the room next door is actually in the room with you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Westin Camino Real, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very glad to receive this kind of comments about our hotel; we really appreciate a positive stroke that pushes us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in Zona 10 with easy access to restaurants, bars and shopping. The breakfast was good and room service menu typical Starwood, OK, not spectacular. I didn't eat dinner in the restaurant.

My only real complaint is the little things. As an example, for security reasons you must use your key card to get to your floor in the elevator. This would be fine except the card readers in both elevators barely work and it frequently takes many swipes. Even the bell staff had trouble with it and I switched cards to make sure I didn't just have a dodgy card. This problem means you often end up going past your floor while you try to get the elevator to read your card.

Nice pool and poolside area and a very reasonably priced little "duty-free" in the lobby.

All in all a nice hotel. I would call it sub-standard for a Westin save for the location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Westin Camino Real, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for such a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.

We are sorry for the inconvenient with your key card, we are working on that problem. Thank you again for taking time of writing this review from our hotel. This is very helpful to receive such comments which help us to get better every day.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
318 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here four nights recently, all on the third floor. The hotel is well located in zona ten. The facilities are very nice. They are not 'brand new' but are certainly more than adequate and quite nice. We found the service to be excellent in all the departments we visited or interacted with. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Our first nite we had some 'ugly Americans' in the next room making a lot of inconsiderate noise till 4AM. The noise did carry through the walls but the fault was with the guests not the hotel. The other nights there was no untoward noise despite parties downstairs. The food in the restaurants was good and about average for hotel food. The presentations were fine. We've done a lot of travel around the US and around the world. This hotel compares favorably with others around the world in its class. We would certainly stay in this facility if we return to Guatemala City.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Westin Camino Real, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Strategically located in the business center and party disctric of guatemala, just a block away from the new Hard Rock Cafe this hotel has been an icon in guatemalan history.

Fair bulding, a little outdated, but not yet classic. Sumptuos decoration, but now a days the hotel has undergone a terrible administration and unhelpful staff, do not expect royal treatment as they offer because that IS false advertising.

Room Tip: Prepaid the reservation with a travel agency.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Westin Camino Real, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for the inconvenient in your visit, this will be notify to every manager of each area, our guest service is the most important for us. Again thank you for taking time of writing this review of our hotel service. Such comments will help us to get better every day.
Please feel free to let me know if we can do something for you in order to visit us again, my email address is coordinador_mercadeo@caminoreal.com.gt

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed at the Westin for one night only, Jan 5th, 2013. The hotel is located in the middle of Zona 10, where all major hotels are. The lobby its nice, the bed on the 9th floor was good. They have free shuttle service to and from the airport. Those are the good aspects I can mention about this hotel.
When I checking they assigned me room 432 the view was to an A/C machine and a roof, but the worst was the bathroom sink which was cracked and chipped looked nasty (photo). When i complaint they changed me to room 738...same sink problem (photo). Finally they gave me room 938...a little better. Throughout this room changes I had to carry my own luggage. For a " 5 star rating" as they say they have, unaceptable. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Westin Camino Real, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for the inconvenient you had in your visit, this comment will help us to not repeat it again, also every detail you mentioned in your comment will be notify to the responsible department . Again thank you for taking time of writing this review.

It very important to us receive such comments which help us to get better every day.
Please feel free let me know if I can do something for you in order to visit us again, my email address is coordinador_mercadeo@caminoreal.com.gt

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I've been coming to this hotel for several years.

It is in a great location in Zona 10, close to many restaurants and bars.

Service has always been gracious and accommodating. The rooms are on the small side but well appointed and very welcoming. The pool area is good as are the tennis courts and the rest of the gym/spa facilities.

Breakfast is ok and I have seen a number of other restaurants/coffee shops on site but have never tried them.

Well worth a visit. Nothing is too far away if you're staying in Guatemala City and I think you'll enjoy the location and service this property has to offer.

Room Tip: High floor would be a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Westin Camino Real, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Nicolas,

Thank you so much for your review, its very important to us know how you feel during and after your stay and what you really like from us. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard, we always try to give our guest the best service.

Thank you againa for taking the time of writing this review of our hotel.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.0 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
0.0 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#3 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#1 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#5 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#15 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
#14 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Camino Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Camino Real

Address: Calle Camino Real 0-20, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#11 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Camino Real 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Westin Camino Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Camino Real Hotel Guatemala City
Westin Hotel Guatemala City
Westin Guatemala City
Guatemala City Westin
Westin Camino Real Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Camino Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.